Pacific Dental Services Dental Hygienist Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Pacific Dental Services Dental Hygienist Reviews

Updated 21 Mar 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
11%
Recommend to a Friend
11%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Dental Services CEO Stephen Thorne
Stephen Thorne
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Hygienist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Hygienist in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Patients, some staff are friendly. Staff works hard, easy to get along with in my office. I was pleased with esthetic of office.

    Cons

    Sell, sell, sell Not evidence based dental hygiene, instead a hodgepodge of irrelevant non clinically significant-studies that push production only. Production is King.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2018-03-22
  2. "great co workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great work environment and easy parking

    Cons

    unorganized schedule poor time management and high turnover

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2017-11-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Dental Hygienist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Murrieta, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast Paced & if you'er motivated by Money

    Cons

    Fast paced -Up selling - Money money money is all that was talked about - you tend to really feel like a Replaceable Number

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2017-10-10
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible company yo work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Hygienist in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros at all.

    Cons

    As a hygienist you are just screwed. Horrible model they use for their "bonus" or I guess "production model" they would call it. Doctors are suppose to do the regular cleanings, but will cram it on your already packed schedule no matter how much it screws your schedule up. I was forced to do 20 minute prophys no matter what patient it was. I worked for them in three different states, always horrible. Have to basically look at three different columns and be okay to just be tossed around at at moment. Oh and hygienist do not get any of the bonuses the assistants get. Yup, when the office makes it's goal that you are a part of, you get nothing. Everyone else gets a bonus though. Hygienists are just getting taken advantage of in this company. No room for growth, but the dental assistants get plenty of raises and promotions. Screw us hygienists, right?

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2017-08-31
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Work condition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Hygienist in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is no reason you think sheriff joe treated the convicts poorly in tent city come to work at pds and you'll be treated worse

    Cons

    No care about the employee if they can find someone to do it quicker cheaper doesn't matter the quality you will make it they treat you like a dog

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2017-08-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "New bonus structure stinks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Rialto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There really is no good outcome financially for the bonus structure. The new bonus structure doesn't make sense for the hygienist.

    Cons

    I have spoken to our management team for almost a year now. I have been with the company as a full time hygienist for 7 years. Our pay structure and bonus incentive was great and allowed the clinician to make a great salary based on the production us hygienists were making monthly. However the company changed their bonus structure so the bonus is harder to achieve and the clinician recieves less money monthly than before. I have spoken with over 8 long time hygienist friends at PDS and we agreed that since the bonus structure was changed, we have seen a drop in pay about $1,300 a year! My district manager didn't believe me, until I showed him paycheck stubs from years before with similar hours worked and production revenue from then til now and the drop in pay is substantial. His face and attitude changed about me ever since and I almost feel shuned by him ever since. This company is about patient care, but also about being financially rich! Which is fine, just pay your hygienists and clinicians fairly. My advice to anyone applying for a clinical position at PDS is to do your homework.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2017-04-20
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Over schedules in addition to not giving the clinician enough time to give a patient proper care."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Wildomar, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are none in my opinion. I never felt there was any positives for the little bit that I worked for them.

    Cons

    Unrealistic schedule & time given for patient care. They do not have or supply clinicians with proper instruments to take care of patients. They want you to SELL to patients instead of caring for the patient & there true needs.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2017-03-27
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Registered Dental Hygienist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    What's great about working with a. Implant is that you receive Medical, dental, PTO, 401k. This company apparently gives a little into your 401k and is vested. I haven't seen it yet, but I'm hopeful.

    Cons

    Run of the mill. Expect you to reach actual daily production, but always increase it by $100. They expect team work and help your other colleagues (hygienist), When you help out all of a sudden it's cut throat every man for themselves. Patient stealing, changes in schedules where one hygienist sees more productive patients. Have to try to work and make your own schedule, treatment plan, etc. to be a hygienist here you have to be the treatment plan coordinator, billing, scheduler, calling recalls, cleaner of operatories and on top of all that have to see more than 8 patients to try to make ends meat but do it within a time frame because they don't want you working over time. Company takes on too many workers and then say oh sorry we have to start cutting days and hours because we are not reaching goals.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2016-10-27

    Pacific Dental Services Response

    December 15, 2016Recruiting Representative

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We agree and are proud of the benefits we offer. We recommend you speak with your Owner Dentist, a member of the leadership team in your region or Human Resources regarding the concerns in your office as the points you bring up are certainly not how we would like to see our supported offices operate. We wish you continued success in your career.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Pacific dental is a great company founded on great morals. The concept is necessary for dental businesses today."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, networking and a feeling of unity. Great opportunity within company to make sure you have the hours you need if you want them. Not a pro you find in private practice. Great standard of care.

    Cons

    I feel as though the training is poor. I feel like they should invest in finding a way to help people succeed. I've watched a lot of turn over in many offices because they felt under valued or didn't have a firm knowledge of their job description. You would spend much less money training the people you have than continually rehiring and all that comes with that

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2016-10-22

    Pacific Dental Services Response

    November 7, 2016Recruiting Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad you enjoy the benefits, the feeling of unity, and a great schedule. One of our goals is to provide employees with the proper training in order to succeed. We will make sure to send your advice to our leadership team. We wish you continued success in your role!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (12)

    "I would not recommend working for this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services

    Pros

    I learned a lot about myself and what I can and cannot tolerate as a person. For this path to greater self discovery, I am grateful. I thoroughly enjoyed all of my experience with my patients. The patients I met along the way had a huge impact on me.

    Cons

    Greed is the first word that comes to mind. This company only cares about the bottom line at the end of the day. They push you to push products and services that are not necessary for the patient. No matter how much you produce money-wise in a day, you never have the sense that it is good enough. There is always a pep-talk from brainwashed upper management about how you can sell more this and more that. It is always more, more, more. Once you meet a certain goal ADP (Average Daily Production) they increase it until it is at a level that is unachievable. During my 5 years working at PDS, there was an extremely high turnover rate of both patients and employees.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Dental Services2016-06-08

    Pacific Dental Services Response

    July 8, 2016Recruiting Representative

    We are sorry that your experience at a PDS®-supported office did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your candid feedback and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
Found 18 reviews