Pacific Dental Services Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Pacific Dental Services Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 662 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Dental Services CEO Stephen Thorne
Stephen Thorne
416 Ratings
Pros
  • "dentists who move into ownership have opportunity to make a lot of money(in 42 reviews)

  • "As a dentist, I am solely able to focus on my dentistry(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "They don't care about the dentists(in 60 reviews)

  • "You have to be cognizant of what it takes to create a good work life balance, but that's largely dependent on your skill set as a manager(in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They are very Up beat and supportive team. Training is Above the bar so you are not lost or confused as you are learning.

    Cons

    You are scheduled the days that the doctor is working. Work Holidays and stuff like that.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-06-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Fast-Paced Diverse Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Supportive Management, Paid Volunteer Time, Collaborative Co-Workers, Career Development Workshops, PDS Foundation, Growth within the company

    Cons

    Parking at NSC is difficult at times.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-05-09
  3. "One of the best places I've ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Benefits Coordinator in University Place, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good base pay, growth opportunities, multiple locations, coworkers/work fam, lots of benefits

    Cons

    Medical plans have high deductibles, not always the best communication/follow through with regional management

    Advice to Management

    To regional, not my OM: When offices slow down and employees are cut back to part time and there are promises for other offices to give hours to keep the full time status, please follow through. I would've loved to stay with PDS if it weren't for my hours, I understand if business is slow and my hours at the office are cut back. But don't offer to give me extra hours at other offices to keep me "full time" and then never...

    Show More
    Pacific Dental Services2019-05-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Fast growing and exciting company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PDS is a fast growing and exciting company. There are many opportunities to grow and develop you career. Each employee can be as successful as they want, if they are willing to do the work. The culture is very much alive and promotes teamwork and putting patients first. If you love knowing everyday you are helping people get healthier, this is the place for you.

    Cons

    As we grow, new challenges arise.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-05-05
  5. "Commitment to my personal growth..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best part about being a team member in this company is the commitment to helping me succeed in every way possible. There are plenty of advancement opportunities, and internal promotion is so important to the entire organization. Very lucky to be a part of something this awesome.

    Cons

    No major concerns. You have to be cognizant of what it takes to create a good work life balance, but that's largely dependent on your skill set as a manager.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-05-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great career with great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to learn and grow, competitive pay, great leaders, great company values

    Cons

    Growing so fast, often difficult to keep up.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-05-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Growth and development!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services

    Pros

    Team members support each other and want each other to grow! Great experience so far!

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to report.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-05-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "PDS - Fast Moving, Fast Growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Region Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A ton of growth opportunity Strong Platform in place Great dental benefits

    Cons

    This is a pro/con - Very lean on people which mitigates people cost, also creates challenges with coverage at times IF you can embrace and thrive in a fast paced environment and own your own development, you can make huge strides in this company. If you expect/want somebody to cater to you, hold your hand, and pat you on the butt telling you good job every 5 minutes, I'd look elsewhere. This company takes thick skin,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Employees could use slightly better perks, I understand they're "good" by DSO standards, but coming from a large company, overall perks and benefits aren't going to blow anybody's socks off.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-05-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Facts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Training and great team members

    Cons

    The lies from upper management, long hours no work balance life

    Advice to Management

    Come up with a way to reduce the work load on the field workers like OMs and BC all the nee changes just add to our work load and keep us from our families. Truly live by your mission statement and I'm so tired of the we pay what we value you as.. no you give raises so we dont quick and pay as low as possible to cut cost.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-04-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Lakeland, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    4 mo job training, competitive pay, advancement possibilities, patient centric.

    Cons

    None unless you don't like to be patient centric, then hours.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-04-23
Found 662 reviews