Pacific Dental Services "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Pacific Dental Services Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 12 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 669 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Dental Services CEO Stephen Thorne
Stephen Thorne
421 Ratings
Pros
  • "dentists who move into ownership have opportunity to make a lot of money(in 41 reviews)

  • "As a dentist, I am solely able to focus on my dentistry(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "They don't care about the dentists(in 59 reviews)

  • "You have to be cognizant of what it takes to create a good work life balance, but that's largely dependent on your skill set as a manager(in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Commitment to my personal growth..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best part about being a team member in this company is the commitment to helping me succeed in every way possible. There are plenty of advancement opportunities, and internal promotion is so important to the entire organization. Very lucky to be a part of something this awesome.

    Cons

    No major concerns. You have to be cognizant of what it takes to create a good work life balance, but that's largely dependent on your skill set as a manager.

    Pacific Dental Services2019-05-13
  2. "Associate Dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Dentist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work, Life, Balance is great. Good income with lots of CE

    Cons

    Too much patient, heavy workload

    Pacific Dental Services2018-12-10
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time

      Pros

      Lots of potential to grow if you put the effort in.

      Cons

      Work/life balance can be difficult at times.

      Pacific Dental Services2018-11-23
    • "Awesome place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Irvine, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, great work life balance, amazing leadership, good benefits, and so much more

      Cons

      I don't have any cons

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you are doing!

      Pacific Dental Services2018-10-10
    • "Great place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Worked at Pacific Dental Services for 5 years now. Love working here. The people here are really amazing. PDS Provides a great work life balance and career opportunities. PDS encourages you to donate your time for charity and wants to make a difference in our communities.

      Cons

      Never had any issues. PDS is always looking out for their employees and provides a lot of opportunities to grow in your career.

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up doing a good job.

      Pacific Dental Services2018-09-25
    • Helpful (24)

      "General Dentist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - General Dentist in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I initially had reservations working for PDS due to the corporate reputation. However, I am so glad I did. PDS has exceeded every expectation I’ve had. As a dentist, I am solely able to focus on my dentistry. I do not have to worry about insurance, hiring/firing employees, marketing, etc. Before PDS, I worked in private practice. My work life balance has vastly improved since switching. Other pros include the amount...

      Show More

      Cons

      Occasionally open extended hours (7PM) and Saturdays. However, I worked these hours in private practice as well.

      Pacific Dental Services2018-03-19
    • Helpful (14)

      "Marketing Positions"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time

      Pros

      People in the team are kind and patient

      Cons

      -- No work-life balance. Workload is really heavy --There is no training for new people who just join the team -- Surprised! There is no clear career path for people with the company for a long time

      Advice to Management

      -- Upper management team is clueless. Most of time they don't know what they are doing and there is no clear strategy implemented to benefit the business -- Should have less politics, focus more on people who work hard in the team -- There are many micro managers

      Pacific Dental Services2018-06-07
    • "RDA"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Rda 

      I have been working at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great benefits, fast pace work environment, growth opportunities available.

      Cons

      Work life balance. Schedule is demanding

      Advice to Management

      More team building exercises

      Pacific Dental Services2018-04-17
    • Helpful (4)

      "Has its ups and downs like any job."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good benefits, fast paced work environment, can be challenging in a good way

      Cons

      Zero work life balance. Becoming way too corporate. Constant pressure for more, even when you are exceeding budgets. Pay does not reflect the work one puts in. Ability to think and be empowered has been lost in the company's desire to expand as rapidly as they have. the company is struggling to keep up with the infrastructure in its expansion. For new managers and benefits...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      You really need to start training your managers better. Almost as if they should be working with an office manager side by side for a year prior to them getting their own office. Stop being so greedy with your growth and pay your existing employees better. Look at more promotion within the company. It's only a matter of time before the company becomes Western Dental.

      Pacific Dental Services2018-04-05
    • Helpful (7)

      "Operations mamager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Pacific Dental Services full-time

      Pros

      Advancement opportunities, relatively competitive pay

      Cons

      Upper management is a joke. Pay scale is widely depending on if they like you. Zero work life balance. Ever changing rules and regulations.

      Advice to Management

      Get it together. Be on the same page. Stop playing favorites.

      Pacific Dental Services2018-02-24
    Found 669 reviews