Plymouth Rock Assurance Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Plymouth Rock Assurance Reviews

Updated 10 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 123 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Mary Boyd
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management is completely out of touch with the needs and issues within sales department(in 4 reviews)

  • "low pay, management does not set good example, promotions based on favoritism, not performance(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good growth opportunities, but be aware of what you're getting into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Plymouth Rock Assurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    General desire to grow the company, and be creative about doing it. It's small, so you can be involved in a lot of decisions and get a lot of opportunities to do interesting work simply because there's no one else to do it. In some parts, great symbiotic, collaborative relationship between systems and product means that innovation actually happens. Excellent work life balance (most people leave at 5pm).

    Cons

    The company structure (3 CEOs, each of their own group, separate product, IT, sales, marketing, etc.) invites competition between home and auto divisions. Sometimes this competition isn't friendly and makes the company less efficient (e.g. do we really need 3 CEOs, 2 CFOs, and several varieties of CMOs?). Partly because of this, the politics here are among the worst I've seen at any company. Also because it's a small...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be clear and consistent at all levels of the company about the desire for growth. Insurance is volatile, so we have to learn to deal with that and not overreact to individual losses or unprofitable months. Formalize the promotion process (criteria, make sure company-wide discussions happen, etc.). Biannual harassment training isn't enough: this is more of a cultural issue.

    Plymouth Rock Assurance2019-07-11
  2. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Plymouth Rock Assurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great for families.

    Cons

    Growth potential is certain areas are limited.

    Plymouth Rock Assurance2019-06-18
  3. "Decent benefits but lacking upward mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Representative in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Plymouth Rock Assurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Health insurance is on the cheap side because its a large company. Steady employment. Forces you to hone time management and interpersonal skills.

    Cons

    I was told not only on the phone but in an email that the 3k more in salary I was requesting, but could not be accommodated, could be achieved in 6 months by a performance based raise and an exam if passed. 8 months later no one has contacted me about an exam date. 8 months later I was offered another job in the same field with a significantly higher salary.

    Advice to Management

    The company has experienced a lot of growth with makes it attractive to work for. However, if a high turnover rate in the claims department is a business margin you can afford then don't change. But if you are looking to retain and grow employees who are the ones reflecting the companies customer service goals you might want to create a little more career trajectory.

    Plymouth Rock Assurance2019-05-17
  4. "Some great people but EXTREMELY LOW PAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Boston, MA

    I worked at Plymouth Rock Assurance full-time

    Pros

    I loved most of the people I worked with, so that was nice. Even on a particularly long and stressful day, I had a lot of support from my colleagues.

    Cons

    The biggest con was the extremely low salary. Because of that the turnover was high and the constant turnover created more work for the employees still there. While new employees were being hired, the current employees would have to take on the caseload of the employees that left and there was not much support or appreciation.

    Plymouth Rock Assurance2019-04-23
  5. "Physical Damage Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Plymouth Rock Assurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No micro-management. As long as you do your work, you are able to handle it as you see fit.

    Cons

    No upward mobility. It is very rare for Physical Damage Adjusters to get promoted outside of their role. The majority leave the company after 1 year or less. Those who do not either stay at their roles with minute salary increases, or move into a different claims role. It is incredibly difficult to move up from this position.

    Plymouth Rock Assurance2019-04-15
  6. "Great company & people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plymouth Rock Assurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Financially sound, growing company, great 401K (7% of salary), right across the street from South Station.

    Cons

    Would like to see the company help with commuting costs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing and offering advancement opportunities.

    Plymouth Rock Assurance2019-03-11
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Stupid dress code and lower salaries."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plymouth Rock Assurance full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits: Excellent tuition reimbursement. Gym membership, Good 401K plan, good health insurance and subsidized auto insurance for employees.

    Cons

    Dress code is ridiculous. Most of the companies allows employees to wear jeans. But here irrespective of job type, everyone has to wear business casuals. Once in a blue moon they send out an email saying “you can wear jeans tomorrow” and everyone goes nuts. It honestly feels like employees are treated as slaves and the management behaves as if they are doing a favor by allowing us to wear jeans one day. Pay is way...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at newer companies and adopt the work culture.

    Plymouth Rock Assurance2019-03-02
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Worst company of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Plymouth Rock Assurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cons outweigh the pros. As an employee you don't get any perks.

    Cons

    I really hated my time at this company. They were not transparent in the interview process as to what is expected of employees. If they had been honest I would have never taken a job there. Long hours, very few breaks, you are expected sit at your desk at all times. The cafeteria is basically a vending machine. They order viga once in a while for lunch which sucks. There are no fun in-office activities to boost...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take employee reviews seriously.

    Plymouth Rock Assurance2019-03-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "They don’t care about their employees so this review doesn’t matter. *This review is for the NJ office*"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palisades Park, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Plymouth Rock Assurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Great 401k Wish I could say more, but that’s it. They have you by the golden handcuffs.

    Cons

    Everything else. -micromanagement -no potential advancement unless your a personal friend of executives. -old insurance company mentality ( circa 1985) -thankless position. All employees are treated as if they are disposable. -pay scale is SUBSTANTIALLY lower than competitors. -work life balance taken away. -practically non existent bonus plan. This company used to be an amazing place to work. It is a shame...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up and smell the coffee.

    Plymouth Rock Assurance2019-03-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist 

    I worked at Plymouth Rock Assurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Monthly incentives Work from home Tolerable management

    Cons

    Dead end Constant bonus structure changes

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within and give opportunity to valuable employees

    Plymouth Rock Assurance2019-02-12
Found 123 reviews