Propeller Aero Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 of over 31 reviews

4.7
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Propeller Aero CEO and Co-Founders Francis Vierboom and Rory San Miguel (no image)
Francis Vierboom and Rory San Miguel
17 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Friendly, open team with a wonderful culture

    Jul 11, 2021 - Software Engineer in Surry Hills
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extremely open and welcoming culture. Fun knowledge domain that sees engineers applying familiar technologies in novel ways.

    Cons

    Priorities will frequently change which can strain delivery processes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Interesting work, promising product, scaling up

    Jul 21, 2021 - Software Engineer in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Interesting challenges - Market-leading product - Relaxed and amicable environment - Limited corporate kerfuffle - Strong tech orientation

    Cons

    - Salaries are not competitive (although adjustments are in progress) - Personal ties mean hard calls are sometimes not made - Not ambitious enough

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Growing business

    Jan 10, 2021 - Full Time Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The fast growth means we get to work on things that really impact the business. I've worked at other high growth companies before where you lose the start-up feel. Even though things are changing here, we still have that really fun, high energy and creative start-up vibe that I enjoy. Sometimes the remote work was hard during the peak of Covid, but I think it was our company culture that got us through and saw us come out of it stronger and still growing.

    Cons

    The other side to the excitement of fast growth is that things do get really busy here. I like to keep myself busy, but can imagine it might be full on for some people

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    All of the good things you hear about tech start up's

    Aug 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A highly collaborative environment where everyone in the business genuinely lives by our mantra of 100% impact and 0% ego. Everyone knows what they are responsible for and how that role contributes to the success of the business. Being the size we are, this means everyone works on really meaningful tasks, either directly for the customer or in some kind of support function.

    Cons

    No cons. However, if you like a perfectly structured working environment with a plan in place for everything, this isn't the environment for you. We're growing and learning as we go, so sometimes things don't run perfectly and you need to be ok with that.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fast paced, interesting work un-tethered by corporate bureaucracy

    Aug 28, 2019 - Data Engineer in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Own the problems you solve Love the people you work with Be heard and informed on all aspects of the product

    Cons

    It's a start up, the whole four walls and ceiling are a gamble but accepted risk = potential reward. You're still guaranteed to get something out of your time here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    typical startup

    Dec 29, 2019 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible, work life balance

    Cons

    low salary

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A small, committed team of super smart people

    Jan 21, 2018 - Marketing Content Lead in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Propeller is picky about who it hires. Only seriously excellent people make the cut. Being part of such a high-quality team feels amazing. It pushes and inspires you to do your best work. - The culture here is the best I've ever known. There is zero tolerance for any of that toxic workplace politics stuff. Seriously. No bad-mouthing people behind their backs, no trampling on others to get ahead. I've never felt anything less than 100% encouraged and supported by every single team member. - Though I'm based in Sydney, I've been lucky enough to spend some time in Propeller's Denver office, which was a great experience. With offices in the US and Australia, and remote workers scattered across the globe, there are some travel opportunities available. - As a woman, support for me in this male-dominated workplace (and sector) has been explicit and unwavering.

    Cons

    - Like any fast-growing startup, Propeller is still 'figuring it out' on a few fronts. That said, asking for and delivering critical feedback is baked into the culture here, so mistakes tend to be quickly identified and corrected. - Right now, the company is grappling with the transition from scrappy startup to professional mid-sized business. This is challenging, but also exciting. It feels like everyone is committed to establishing an structure that allows for maximum efficiency, without losing the casual, non-hierarchical culture that we love. - Like all tech startups, there is an over-representation of white men here. However, Management and HR are the first to call this out, and I genuinely believe they're taking the right steps to correct this.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best place I've ever worked

    Jan 17, 2018 - QA Engineer in Sydney
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * I have flexibility to work full time in university holidays and part time while pursuing study in computer science. I can work remotely to fit around my study schedule which means I can work from home or from university to avoid travel between classes and the office * There is a flat management structure where our leadership trusts that employees will deliver results, whether they work remotely or at one of our offices. Fortnightly demo days by company-wide video chat give everyone an equal have an opportunity to present our achievements. We are judged on the quality of our work and contribution to team goals, wherever we complete our work. * I've been supported to move quickly from an entry-level role into an engineering team, where I've had the opportunity to learn on the job and develop new skills. Engineers on my team actively share their experience and direct me to new learning resources and opportunities. * There is a collegial environment where I feel my contributions are respected. My team lead communicates how much he values my work and my colleagues always welcome the feedback I provide as a QA. * Our management actively advocate for a workplace where women feel valued, and my colleagues have always been respectful.

    Cons

    * It's still growing, so I haven't been able to move into the specific area of computer science that I'm interested in, but management have always supported me to get as close to that goal as possible within the constraints of the job roles that are available.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Managers

    Jan 30, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Autonomous work is a plus

    Cons

    No a lot of direction

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Culture

    Oct 11, 2018 - Product Designer in Surry Hills
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Propeller is made up of a some incredibly welcoming and super smart people, who are never hesitant to lend a hand or have a chat. They make you feel like part of the family from day one. Leave your ego at the door, there's no petty competition here. Everyone is genuinely supportive of each other and you really get a sense that everyone is working towards the same goal.

    Cons

    Fairly loose work structure means a lot of figuring things out as they go. Be prepared for lots of experimenting and changes as the company finds it's legs and figured out the best way to get things done. Flat hierarchy means you're expected to step up, work independently, and be self-driven. The culture is friendly, but at the end of the day, you have to be driven, passionate, and good at what you do.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

Popular Careers with Propeller Aero Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Propeller Aero? Share Your Experiences

Propeller Aero logo
or