QIAGEN Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 24 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
QIAGEN Interim CEO Thierry Bernard
Thierry Bernard
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good working environment, pro-diversity, work/ life balance(in 25 reviews)

  • "Multi-national and cultural working environment inspires me to brain-storming with colleagues(in 20 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good company to work for overall"

    3.0
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN

    Pros

    Work life balance Good salary

    Cons

    High employee turnover Fair bit of redundancy

    Continue reading
    QIAGEN2019-10-12
  2. "Great potential"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great business at a global level. Great values driven global mission. Brilliant and strategic minded country leader.

    Cons

    Complete disconnect regionally. Lacking resources. Lacking professional development and contemporary business practices. Zero work life balance. Culturally the regional business shows preference for the Singapore working culture, Australian working culture is looked down upon as entitled and overly expensive.

    Continue reading
    QIAGEN2019-04-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic and short-sighted - avoid"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Some colleagues are customer-focussed and there is moderate work-life balance.

    Cons

    Culture is going downhill, management is not listening, cost cutting of support structures, the wrong people get promoted, not enough recognition/appreciation, career development is stunted, poor training opportunities, even more poorly resourced, short-sighted corporate strategy. Pay is lower than competitors'. Overall an organisation that fails to look after its greatest assets - people.

    QIAGEN2017-10-07
  4. "Overall good company but could be better"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment, pro-diversity, work/ life balance.

    Cons

    Management lacks structure and below average salaries.

    QIAGEN2020-02-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty happy with the situation"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Very good work life balance Good atmosphere amongst colleagues and hierarchy

    Cons

    Lack of transparency in the development career path

    QIAGEN2020-02-07
  6. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Hilden
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary above average, nice colleagues, good work-life balance

    Cons

    There are no cons overall.

    QIAGEN2019-09-17
  7. Helpful (7)

    "No work life balance"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, good place to learn but it comes at its own cost since they push you into the deep end from the beginning, good pension

    Cons

    No work life balance specially for function leads within project teams and project managers, high level of stress and workload, below average salary, basically you do a £65k job for £40k for example, I personally feel like I’m just another headcount to the senior management, no reward for when you’ve achieved far more than expected.

    Continue reading
    QIAGEN2019-09-12
  8. "Bioinformatics"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bioinformatics Applications Specialist in Bangalore

    I worked at QIAGEN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice Compensation, food, cab, and outing

    Cons

    Micromanagement, shift timing, poor work-life balance

    QIAGEN2019-07-29
  9. "Bioinformatics Sales Specialist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance and employee support.

    Cons

    Frequent structural changes and unrealistic targets.

    QIAGEN2019-03-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The people are great but...."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist 

    I have been working at QIAGEN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people who work at Qiagen are what make it a great place to work rather than the job itself. The benefits are good but Qiagen is not the only company to offer these and the same can be said for flexible working hours. Work life balance is ok but the onus is on the individual employee to enforce this rather than the company as a whole.

    Cons

    Stress levels can be high depending on which project you are allocated to and who the managers are. Some Projects are given all the resource and everyone else is expected to cope There is a high turn over of staff at all levels of the company The pay is low for the industry and location yet they want highly motivated employees. (Even after the ~4years I have been here my pay is less than my previous job) New hire staff without experience can earn the same as those that have been in the role for a long period of time and have more experience which seems unfair. Wage rises in April generally track inflation so it is not actually a wage rise. Pay scales are benchmarked but employees aren’t allowed to know what the range for the role actually is.

    Continue reading
    QIAGEN2019-02-21
Found 36 reviews