Palantir Technologies Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 386 of over 429 reviews

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Palantir Technologies Co-Founder and CEO Alex Karp
Alex Karp
262 Ratings
Pros
  • "Smart people who care about the mission(in 35 reviews)

  • "Palantir is a place makes the rest of Silicon Valley look like it is working on toy train sets(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Consuming and work life balance can be hard to maintain if you don't stand up for yourself(in 70 reviews)

  • "tons of the usual growing pains(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great team

      Apr 6, 2021 - Forward Deployed Engineer in Canberra
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting customers and high autonomy

      Cons

      Some inexperienced global matrix management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Equity worth nothing

      Mar 22, 2020 - Forward Deployed Engineer in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people, (sometimes) interesting problems to solve

      Cons

      Equity worthless, lots of travel, easy to get stuck on government contracts doing data integrations

      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Purpose, autonomy & mastery

      Aug 25, 2015 - Forward Deployed Software Engineer in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Transformative projects with customers who matter. A grade employees, driven towards material impact. A very high degree of autonomy awarded to staff.

      Cons

      Resourcing - there are more opportunities than staff. Sometimes this means staff get stuck with one customer, sometimes it means that ownership can be lacking as staff move through a customer to fight a fire rather than truly fix an issue in a sustainable way. Workforce not especially diverse, despite everyone's efforts to address this. Being in a branch office, it is sometimes hard to divine strategic and tactical vision - conversely we are given wide latitude to chart our own destiny.

      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      3 Years, International Office

      Aug 18, 2015 -  in Canberra
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You'd be hard pressed to find any other organisation that gives you this much scope to define your own growth path, and figure out how and where you can add value to the team and business. Our recruiting process is the bane of my existence, I am constantly frustrated that we can't hire more people because of how particular we are with our requirements - BUT - this is what has built the incredible team I work with now. No dead wood, everyone's a rock star, and I genuinely like spending time with these people. All of them. I know everyone's experience here is different, but if you work hard, are thoughtful about what it is you're doing, and how you're impacting the team - then you generally have a ridiculous amount of opportunities open to you for doing new things. Travel, projects, experiments, working in different areas of the business, building new capability, or working in other offices. The perks and flexibility are great, and do a lot of what their supposed to do - reduce some of the overheads of everyday life admin - allowing you to be more productive.

      Cons

      We can't hire enough people to meet all the work we have - which means we're all super busy and you have to prioritise like a magician. And it might mean you don't get to work on the thing you are personally attached to because it's not the highest priority. That can suck. But it's a business. We can be too thoughtful/introspective as a company sometimes - which should probably be kept at the "higher" levels - because the trickle down effect is that people end up questioning the priority, validity, strategy of what they're doing constantly, instead of just getting on with it. As a company we're resistant to bringing on people that are just good at managing other people/areas of a business - and engineers generally don't make great people leaders. This is an area there is a lot of work going into to improve, but sometimes it feels we err too heavily away from the traditional routes - some of these things are conventional because they work.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Amazing people, great tech, long hours

      Jun 12, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * People are amazing; the hiring quality is out of this world even for the Valley * Projects can be extremely interesting * Tech stack (especially on the Foundry side) is modern and fun to use * The software is real and works unlike most enterprise technology Palantir competes against

      Cons

      * Work / life balance is highly project dependent. Long hours trending towards brutal if your project is fast-paced or the customer is overly demanding * Your project may not be all that interesting and you'll hear about everyone else doing world changing tech. If your project is uninteresting and has long hours - you can burn out fast. * Some of the Gotham code base is archaic and hard to understand * Palantir changes over time and you'll need to adapt or reinvent yourself if you stay longer than 2 years. This can be fun but stressful and the pace never slows down.

      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      amazing company, amazing people, not for everyone

      Feb 19, 2021 - Deployment Strategist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      complete autonomy: it's up to you to decide the kind of company you want Palantir to become and make it in your own image; the same for your work with customers (this is particular to business development (BD)) incredible leadership: the smartest people in the world lead this company; I've met the most strategic geniuses here peers: you learn an incredible amount from your peers sky is the limit: no one will ever limit you from achieving more; the entire company exists to help you increase your impact

      Cons

      the autonomy + sky is the limit means that only you can decide how much work you want to get done each day; this means many people work extremely hard. you have to learn to manage your own calendar and energy levels. diversity and inclusion is difficult in the tech industry in general... as a cis hetero white male, I'm not the right person to comment on this, but I understand PLTR is far from the ideal. I think it's a great place to work and the people who work here have the best intentions, so I don't think it's worse than other tech companies, but that's not a great excuse.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Jul 8, 2021 - Forward Deployed Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing growth opportunities and interesting problems

      Cons

      Flat structure makes some decisions more political than they need to be

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best Job Ever

      Jun 22, 2021 - Automation Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brilliant colleagues, fast-paced environment, lots of perks

      Cons

      Nothing yet! Seriously, nothing yet!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not for the faint of heart

      Jun 22, 2021 - Forward Deployed Engineer in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It pays well, has good benefits, and has interesting work. Don't be a FDE though, be a dev as its very hard to go from FDE -> dev but its easy to go from dev -> FDE

      Cons

      Arrogant workforce - Internal process anarchy.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Smart folks, fast-paced, and self-driven.

      Jul 9, 2020 - Software Engineer in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Your coworkers are going to be incredibly competent. I've been here for a year and a half and I haven't yet encountered a coworker who wasn't good at their job. The culture is very fast-paced, sorta feels like early Facebook's "move fast and break things". If you're self-motivated and enjoy ambiguous high-impact problems, Palantir is for you. In all things, Palantir minimizes process. You get to define how things get done, and it's up to you to make it happen. If you enjoy a lot of structure/process, Palantir will probably be really painful.

      Cons

      The culture is really fast-paced/intense. If you're bad at taking time off/unplugging from work (and most Palantirians are), Palantir won't stop you from overworking. For this reason, there's a good amount of burnout. The culture also is built around being a self-starter. It's not okay to be blocked by other people, and you'll be expected to think outside of the box to solve problems and get yourself unblocked. If you don't like ambiguous/difficult problems, you're going to have a bad time. If you're bad at unplugging from work, you're going to have a bad time.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 386 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Palantir Technologies Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Palantir Technologies? Share Your Experiences

    Palantir Technologies logo
    or