Palantir Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Palantir Technologies Reviews

Updated Oct 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Palantir Technologies CEO Alex Karp
Alex Karp
226 Ratings
Pros
  • "smart people, great work/life balance(in 32 reviews)

  • "Palantir is a place makes the rest of Silicon Valley look like it is working on toy train sets(in 18 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Purpose, autonomy & mastery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forward Deployed Software Engineer in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Transformative projects with customers who matter. A grade employees, driven towards material impact. A very high degree of autonomy awarded to staff.

    Cons

    Resourcing - there are more opportunities than staff. Sometimes this means staff get stuck with one customer, sometimes it means that ownership can be lacking as staff move through a customer to fight a fire rather than truly fix an issue in a sustainable way. Workforce not especially diverse, despite everyone's efforts to address this. Being in a branch office, it is sometimes hard to divine strategic and... tactical vision - conversely we are given wide latitude to chart our own destiny.

    Show More
    Palantir Technologies2015-08-26
  2. Helpful (6)

    "3 Years, International Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Canberra
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies

    Pros

    You'd be hard pressed to find any other organisation that gives you this much scope to define your own growth path, and figure out how and where you can add value to the team and business. Our recruiting process is the bane of my existence, I am constantly frustrated that we can't hire more people because of how particular we are with our requirements - BUT - this is what has built the incredible team I work with... now. No dead wood, everyone's a rock star, and I genuinely like spending time with these people. All of them. I know everyone's experience here is different, but if you work hard, are thoughtful about what it is you're doing, and how you're impacting the team - then you generally have a ridiculous amount of opportunities open to you for doing new things. Travel, projects, experiments, working in different areas of the business, building new capability, or working in other offices. The perks and flexibility are great, and do a lot of what their supposed to do - reduce some of the overheads of everyday life admin - allowing you to be more productive.

    Show More

    Cons

    We can't hire enough people to meet all the work we have - which means we're all super busy and you have to prioritise like a magician. And it might mean you don't get to work on the thing you are personally attached to because it's not the highest priority. That can suck. But it's a business. We can be too thoughtful/introspective as a company sometimes - which should probably be kept at the "higher" levels -... because the trickle down effect is that people end up questioning the priority, validity, strategy of what they're doing constantly, instead of just getting on with it. As a company we're resistant to bringing on people that are just good at managing other people/areas of a business - and engineers generally don't make great people leaders. This is an area there is a lot of work going into to improve, but sometimes it feels we err too heavily away from the traditional routes - some of these things are conventional because they work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If I had to put it somewhere like this I wouldn't be working here.

    Palantir Technologies2015-08-19
  3. "Forward Deployed Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Interesting technology -Meaningful work -Opportunity to travel -They do not adjust downwards for Cost of Living from location to location, in terms of base pay

    Cons

    -Travel can be unpredictable -Lack of leadership

    Palantir Technologies2019-10-26
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Reliability Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture at Palantir Technologies

    Cons

    I haven't encountered any cons yet

    Palantir Technologies2019-09-22
  5. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forward Deployed Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time

    Pros

    - Some of the smartest people you'll ever work with. - Great opportunities to travel and work on a variety of problems. - A lot of people on Glassdoor are saying the pay is low. I disagree, I think it's fair. Company bonuses every year are generous, you get free food all week (breakfast, lunch, dinner), and you can live rent-free if you agree to deploy away from your home country. - Plenty of opportunities to... work from home.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Work can sometimes be a bit mundane, even if the problem spaces the company is working in are interesting. - Work life balance can sometimes be a bit rough before deadlines.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the interview process rigorous and difficult

    Palantir Technologies2019-09-03
  6. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get more free time..and good environment friendly location

    Cons

    Average processing time and not looking good food

    Palantir Technologies2019-09-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Benefits were outstanding - Great people, most were helpful and happy to answer questions

    Cons

    - Not a great work/life balance (but manageable).

    Palantir Technologies2019-08-27
  8. "Good company to work for but intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, office perks & benefits

    Cons

    No work - life balance

    Palantir Technologies2019-08-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging place to work, in good and bad ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Engineers that are talented both technically and in terms of product intuition, very difficult and important application areas.

    Cons

    Working long hours is necessary for job advancement. Difficult to speak about your technical work publicly, which makes it hard to be part of the broader engineering community.

    Palantir Technologies2019-07-30
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Toxic, political company growing on the backs of exploited new hires"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forward Deployed Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - A lot of freedom very quickly - Good benefits

    Cons

    - No product or commercial strategy. Palantir pitches itself as a product company when it is really a tech consulting firm - No salary evolution beyond the 20% increase given to you after 18 months. Major salary differences between people occupying the same role. - If you work here, you are just a resource. Palantir’s concern will be to maximize that resource. You will have no growth path beyond the initial freedom... given to you. Your learning curve will be steep in the beginning like at any consulting firm, but it will bottom out as you go from project to project without any career advancement - Lack of hierarchy does not equate to meritocracy. Instead, it creates a toxic, political culture where people elbow eachother to advance. Success is determined by what certain people in the company think of you. There is no feedback structure and therefore advancement is not based on merit, but instead on politics - Terrible place for women to work. You will be seen as emotional if you speak out against sexism or bullying

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Hire some adults - Define a real product strategy instead of trying to be the platform that does everything for everyone. This inhibits scale and you will remain a consulting firm to deploy - Create a real meritocracy by introducing feedback and promoting based on that feedback - Create a safe space for women to raise concerns instead of judging them as emotional

    Palantir Technologies2019-08-27
Found 305 reviews