QIAGEN Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

QIAGEN Scientist Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
QIAGEN CEO Peer M. Schatz
Peer M. Schatz
17 Ratings
  1. "Stable job with good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist in Beverly, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    decent pay, great management in R&D, good stability

    Cons

    slow growth but there is potential

    QIAGEN2019-06-14
  2. "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Waltham, MA

    I worked at QIAGEN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    International teams Challenging projects Fantastic culture

    Cons

    Sometimes long working hours and weekend tasks

    QIAGEN2019-05-19
  3. "Research & Development of NGS platform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great focused, very experienced and innovative teams Global expertise if not available on site. Great team spirit Possibility to travel for work (could be a minus for some people) Great visibility Great opportunity for someone who wants to know more about DNA sequencing technologies (front, center, and back ends) and have a direct impact on them. Management favor innovation and promote inventions, ideas, exchanges......

    Show More

    Cons

    Difficulty to deal with teams on different time zone. Small group means you have to do many things and often change priorities. Too many tasks, too little time ....and fast pace Great visibility You need to be self-sufficient [but for people with no experience, mentoring is always schedule for as long it takes; after that you need to be effective...] . No or limited connections with other QIAGEN US based sites...

    QIAGEN2019-04-29
  4. "Great Team Spirit - Interesting/Challenging Projects - Career Dev needs attention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The team spirit at this location is fantastic. The projects are very exciting and challenging. There are high expectations and everyone is kept busy with testing timelines. Great opportunities to develop and launch products

    Cons

    Career development of individuals is an area that needs attention. This is an area that is being addressed currently

    Advice to Management

    Continue to monitor the career development of the employees. Important to keep the pulse on this area and that projects are the only focus.

    QIAGEN2019-04-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Proud to be a part of QIAGEN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Scientist in Frederick, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at QIAGEN full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice company with many great products and technologies. Friendly colleagues and easy atmosphere.

    Cons

    My boss had no knowledge of his job and was one of the laziest managers I've worked, if not the worst one. Unfortunately, he just used others' hard work to credit his terrible performance.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to promote and recognize good people, and fire people who can not do their job well especially for leadership roles.

    QIAGEN2019-02-26
  6. "The people are great but...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist 

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people who work at Qiagen are what make it a great place to work rather than the job itself. The benefits are good but Qiagen is not the only company to offer these and the same can be said for flexible working hours. Work life balance is ok but the onus is on the individual employee to enforce this rather than the company as a whole.

    Cons

    Stress levels can be high depending on which project you are allocated to and who the managers are. Some Projects are given all the resource and everyone else is expected to cope There is a high turn over of staff at all levels of the company The pay is low for the industry and location yet they want highly motivated employees. (Even after the ~4years I have been here my pay is less than my previous job) New...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have said you want to decrease staff turn over but you seem unwilling to listen to the advice from your staff that pay is the biggest issue for people leaving.

    QIAGEN2019-02-21
  7. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Germantown, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We have a lot of 'boomerangs' at QIAGEN, and each one that comes back says the same thing, "I missed the people". We have good people, they care, they're smart, dedicated to the job.

    Cons

    Upper management makes aweful decisions. But wait long enough, what was old will be new again.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better upper level management. Not self-serving, all-confident facades, but earnest people that actually care and listen.

    QIAGEN2019-01-23

    QIAGEN Response

    February 18, 2019Senior Recruiter

    Hello, Thanks for your feedback. Feel free to speak with your HR Partner as well. We welcome all feedback. Thanks

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Brand, Great Attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Promotes a positive work environment/culture, encourages employees to have a say in business development, lots of opportunities for career/personal development, ideas are respected, scientific discourse with employees and customers

    Cons

    new-hire (American) employees limited vacation/leave, pay is a bit lower then average. when acquires a company, they don't always treat those employees fairly causing a animosity/morale problems.

    Advice to Management

    None, when I have a questions for management they always have an open door and open ear.

    QIAGEN2018-09-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Decent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN for more than 3 years

    Pros

    not too much workload, decent benefits

    Cons

    work schedule can be erratic, salary is lower than industry standard

    QIAGEN2018-09-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Technical Service Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Services Scientist in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are great people. They give great compensation.

    Cons

    Schedule is night shift in Philippines

    Advice to Management

    A sleeping quarter pls

    QIAGEN2018-05-13
Found 27 reviews