Rackspace Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Rackspace Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1467 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Rackspace CEO Kevin Jones
Kevin Jones
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Frontline Rackers are like family(in 125 reviews)

  • "Relevant offerings and great culture(in 119 reviews)

Cons
  • "Now, almost every single one of the SLT members are an external hire which sends signals to all current Rackers to leave if you want to move up(in 108 reviews)

  • "Incompetent middle-management pits employeees against one another as opposed to fixing problems(in 66 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The best place I ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - amazing culture and smart people, truly live up to company values - due to the above some great talent there and personally had the best manager that furthered my growth and development - Exciting industry to be in. The business constantly adapts and re-evaluates what's happening in the market which makes this a fast-paced and never boring place

    Cons

    -limited progression opportunities in certain business areas

    Advice to Management

    make sure you are able to maintain culture so you can retain talent

    Rackspace2018-10-22

    Rackspace Response

    October 22, 2018Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you so much for the feedback! It's Rackers like yourself that have helped us place on the Best Places to Work list in Australia numerous times. Best of luck on your new adventure.

  2. "Great Place to Work, but not as good as it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Sydney
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture and benefits like gym membership, health & life insurance, quarterly fun budgets and company wide fun events. Very supportive in personal development. Flexible work/life balance to allow work from home. Management are great leaders and are involved at all levels of the business and proactively check in on everyone and are there to support you. There is full transparency so everyone in the business...

    Show More

    Cons

    Alot of pressure is in Sales to continually hit targets while the company is going through alot of change with products/services and target market.... sales cycles are getting longer and longer but still with monthly quota's its harder and harder to keep being successful. Salaries are lower than market average, and the awesome culture is slowly getting less and less.

    Advice to Management

    Culture needs to be maintained, or if you are going to let it slide you should keep up salaries with the market average.

    Rackspace2019-03-29

    Rackspace Response

    May 6, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Hi Racker - we pride ourselves on competitively compensating our Rackers and creating an amazing work environment. As such, it sounds like you have some ideas on how we can be even better. We encourage you to reach out to rackerexperience@rackspace.com with your ideas.

  3. "marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Texas
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    good management engaging culture

    Cons

    no career advancement opportunities

    Rackspace2019-03-16

    Rackspace Response

    April 26, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks so much! We pride ourselves on our career advancement process, and frequently open roles internally first so we can promote from within. We're sorry to hear you did not feel this experience. Glad to hear you found our culture engaging!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Rackspace full-time

      Pros

      great culture, amazing team, family

      Cons

      busy work environment, could pay more

      Rackspace2019-01-22

      Rackspace Response

      January 23, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

      Thanks, Racker!

    • Helpful (5)

      "Not the Rackspace I knew"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Rackspace

      Pros

      Peers , benefits, location of office

      Cons

      Only about the sale - not the rackers and success post sale Transparent on positives not reality High attrition rate Perfect for Drinkers/Single /Childless staff

      Advice to Management

      Go back to your values , be diverse , be flexible , be the old Rackspace

      Rackspace2018-08-05

      Rackspace Response

      August 6, 2018Global Talent Brand Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We encourage you to learn more about our RackParents resource group – a network of support for working parents internal to Rackspace. In addition, we'd welcome the chance to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "BDM"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Rackspace full-time

      Pros

      - Culture - Benefits - Exposure to many technologies

      Cons

      - Company direction - Requirement to take on duties outside your remit

      Rackspace2018-03-22
    • Helpful (3)

      "Was okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Data Analyst in Sydney
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Fun working environment to begin wth

      Cons

      They didnt give me time to learn anything

      Advice to Management

      Try Harder

      Rackspace2017-08-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "My take"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Rackspace

      Pros

      Great Company, lots of smart people the culture is absolutely amazing

      Cons

      Micro management of every aspect of a project.

      Advice to Management

      Trust your employee's ability

      Rackspace2017-01-27
    • Helpful (3)

      "Too many changes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      work with a lot of smart people, fun budget for Christmas Not much office politics and people are overall nice Good name to work for

      Cons

      direction keeps changing, support is not as Fanatical as it states due to staff cannot adopt to the changes Too many overlay and everyone is a manager Certain managers is emotional that rational when dealing with difficult time

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your people and treat them well. better preparation before changes, and again, listen to your people

      Rackspace2016-09-25
    • "Great place to grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Managed Services Consultant in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great people, and most people try to achieve the best customer outcome

      Cons

      Work long hours (but that is my role more than the company)

      Rackspace2016-07-11
    Found 1467 reviews