Pacific Dental Services Dentist Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Dentist

Pacific Dental Services Dentist Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 67 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Dental Services CEO Stephen Thorne
Stephen Thorne
41 Ratings
  1. "So Grateful to work for Pacific Dental Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dentist in Ventura, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I was a 30 year private practice dentist when I moved to California and was hired by PDS. I have come to see soo many pros to this forward thinking company that I would never go back. to private practice. The support professionally is unrivaled. Exposure to new technology and training was so amazing Support by the company and my professional peers during medical challenge I went through was invaluable. Had I been in...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not so many cons after 10 years . What I originally saw as cons, have become common sense practices and procedures that are necessary to move forward with this type of organization

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, and that includes growing and changing and evolving

    Pacific Dental Services2019-07-12
  2. "Money Hungry, Unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Dentist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time

    Pros

    Cerec training, mentorship, can't think of anything else.

    Cons

    They are over aggressive in treatment planning to the point of unethical. I've seen doctors place crowns on teeth with severe bone loss, root canals for small existing amalgams, and crowns when no cracks are present on the tooth. Management will constantly sit you down to give you lessons about dental treatment planning even though they aren't dentists. You will treatment plan a single Occlusal composite, but...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let dentists be dentists and care more about your patients than your wallets.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-08-17
  3. "Doc in the Box"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Dentist in Chapin, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really did not see any positive aspects to this company.

    Cons

    Way to heavy on Ad Min side

    Advice to Management

    Get out of the Profession. You are treating patients, not selling TV's. Your front desk and area business managers are clueless.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-05-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Get if you want to use it as stepping stone not for long run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Dentist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good for a start. Easy to get job with PDS since dentists don't stick around for more than 6 months.

    Cons

    Really bad work culture. These guys are production and money driven. They don't care about the dentists.

    Advice to Management

    Dentists are not a commodity. Show some respect towards dentists. Corporate guys treat dentists like crap.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-02-01
  5. "Associate Dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Dentist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work, Life, Balance is great. Good income with lots of CE

    Cons

    Too much patient, heavy workload

    Pacific Dental Services2018-12-10
  6. "Associate Dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Dentist 

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mentorship, Nice office, Great staff

    Cons

    Compensation, not much to say here other than that

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with Associate Dentist Average Daily Production before hiring.

    Pacific Dental Services2018-11-03
  7. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Dentist in Portland, OR
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - training - mentorship - path to ownership

    Cons

    - treatment planning courses encourage aggressive planning but is called “conservative” because it prevents problems at the sacrifice of health/pt finances

    Pacific Dental Services2018-08-18
  8. Helpful (4)

    "General Dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dentist in West Jordan, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with other Dentists and specialists Training with Cerec

    Cons

    Pay Hours High turnover Not much opportunity for CE unless you want to learn more about PDS culture

    Advice to Management

    Put Doctors in position to be successful rather than trying to squeeze everything possible out of every practice.

    Pacific Dental Services2018-08-01
  9. Helpful (24)

    "General Dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Dentist in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I initially had reservations working for PDS due to the corporate reputation. However, I am so glad I did. PDS has exceeded every expectation I’ve had. As a dentist, I am solely able to focus on my dentistry. I do not have to worry about insurance, hiring/firing employees, marketing, etc. Before PDS, I worked in private practice. My work life balance has vastly improved since switching. Other pros include the amount...

    Show More

    Cons

    Occasionally open extended hours (7PM) and Saturdays. However, I worked these hours in private practice as well.

    Pacific Dental Services2018-03-19
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Dentist/Owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Dentist in Puyallup, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ease of becoming and associate and then becoming an owner. Great opportunities in the WA region for growth. Team at the office has been a huge pro for me.

    Cons

    Scale of production %, scale system can be challenging and having a set production % would have been a great option if the dentist could prove themselves to be capable.

    Advice to Management

    More regional get events to build a sense of community with PDS. Baseball games suites for the employees or something around this to show the employees they are doing well and are appreciated.

    Pacific Dental Services2018-04-04
Found 67 reviews