RWDI Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

RWDI Reviews

Updated 9 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
RWDI CEO Michael Soligo
Michael Soligo
12 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-Op Student in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RWDI for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours and people are very nice to you. Exposure to a lot of very special projects. Seniors have a vast amount of knowledge that they pass down to juniors

    Cons

    RWDI's wind expertise is only a small piece of the cake when looking at the construction industry as a whole and there are several efforts to be less dependent on the housing market.

    Continue reading
    RWDI2016-03-10
  2. "Awesome place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RWDI

    Pros

    Amazing place, great people, great pay. Great projects , weekly meetings. Never felt like work

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    RWDI2016-03-07
  3. "Good Company to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RWDI

    Pros

    Good inter-office communication Can work for anywhere in Canada Work life balance Flexible work Good Bonus structure Very good team

    Cons

    Salary is average but decent

    Continue reading
    RWDI2016-02-03
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great firm - Heavy Workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Guelph, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RWDI

    Pros

    - Opportunity to work on global cutting edge projects - Great work environment & friendly co-workers - Transparent leadership - Decent facilities and technology on hand

    Cons

    - Very heavy workload, sometimes difficult to balance home/work life when weekend work is frequently required - High number of remote offices can lead to inefficiency and wait periods at times

    Continue reading
    RWDI2015-11-20
  5. "Great at the start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at RWDI full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and ability to work remotely; Ability to focus on technical development with separate technical and project management streams

    Cons

    Too much restructuring has led to ineffective management and low morale; Too much "painting the rainbow" before starting layoffs

    Continue reading
    RWDI2015-08-15
  6. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Guelph, ON

    I worked at RWDI

    Pros

    There are people with very good technical background although it is hard to learn because they are busy and they cannot spend time with new employees.

    Cons

    They can not schedule the projects properly and this can cause frustration to the engineers. It is also very hard for them to make changes and it usually requires lots of time for that to happen.

    Continue reading
    RWDI2015-08-07
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Decent place to work, but nothing to rave about."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RWDI

    Pros

    - Co-workers are the best part of RWDI. The people are nice and there is a balance between senior, intermediate and junior staff. - Interesting project work compared to many basic engineering firms. - No mentorship or structured training programs

    Cons

    - Salaries are just below average for everyone but upper management, who are very well paid. - Vacation time is 3 weeks to start,does not increase for 10 years. - Can be very stressful since it's a consulting environment. - Small management structure which sounds good but struggles to manage 400+ employees

    Continue reading
    RWDI2015-03-02
  8. Helpful (3)

    "I had a lot of fun at the start..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Guelph, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at RWDI full-time

    Pros

    Great variety of projects. In my career there I worked on over 600 projects on 6 continents. Tight deadlines means you seldom have time to get bored. You get to work with a variety of people, from model shop, to tunnel operators, to project managers. Some of the senior guys have been there forever and have vast amounts of technical knowledge. There are three paths to moving up: technical expertise, project management and leadership roles. Lots of internal R&D opportunities. Opportunities to publish and go to technical conferences. Opportunities for travel.

    Cons

    Internal training only happens when there is money, which for the last 5 years hasn't been often. R&D doesn't happen as often as desired. They underpay and overwork most of the engineers, and then you don't get overtime once you become a senior. There is a tendency to move people around departments if they aren't working out somewhere, rather than fire them. Of the more than 20 principles, there is only one (maybe two) women. There are few women in engineering roles. The group in upper management has been in that position for 10-20 years and tends to shuffle the roles among themselves, rather than bring younger people up. Upper management spends a lot of time talking about how to bring in new talent, but very little about how to retain talent, especially those in technical roles with 5-10 years of experience.

    Continue reading
    RWDI2013-08-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "RWDI is a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at RWDI full-time

    Pros

    I work in the Environmental part of RWDI so what I think about our group may not apply to others. Overall the pros are: decent wages, very smart colleagues, flexible schedule, OK work-life balance, interesting projects (at least in my current team), top management seems to be quite open about how the company operates etc. The job seems stable. The company seems to be trying to improve employee experience. Also, there is an employee stock purchase program which I head is a good deal. Benefits are good as far as I can tell. On the business side, the company is doing well and steadily growing. Overall, I have not had any major issues so far and I would recommend this place to a friend.

    Cons

    Wages are just decent - definitely not in the oil-and-gas league :) Vacation is short - 3 weeks until you have 10 years experience... Overtime is rarely paid. Tight budget for simple things sometimes. Ridiculous spending by some PMs on stupid things. Most cons are minor, but they exist.

    Continue reading
    RWDI2013-07-18
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Past Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at RWDI

    Pros

    RWDI was an amazing place to work until the last several years. It had a family feel where management cared for employees and there careers. I believe in that they are striving to return to a company which appreciates its employees, but it will take time.

    Cons

    Like many companies in recent years, they have frozen salaries and promotions. They have found ways to make 'selective' changes, but may not have been with the appropriate review of employees and contribution. They have made decisions that resulted in some very talented employee leaving who I think has and will continue to hurt them for some time. Like mentioned above, they do seem to be striving to get back to the company they once was. I have hope that they will get there.

    Continue reading
    RWDI2010-09-16
Found 31 reviews