Philip Morris International Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Philip Morris International Reviews

Updated 17 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1416 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Philip Morris International CEO André Calantzopoulos
André Calantzopoulos
442 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is a major issye when providing services to client(in 90 reviews)

  • "falta de direcionamento em alguns momentos(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PMI trully invests in its employee's development, it is agreat place to work with plenty of opportunities all the time either in your own country or abroad.

    Cons

    As the name says, "fast moving consumer goods" reflects on the speed of change of the Company. Might be well accepted by some, not so much if you are looking for a lot of stability and if you would like to do the same thing for many years.

    Advice to Management

    Understanding it is impossible to change the pace (and it wouldn't be as fun :) ), Management could try to make people feel safer and ensure there is a clear direction.

    Philip Morris International2019-06-26
  2. "Great Internship, great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International

    Pros

    Great work environment, the multiple business areas cohesively work together to reach company objectives. Interesting work and much to be learnt.

    Cons

    Need younger people within the organisation.

    Philip Morris International2015-04-19
  3. "Great opportunity for growth within organisation, poor leadership structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Melbourne

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity for growth within organisation and work life balance

    Cons

    Leadership structure doesn't reflect the strengths of employees

    Philip Morris International2019-08-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good development and opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Yearly appraisal process for salary and bonus reviews needs to be improved. A misguided and poorly implemented forced distribution system leads to a lack of correlation between true merit and reward.

    Philip Morris International2019-03-30

    Philip Morris International Response

    May 23, 2019Centralized Community Management

    Hello, thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed PMI's environment and defined it as a great place to develop career paths. Also, we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your commitment with us through the years. Thanks once again ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Area Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time

    Pros

    Great brands & people in what is a tough industry. Employees who deliver are well rewarded with a career & remuneration Strong focus on personal development for current & future rolls

    Cons

    Strategically poor at times - competitors flourishing Some roles are subjectively assessed - line manager skill & experience is too influential. Process often gets in the way of opportunity - red tape

    Philip Morris International2018-04-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "An eye opening experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, most of my 9 year career was really great. Always changing, great autonomy, pays well, good perks, and events.

    Cons

    You’ll learn to stop asking “why?”. Most of the time nothing makes any sense, a lot of the activities that engage most of your time, don’t actually relate to your KPI’s. Bi annual performance reviews are highly subjective, decided behind closed doors, and don’t change regardless of the body of evidence you can produce to support your case.

    Advice to Management

    You’ll never beat your opposition, while you remain so reactive

    Philip Morris International2018-04-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Territory Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture, good perks, e.g. work travel.

    Cons

    Declining market, poor strategy from head office.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the customer

    Philip Morris International2017-11-21
  8. "Technical Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time

    Pros

    Excellent personal development , excellence staff

    Cons

    They retrenched the whole AU IT Service Centre, degrading their Asia Pacific services

    Advice to Management

    Dont outsource too much!

    Philip Morris International2017-07-15
  9. "Great organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the best perks, including health insurance

    Cons

    Current business environment not conducive for the organisation

    Philip Morris International2017-07-17

    Philip Morris International Response

    September 26, 2017

    Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review. We’re sorry to hear you didn’t like our current business position. It’s the personality and passion of our people that makes every day different at PMI. The work we do can be quite demanding - we move fast and seize opportunities - but ...

    Show More
  10. "Career Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International

    Pros

    Great career growth and training opportunities

    Cons

    Really long work hours (up to 6 days)

    Advice to Management

    Listen to people and inspire them

    Philip Morris International2017-02-22
Found 1416 reviews