Rackspace Reviews

Updated 5 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Rackspace CEO Kevin Jones
Kevin Jones
126 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Culture from the Rackers(in 141 reviews)

  • "Great culture, amazing head quarters(in 132 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some challenges with silos, but most Rackers genuinely want to help each other(in 122 reviews)

  • "Middle management is afraid of senior leadership because of the high risk of being fired(in 71 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great place to work in Sydney"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Solutions Architect in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a company that truly cares about the people. I have never seen any other company that does so many small things that make a difference. On joining, you get a appraisal of your desk and seating position. There is also an external service that helps employees with their personal issues, like personal, financial etc. and it is completely annonymous. It is the small things that make a big difference, and Rackspace does thebig and small things well. Like it posted face masks to all their employees, gave a COVID day off in April, gave a well being half day off in May.

    Cons

    It is a Sales driven organisation, a bit more strategic sales approach would help.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2020-05-22
  2. "Best Place I've worked at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Engineer IV in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at big international companies as well as start ups in my career. I can say that Rackspace has the best of both worlds.

    Cons

    At first, I find that there are too many applications to use, but once you get a hang of it. It's not too bad.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2020-05-05
  3. "Best Place to work in a crisis!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time

    Pros

    During this uncertain time, instead of clocking us on time spent working, they continue to reach out to check if we're OK. They have provided a Mental Health Day to be taken when we want and organizing to ship each Racker masks for themselves and their family. The teams are providing weekly check-in's to keep morale up and the Racker community has never been stronger.

    Cons

    No company is perfect but the good outweighs the bad here.

    Rackspace2020-05-04
  4. "Great Place for Techies"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Being such a large service provider, Rackspace enables engineers to specialise to the expert level of their job function. Often engineers have a higher level of expertise than the various vendor TACs, who are rarely engaged. Additionally, the breadth of services Rackspace offers allows engineers opportunity to change technical tracks if they want. It's not uncommon to see engineers jumping from Windows support teams into AWS support teams - further developing their technical talent. Moving up, Rackspace understands that management isn't always the path people want to take. The Technical Career Track (TCT) programme exists to cater for this, by offering titles such as Principle & Distinguished Architect as well as Fellow. These roles recognise the individual as an expert in their field and ensure there is no limit to any technical roles within the company.

    Cons

    As the company is headquartered in the US and operates globally, sometimes meetings are scheduled after hours.

    Rackspace2020-04-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Losing staff fast"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Sydney
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relavant services to the market

    Cons

    Toxic leadership. Staff seen as a cost center rather than of bringing value.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2020-04-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Short term thinking, lack of trust, aggressive leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Comes from a fantastic heritage of staff and leaders who care about each other and their customers

    Cons

    Leadership transformation in the past year has overhauled the management style and thinking for the worse. Short term focus, blame, lack of trust and a value in people is causing staff attrition and a broken culture

    Rackspace2020-05-05
  7. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Culture and perks and interesting work

    Cons

    Not a con but large leadership change globally which is a bit of a headspin, let's see how it lands

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2019-10-20

    Rackspace Response

    October 30, 2019Racker Experience Program Manager

    Thank you for your suggestion around continuing to invest in our culture.

  8. "Great Place to Work, but not as good as it used to be"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Sydney
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture and benefits like gym membership, health & life insurance, quarterly fun budgets and company wide fun events. Very supportive in personal development. Flexible work/life balance to allow work from home. Management are great leaders and are involved at all levels of the business and proactively check in on everyone and are there to support you. There is full transparency so everyone in the business is aware of performance etc.

    Cons

    Alot of pressure is in Sales to continually hit targets while the company is going through alot of change with products/services and target market.... sales cycles are getting longer and longer but still with monthly quota's its harder and harder to keep being successful. Salaries are lower than market average, and the awesome culture is slowly getting less and less.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2019-03-29

    Rackspace Response

    May 6, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Hi Racker - we pride ourselves on competitively compensating our Rackers and creating an amazing work environment. As such, it sounds like you have some ideas on how we can be even better. We encourage you to reach out to rackerexperience@rackspace.com with your ideas.

  9. "marketing"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Texas
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good management engaging culture

    Cons

    no career advancement opportunities

    Rackspace2019-03-16

    Rackspace Response

    April 26, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks so much! We pride ourselves on our career advancement process, and frequently open roles internally first so we can promote from within. We're sorry to hear you did not feel this experience. Glad to hear you found our culture engaging!

  10. Helpful (1)

    "work experience"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time

    Pros

    great culture, amazing team, family

    Cons

    busy work environment, could pay more

    Rackspace2019-01-22

    Rackspace Response

    January 23, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks, Racker!

Found 1701 reviews