QIAGEN Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

QIAGEN Manager Reviews

Updated 12 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
QIAGEN CEO Peer M. Schatz
Peer M. Schatz
18 Ratings
  1. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at QIAGEN

    Pros

    Fun team, BKK summit meetings

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunity in Australia

    QIAGEN2017-05-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Company lost in chasing revenue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at QIAGEN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Global vision is very noble Workplace flexibility is good Salaries are fairly good

    Cons

    Slave to the stock market - always pushing for revenue today rather than future profits Severe staff instability problem - recent country management increasing the problem Imported management doesn't understand local workplace culture or value local staff

    Advice to Management

    Look closer at how country management is treating staff Take time to invest for long term profits rather than pushing for instant revenue

    QIAGEN2019-06-25
  3. "Job Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Best Boss I have ever worked for

    Cons

    Not much to say here as I am having the Time of Life

    Advice to Management

    None

    QIAGEN2019-06-19
  4. "Excellent organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in America, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, excellent co-workers, world class management, brilliant executive leadership

    Cons

    I truly can't think of anything

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you'e doing!

    QIAGEN2019-04-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior strategic account manager inside sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Strategic Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, voice matters, team efforts a plus

    Cons

    Streamline improvements needed at all levels and people will leave the company if improvements within are not improved. Staff spread thin amongst territories making it difficult

    Advice to Management

    See comments about cons

    QIAGEN2018-12-17
  6. "I have been with the Company for 8 years - it’s a really good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are incredible! Some of my best friends have worked or work with QIAGEN. There is a good culture and work ethic. Great opportunities for development, travel and to put ideas forward. In the time I’ve been here I’ve been promoted a number of times and worked my way up from the bottom - if you want to succeed you can!

    Cons

    The salaries could be better (or the variance between levels could be improved) but the pros certainly outweigh the cons!

    QIAGEN2017-12-05
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Solid products poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people, technically strong. Good products. Some very unique and high quality product areas. Stable company despite re-orgs. Some roles/areas are better than others. Benefits ok.

    Cons

    Poor and removed decision making. Essentially no productive marketing due to constant turnover resulting in low staff and lack of consistent progress. Poor understanding of the core business by management is very concerning. The high turnover and continual hiring of upper management with little or no experience in companies similar to Qiagen just underscores this. The company is run by clinical executives (from Biomerieux,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This could be changed with more support of the base in parallel with more efficient growth of new areas. Better communication and understanding of the business is needed. Resources could be better applied by experienced management. There is a lot of waste now with such high levels of transition. Expensive initiatives come and go every other year with different leaders and typically do not improve any basic challenges....

    Show More
    QIAGEN2017-12-11
  8. "Below market average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Hilden
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great products - Very nice and helpful colleagues - Ideal size, not too big and not too small

    Cons

    - High level of bureaucracy - people could be all contractors, because big problem is when priority changes and you can't fire everyone - Culture that promotes mediocrity (not promoting best people, unable to change) - Lack of life-balance

    Advice to Management

    - Treat people as assets, especially your best people

    QIAGEN2017-11-16
  9. "QIAGEN is a great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very dynamic, supportive managers and colleagues! Great salary and benefits! I love being involved in cutting edge biotechnology!

    Cons

    None that I have experienced.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep employees informed on the overall growth of QIAGEN! I love being informed!

    QIAGEN2017-09-11
  10. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, lovely location, fair pay

    Cons

    Going through some growing/reorganizational pains. Makes for a disruptive work environment and low morale. When this storm is weathered, I anticipate that it will return to an excellent place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose sight of your workers as you keep your eye on company goals.

    QIAGEN2016-11-18
Found 25 reviews