Pacific Dental Services Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Pacific Dental Services Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 685 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Dental Services CEO Stephen Thorne
Stephen Thorne
428 Ratings
Pros
  • "dentists who move into ownership have opportunity to make a lot of money(in 41 reviews)

  • "As a dentist, I am solely able to focus on my dentistry(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "They don't care about the dentists(in 59 reviews)

  • "You have to be cognizant of what it takes to create a good work life balance, but that's largely dependent on your skill set as a manager(in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Depends on the Owner Dentist."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dentist in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Completely Depends on The Owner Dentist. Can be an incredible opportunity/experience or a poor one. They will invest a ton into their teams. No matter what you will learn how to talk to patients and get treatment acceptance.

    Cons

    Hours are offset and if you’re with a young team it can be tough teaching dental assistants, that comes with the territory though.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-09-19
  2. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialty Dental Assistant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - traveling is fun you get to meet many different people - specialty bonuses and mileage pay -learn a lot

    Cons

    - can become difficult since you work with many doctors, remembering each docs style -some offices have a sour apple either a doctor, an assistant, or a manager, so it makes it unpleasant to visit that office - hours and inconsistent schedule

    Pacific Dental Services2019-09-19
  3. "long time hygiene"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Hygienist in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great benefits, std, ltd, 401k match and HSA contributions

    Cons

    location movements, lower pay rate than city average

    Pacific Dental Services2019-09-17
  4. "Amazing and phenomenal place to work and help others."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Coordinator in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment with a sense of family

    Cons

    Company does not pay employees when work is cancelled due to natural disasters.

    Advice to Management

    Train employees first at an office that is not as busy and then transfer them to the main office afterwards.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-09-06
  5. "Some super great some JUST NOT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Henderson, NV
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The intense focus on team members growth and development! Entire contact center. From staff to the building itself, the team in Contact Center treats one another like family!

    Cons

    Politics, favoritism, complete lack of support from the Revenues Team Management. Some VERY questionable ethical and moral practices amongst the Revenue group!

    Pacific Dental Services2019-09-06
  6. "Busy Offices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Dental Assistant 

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time

    Pros

    Corporate setting, insurance and benefits transparent

    Cons

    You are always working with different people and doctors and it can get confusing.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-09-02
  7. "DA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant 

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You Stay very busy in office

    Cons

    Something working longer then your shift

    Pacific Dental Services2019-08-14
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services

    Pros

    Thinking of, “Pros,” is really difficult, as there are very few. I enjoyed working and building relationships with my patients the most. Aside from that, the only other thing I can think of is that you’re left to work autonomously if you know what you’re doing, which is nice.

    Cons

    Uneducated, unqualified senior (regional) managers abound. You become a regional manager by being cronies with other regional managers and regional partners. It is a joke. They repeatedly hire married couples and frequently have one spouse actually directly manage the other. You can work your tail off, 65+ hours per week, and run a highly successful office, but if you don’t drink their Kool-Aid, you will never... advance. In fact they will work to get you to quit. They offer ample training but it is taught by newbies to the dental industry so they have no idea what they’re talking about; they just read out of a book and pray you don’t ask any questions. They intentionally try to create divisive cultures — pitting front office against back office — and offer NOTHING in the way of help or support. Both regional managers I had told me about how they lie about where they are when they’re just hanging out at home and how once you reach, “their level,” it’s smooth sailing and very little daily work. Also, beware of the fact that at the end of the month, when it’s bonus time, you’ll get calls and texts from your RM, constantly, telling you to, “Adjust Up” several thousands of dollars so they can make their monthly bonuses. You should definitely wonder and question if that money belongs to the company or to the patients. And if it’s the latter, don’t do the adjustments...and then know you’ll be forced to quit or terminated at some point for not doing what your regional manager asked you to do.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hired qualified, smart individuals with a growth mindset who are committed to helping you overcome systemic problems. Still the nepotism and favoritism that runs rampant throughout the company. It’s really hard to stay motivated to grow with an organization when you’re more experienced and accomplished than anyone in senior leadership.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-08-12

    Pacific Dental Services Response

    September 9, 2019People Services

    We appreciate the account of your experience working at Pacific Dental Services®, and we want you to know that we’re doing everything we can to address the feedback from former team members like you. In recent months, we provided training for leadership throughout the company and ...

    Show More
  9. "Pediatric manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pediatric Manager 

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a great Training program

    Cons

    Management is always changing turnover very high

    Pacific Dental Services2019-07-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "First Job I've Ever Loved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Treatment Coordinator in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging, great people, room to grow and move up, they help you actually learn your job, and great incentives.

    Cons

    Stressful at times, and mentally tiring at times.

    Advice to Management

    None they're doing great! And offer so many classes to help improve our skills.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-07-19
Found 685 reviews