Planet Fitness Fitness Trainer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Planet Fitness Fitness Trainer Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
52%
Recommend to a Friend
8%
Approve of CEO
Planet Fitness CEO Chris Rondeau
Chris Rondeau
8 Ratings
  1. "Higher level management never knew what was going on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Trainer 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers and the members are great

    Cons

    Company unwilling to change with times

    Advice to Management

    Decentralize your command to the club level. Have one goal and explain that goal to the clubs, but let the clubs decide how they obtain the goal. Not every club will achieve success the same way so expecting them to do so is limiting growth

    Planet Fitness2019-08-18
  2. "good starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Trainer 

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good for gaining experience full-time schedule hourly pay

    Cons

    no growth upper management treats employees unfairly pay is awful

    Planet Fitness2019-06-21
  3. "Work with and create workout programs for clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Trainer 

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance opportunity

    Cons

    Hard to create different workout plans for multiple people and show them how to do exercises and properly use equipment in a one hour time slot

    Planet Fitness2019-05-06
  4. "Fun short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitness Trainer in Jackson, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meet a lot of people, definitely good for a first time trainer

    Cons

    Zero chance of getting a raise. Started and ended with the same pay after 3 years. Also zero chance of getting more hours than printed on the fitness schedule.

    Planet Fitness2019-03-01
  5. "Good way to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Trainer in Perry Hall, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good way to start your training career - Hourly pay - Fitness Director is awesome

    Cons

    - Company puts alot onthe shoulders of the trainers - VERY numbers based - Little help from management/ desk staff in recruiting new clientele - Very needy client base

    Planet Fitness2018-06-14
  6. "Business as usual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitness Trainer in North Saint Paul, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work, not a lot of sitting, so lots of standing and walking. Good opportunity to work with diverse groups of people.

    Cons

    Pay is barely livable, no PTO or benefits to staff besides managers. It’s a business so everything has to be by the book especially when regional managers are there.

    Advice to Management

    Help staff get pay more and provide incentives.

    Planet Fitness2018-04-01
  7. "Great Atmosphere of Clients But Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Trainer in East Hanover, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time

    Pros

    Working with clients sometimes in group setting was the best part of the job. First job starting out as a personal trainer, and you already learn so much about the ins and outs of the industry. Also, you are the only trainer so it was a good benefit for me to get out of my comfort zone.

    Cons

    Management has to do a lot better. They say they are to help you, but they can be sneaky and manipulative people to work with. I requested for benefits, and I was told I would get them soon. When I asked for benefits again two months later, I was fired the next day.

    Planet Fitness2017-08-15
  8. "Personal Fitness Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Fitness Trainer in Cinnaminson, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love how close your co-workers and clients become, the gym atmosphere is very comfortable to me, everyone is friendly for the most part.

    Cons

    No room for growth unless you want to go into management (no raises), higher management doesn't help out very often that I've seen.

    Advice to Management

    Do regular check ups on employees and ask if there's anything they need from you, and talk about growth opportunities if it is deserved. Too many people leave or stop working hard if they are not appreciated. I would definitely love to grow with the company and potentially stay forever to eventually become a regional manager if it seemed more attainable.

    Planet Fitness2017-07-17
  9. "Fitness Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitness Trainer in Reading, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, great members, free membership for employees

    Cons

    Pay is too low, no benefits

    Planet Fitness2017-06-01
  10. "Employment here not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitness Trainer in Prescott, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall co-workers and gym members are fun to work with.

    Cons

    Corporate Management micromanages employees, short lunch breaks, no opportunity for overtime, low wages

    Advice to Management

    Work on professionalism, communication, and respect toward employees.

    Planet Fitness2017-03-09
Found 26 reviews