QIAGEN Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

QIAGEN Manager Reviews

Updated 30 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
QIAGEN CEO Peer M. Schatz
Peer M. Schatz
16 Ratings
  1. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at QIAGEN

    Pros

    Fun team, BKK summit meetings

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunity in Australia

    QIAGEN2017-05-17
  2. "Excellent organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in America, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, excellent co-workers, world class management, brilliant executive leadership

    Cons

    I truly can't think of anything

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you'e doing!

    QIAGEN2019-04-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Senior strategic account manager inside sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Strategic Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, voice matters, team efforts a plus

    Cons

    Streamline improvements needed at all levels and people will leave the company if improvements within are not improved. Staff spread thin amongst territories making it difficult

    Advice to Management

    See comments about cons

    QIAGEN2018-12-17
  4. "I have been with the Company for 8 years - it’s a really good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are incredible! Some of my best friends have worked or work with QIAGEN. There is a good culture and work ethic. Great opportunities for development, travel and to put ideas forward. In the time I’ve been here I’ve been promoted a number of times and worked my way up from the bottom - if you want to succeed you can!

    Cons

    The salaries could be better (or the variance between levels could be improved) but the pros certainly outweigh the cons!

    QIAGEN2017-12-05
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Solid products poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people, technically strong. Good products. Some very unique and high quality product areas. Stable company despite re-orgs. Some roles/areas are better than others. Benefits ok.

    Cons

    Poor and removed decision making. Essentially no productive marketing due to constant turnover resulting in low staff and lack of consistent progress. Poor understanding of the core business by management is very concerning. The high turnover and continual hiring of upper management with little or no experience in companies similar to Qiagen just underscores this. The company is run by clinical executives (from Biomerieux,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This could be changed with more support of the base in parallel with more efficient growth of new areas. Better communication and understanding of the business is needed. Resources could be better applied by experienced management. There is a lot of waste now with such high levels of transition. Expensive initiatives come and go every other year with different leaders and typically do not improve any basic challenges....

    Show More
    QIAGEN2017-12-11
  6. "Below market average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Hilden
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great products - Very nice and helpful colleagues - Ideal size, not too big and not too small

    Cons

    - High level of bureaucracy - people could be all contractors, because big problem is when priority changes and you can't fire everyone - Culture that promotes mediocrity (not promoting best people, unable to change) - Lack of life-balance

    Advice to Management

    - Treat people as assets, especially your best people

    QIAGEN2017-11-16
  7. "QIAGEN is a great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very dynamic, supportive managers and colleagues! Great salary and benefits! I love being involved in cutting edge biotechnology!

    Cons

    None that I have experienced.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep employees informed on the overall growth of QIAGEN! I love being informed!

    QIAGEN2017-09-11
  8. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, lovely location, fair pay

    Cons

    Going through some growing/reorganizational pains. Makes for a disruptive work environment and low morale. When this storm is weathered, I anticipate that it will return to an excellent place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose sight of your workers as you keep your eye on company goals.

    QIAGEN2016-11-18
  9. "Very interesting company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Manager in Hilden
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work-life balance flexible working hours good career perspectives warm working environment and colleagues industry equivalent salary

    Cons

    bad coffee (but free) sometimes information from top to bottom is filtered

    Advice to Management

    information sent out from EC or Upper Management shall reach also employees at the bottom

    QIAGEN2016-09-28
  10. Helpful (10)

    "An example of the realities of life in biotech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Manager in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having spent a decade at Qiagen, I've seen quite a bit of what the company has to offer. A caveat to my opinions is that, as is true in any large organization, implementation of company philosophy varies manager to manager. From the top down, Qiagen wants its employees to be motivated, creative, empowered, and innovative. However, the further down the chain you go, and the more granular your responsibilities, the easier...

    Show More

    Cons

    Easy to get caught up in the daily grind. Compensation and raises tied to company performance as well as your own (the realities of a public company) Find a mentor in your manager. This is critical in any job. It's the company's responsibility as well as yours to have you grow in experience and value. Boom or bust in government funding of research has major impact on biotech market.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure people who are chosen to lead are mentors. The only way to have an employee be successful and engaged is to have a manager that can help make it so. In addition, make darn sure the communication in the company flows UP as well as down. People need to know that they are being listened to.

    QIAGEN2016-04-25
Found 22 reviews