Pacific Dental Services Dental Hygienist Reviews

Updated 9 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
33%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Dental Services President Stephen Thorne
Stephen Thorne
17 Ratings
  1. "great technology- poor management- terrible leadership- no dignity"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    excellent technology. You will have certification for lasers provided which is a great benefit. You have good instruments and clinical tools at your disposal.

    Cons

    This company only cares for the $ not the patient and certainly not the employees. They churn and burn through wonderful people and skilled clinicians because they create drama, tear you down, tell you terrible things, expect you to take pay cuts, and their CEO is a narcissistic maniac.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2020-04-09

    Pacific Dental Services Response

    April 17, 2020People Services

    In response to your concern about how our company only cares about money, we’d like to affirm that our supported dental practices offer state of the art, same-day dentistry as a way to expand access to care for our patients with busy schedules and emerging oral health care needs. As you know, one of our core beliefs is that we have the obligation and opportunity to present the best dentistry possible to every patient.

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Entirely dependent on your owner doctor and manager."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Great support from DSO, including corporate benefits (like discounts on tickets and memberships, good insurance, no cutting of hours, free CEs) *Owner docs have say over clinical decisions, and not some disembodied voice in another city or state

    Cons

    *PDS pushes you to work more more more, often to the breaking point of your clinicians, without any physical growth room available. They want you to work days before and after Christmas, Thanksgiving, New Year, etc. *The break/lunch room for a 20 person office can barely fit 4-5 people in there *They don't use temps, for the most part. Huge inconvenience.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2020-02-07
  3. "Company rating"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Novato, CA

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have really Great benefits!

    Cons

    They are a corporate dental office, making it more about quantity rather than quality.

    Pacific Dental Services2020-02-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "long time hygiene"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great benefits, std, ltd, 401k match and HSA contributions

    Cons

    location movements, lower pay rate than city average

    Pacific Dental Services2019-09-17
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Hygienist"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Hygienist in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Patients, some staff are friendly. Staff works hard, easy to get along with in my office. I was pleased with esthetic of office.

    Cons

    Sell, sell, sell Not evidence based dental hygiene, instead a hodgepodge of irrelevant non clinically significant-studies that push production only. Production is King.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2018-03-22
  6. "great co workers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great work environment and easy parking

    Cons

    unorganized schedule poor time management and high turnover

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2017-11-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Dental Hygienist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Murrieta, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast Paced & if you'er motivated by Money

    Cons

    Fast paced -Up selling - Money money money is all that was talked about - you tend to really feel like a Replaceable Number

    Pacific Dental Services2017-10-10
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Terrible company yo work for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Hygienist in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros at all.

    Cons

    As a hygienist you are just screwed. Horrible model they use for their "bonus" or I guess "production model" they would call it. Doctors are suppose to do the regular cleanings, but will cram it on your already packed schedule no matter how much it screws your schedule up. I was forced to do 20 minute prophys no matter what patient it was. I worked for them in three different states, always horrible. Have to basically look at three different columns and be okay to just be tossed around at at moment. Oh and hygienist do not get any of the bonuses the assistants get. Yup, when the office makes it's goal that you are a part of, you get nothing. Everyone else gets a bonus though. Hygienists are just getting taken advantage of in this company. No room for growth, but the dental assistants get plenty of raises and promotions. Screw us hygienists, right?

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2017-08-31
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Work condition"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Hygienist in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is no reason you think sheriff joe treated the convicts poorly in tent city come to work at pds and you'll be treated worse

    Cons

    No care about the employee if they can find someone to do it quicker cheaper doesn't matter the quality you will make it they treat you like a dog

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2017-08-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "New bonus structure stinks"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Rialto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There really is no good outcome financially for the bonus structure. The new bonus structure doesn't make sense for the hygienist.

    Cons

    I have spoken to our management team for almost a year now. I have been with the company as a full time hygienist for 7 years. Our pay structure and bonus incentive was great and allowed the clinician to make a great salary based on the production us hygienists were making monthly. However the company changed their bonus structure so the bonus is harder to achieve and the clinician recieves less money monthly than before. I have spoken with over 8 long time hygienist friends at PDS and we agreed that since the bonus structure was changed, we have seen a drop in pay about $1,300 a year! My district manager didn't believe me, until I showed him paycheck stubs from years before with similar hours worked and production revenue from then til now and the drop in pay is substantial. His face and attitude changed about me ever since and I almost feel shuned by him ever since. This company is about patient care, but also about being financially rich! Which is fine, just pay your hygienists and clinicians fairly. My advice to anyone applying for a clinical position at PDS is to do your homework.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2017-04-20
Found 22 reviews