Planet Fitness Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Planet Fitness Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1446 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Planet Fitness CEO Chris Rondeau
Chris Rondeau
437 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "low pay and not much room for growth(in 103 reviews)

  • "Upper management sometimes makes decisions without thinking(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Planet fitness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chesterfield, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Energetic, fun, caring individuals, great atmosphere

    Cons

    Long hours, not enough pay, no flexible input

    Advice to Management

    Listen to associates and make better deals for customers

    Planet Fitness2019-10-14
  2. "It was a pretty easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Representative in Del Rio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, decent hours, good staff

    Cons

    They had a lot of cleaning

    Planet Fitness2019-10-13
  3. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment to work in and develop professional skills

    Cons

    Can be a little unorganized at times

    Planet Fitness2019-10-11
  4. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fitness Instructor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced learning, lot's of opportunities to make outside clients, stable, low sales pressure

    Cons

    Low pay due to low sales pressure, zero wiggle room on training schedule. I ended up leaving because the schedule made it impossible to attend school.

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge the work your trainers put in when they're on the gym floor, not just when they're conveniently behind the desk with you.

    Planet Fitness2019-10-03
  5. "P Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    simple job duties, with great staff

    Cons

    low pay and not much room for growth

    Planet Fitness2019-10-01
  6. "Fun Part-Time For College Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Relaxed environment -Fun -Easy job -Always leaving on time -Flexible scheduling -Organized management -Free gym membership

    Cons

    -Rude members -Some shifts are very long (e.g. closing shift is 3PM-11PM). -Difficult to move up or advance. You definitely hit a glass ceiling. Lots of outside hiring and only 3 full-time positions filled by one person: Trainer, Manager, Assistant Manager. -Pay is OK. You don't earn commissions.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more from within and allow more advancement opportunities for ambitious part-time employees. Provide more sales incentives.

    Planet Fitness2019-10-01
  7. "Cashier, Greet, Cleaning, Maintenance, Data Entry, Sales."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk in Carolina, PR
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Free gym. Good for students

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to grow inside the company. No health benefits. Only offers part time.

    Planet Fitness2019-10-01
  8. "It was a good experience I learned about gym machines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashiering in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You always can have yourself bisy

    Cons

    Lifting up heavy boxes and fixing machines

    Planet Fitness2019-09-29
  9. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk 

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free membership Interact with different people

    Cons

    The pay sucks They don’t like giving raises but the company makes enough money for a better pay increase They expect you to go over board but the work they want and the amount they pay doesn’t match

    Planet Fitness2019-09-29
  10. "Fun at first and then gets old"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Jackson, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun to interact with members and meet new people. The staff you hire or come aboard with can also make or break your experience.

    Cons

    Like I said it’s fun at first and a good start to a management career or learning to better yourself. But the longer you stay the more you see they keep changing rules back and forth and upside down. Being there almost 6 years I’ve noticed them switch from doing it one way and then switch right back and then switch it again. My general manager and I sometimes thought corporate just got bored and to make like they... were doing something kept changing things for no reason sometimes. Also staff turn over can be a headache when they pay minimum wage staff can get up and leave very easily. Overall a decent experience but the longer you’re there the more it gets old. Also a big factor for me not liking it know YOU’RE ON CALL 24/7 and staff will call you saying I’m to hungover to come in or the famous 3 am call to ask a non important question. So work life balance will eventually catch up with the position at least at my location.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let managers run the gym or fire them. Stop micro managing the cleaning and the way things are done. Mangers for the most part do work hard and earned that position no need to micro manage unless their BER score is low or customer satisfaction is terrible.

    Planet Fitness2019-10-12
Found 1446 reviews