QIAGEN Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

QIAGEN Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 336 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
QIAGEN CEO Peer M. Schatz
Peer M. Schatz
192 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and culture. Modern work location. Canteen on site (in Germantown, MD). Flexible work hours. Excellent benefits. Exciting work projects.

    Cons

    Quite a few organizational changes (but that´s almost normal in our industry)

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be visible and available to your employees.

    QIAGEN2018-09-19

    QIAGEN Response

    October 19, 2018Senior Recruiter

    Hello, we appreciate your feedback.

  2. "Fantastic people! Great placement year!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Placement Student (T A ) in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am just about to finish a placement year here at QIAGEN, as a Biology student with Industrial Experience at the University of Manchester. The company has fantastic people working for them, they really make the job great. The work is varied, engaging and challenging at times but I learnt a wide range of new techniques and gained valuable lab experience here. The work is also important and rewarding, enjoyed every day...

    Show More

    Cons

    For me there really were no downsides, other than a lack of capacity to offer on-going part time work (they are not well set up for part time employees).

    Advice to Management

    Improve part time working options. Offer placements student opportunity to work from home/library when producing project reports for University.

    QIAGEN2018-09-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Brand, Great Attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Promotes a positive work environment/culture, encourages employees to have a say in business development, lots of opportunities for career/personal development, ideas are respected, scientific discourse with employees and customers

    Cons

    new-hire (American) employees limited vacation/leave, pay is a bit lower then average. when acquires a company, they don't always treat those employees fairly causing a animosity/morale problems.

    Advice to Management

    None, when I have a questions for management they always have an open door and open ear.

    QIAGEN2018-09-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Technical Service Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedule and coworkers

    Cons

    Layoffs/outsourcing sales are low cuts are being made

    QIAGEN2018-09-20
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Decent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN for more than 3 years

    Pros

    not too much workload, decent benefits

    Cons

    work schedule can be erratic, salary is lower than industry standard

    QIAGEN2018-09-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Technical Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Set schedule, clean working environment and buildings, PTO

    Cons

    Slow or no advancement, many employees have been in the same position for multiple years. Lack of diversity past race, close mindedness.

    Advice to Management

    Utilize your talent based on their strengths and improve communication

    QIAGEN2018-09-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good coffee and easy commute

    Cons

    toxic leadership with no value for employees

    QIAGEN2018-10-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Service Representative in Santa Clarita, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and I work from home.

    Cons

    Jobs are going overseas and we are losing a great amount of employees.

    Advice to Management

    Keep jobs in the USA

    QIAGEN2018-08-30
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at QIAGEN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, work life balance

    Cons

    No cons to think of

    Advice to Management

    Work life balance was great

    QIAGEN2018-09-01
  10. "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Qiagen is an amazing company as a service engineer.

    Cons

    Little chance of climbing the corporate ladder.

    QIAGEN2018-08-28
Found 336 reviews