Philip Morris International Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Philip Morris International Chief Executive Officer André Calantzopoulos
André Calantzopoulos
551 Ratings
  1. "Career Growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International

    Pros

    Great career growth and training opportunities

    Cons

    Really long work hours (up to 6 days)

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2017-02-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "This is your career in tobacco"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No real accountability across middle and senior management.

    Cons

    Far too much political performance measurement. Make the most noise and you will move forward.

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2016-10-10

    Philip Morris International Response

    November 8, 2016

    Hello, thank you for leaving a review on our Glassdoor page. We’re sorry that you felt your time with us was undermined by a political environment. Our commitment to our teams is to offer ongoing development opportunities. So we encourage them to seize every chance - that’s how they progress their careers. However, we do this within a collaborative atmosphere too, because it’s only by working together that everyone can succeed. Thanks for your comments!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great people"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Philip Morris International

    Pros

    Multiple business channels, offer flexibility in career. Interesting work and much to be learnt.

    Cons

    Wages are low, work life balance is low

    Philip Morris International2015-12-07
  4. "Great company but sadly cutting costs"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Global, great people, serious about work-life balance. Travel to exotic places but not too much as well.

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy. Career progressions can be slow as people tend to stay for a long time. 15-20 yrs managers are common.

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2014-11-14
  5. "Global IS - Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Huge variety of work - no two months are the same Lots of opportunity to develop Great training budget You will work hard A company whose management actually communicates what's going on Make contacts all over the world - a very mind-opening experience Treats people as people, not just numbers

    Cons

    Very limited promotion opportunities - PMI hires the best people, and they tend to stay Used to be great for international assignments, but there are now very few opportunities unless you are already located in Europe (eastern or western) or in one of the lower-cost countries in Asia or Latin America. If you're in a high-cost Asian or Latin country, you won't be going anywhere.

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2014-08-19
  6. "Project Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IS Project Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits,(car, health insurance, on-site gym, flexible working conditions). They invest in your development Great travel opportunities

    Cons

    Limited career opportunities unless internationally mobile ( in melbourne) A bit boring!!

    Philip Morris International2014-05-06
  7. "Good to be with"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Philip Morris International

    Pros

    flexible business hours and medical insurance

    Cons

    they give more weight for soft skills than the core skills

    Philip Morris International2014-01-19
  8. "-"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Saint Petersburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    office, projects, salary, colleagues, work-life balance

    Cons

    career opportunities, training programmes, induction process

    Philip Morris International2020-06-03
  9. "Best of the best"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working with the best of the best in the manufacturing industry (and other global industries) keeps you aiming for your best as well. Great benefits and pay.

    Cons

    Little work-life balance. Depending on the management, there can be a lot of office politics. Always be ready to move if you want to progress in your career.

    Philip Morris International2020-05-20
  10. "Respectful and meritocracy based organization"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Madrid
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Respectful, promotes merit and performance based growth. International assignments opportunities.

    Cons

    High workload and unclear R&R sometimes

    Philip Morris International2020-05-14

    Philip Morris International Response

    June 2, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hello and thank you for leaving us a positive review and for your feedback. We are happy that you are enjoying your experience with PMI in Madrid, for over 5 years! Our people are our strongest asset, we care about their well-being and work very hard to give them the best possible work environment. As such, we are glad that you feel respected, valued and have had the opportunity for international assignments. We take good note regarding your comment about workload, and we invite you to discuss this with your line manager or your HR contact person. We thank you again for your time to write a review. Why not follow us on social media @insidepmi to stay up-to-date on our latest news.

Found 1091 reviews