Rackspace Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Rackspace Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Rackspace CEO Kevin Jones
Kevin Jones
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Frontline Rackers are like family(in 134 reviews)

  • "Relevant offerings and great culture(in 123 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some challenges with silos, but most Rackers genuinely want to help each other(in 120 reviews)

  • "Too many middle management tiers(in 69 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The best place I ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - amazing culture and smart people, truly live up to company values - due to the above some great talent there and personally had the best manager that furthered my growth and development - Exciting industry to be in. The business constantly adapts and re-evaluates what's happening in the market which makes this a fast-paced and never boring place

    Cons

    -limited progression opportunities in certain business areas

    Advice to Management

    make sure you are able to maintain culture so you can retain talent

    Rackspace2018-10-22

    Rackspace Response

    October 22, 2018Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you so much for the feedback! It's Rackers like yourself that have helped us place on the Best Places to Work list in Australia numerous times. Best of luck on your new adventure.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company has found its mojo again yet not without challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The flexibility around when and where you work - Renewed focus since Kevin took over as CEO - Broad and relevant product set

    Cons

    - Management quality is low, not capable of even the basics e.g 1-1’s. - Getting things done for our customers is time consuming, bureaucratic and frustrating. - Tenured staff prompted to management regardless of capabilities

    Advice to Management

    Become leaders and proactively help and develop your staff instead of being invisible until you need something from them.

    Rackspace2019-08-21
  3. "Great Place to Work, but not as good as it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Sydney
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture and benefits like gym membership, health & life insurance, quarterly fun budgets and company wide fun events. Very supportive in personal development. Flexible work/life balance to allow work from home. Management are great leaders and are involved at all levels of the business and proactively check in on everyone and are there to support you. There is full transparency so everyone in the... business is aware of performance etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    Alot of pressure is in Sales to continually hit targets while the company is going through alot of change with products/services and target market.... sales cycles are getting longer and longer but still with monthly quota's its harder and harder to keep being successful. Salaries are lower than market average, and the awesome culture is slowly getting less and less.

    Advice to Management

    Culture needs to be maintained, or if you are going to let it slide you should keep up salaries with the market average.

    Rackspace2019-03-29

    Rackspace Response

    May 6, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Hi Racker - we pride ourselves on competitively compensating our Rackers and creating an amazing work environment. As such, it sounds like you have some ideas on how we can be even better. We encourage you to reach out to rackerexperience@rackspace.com with your ideas.

  4. "marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Texas
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good management engaging culture

    Cons

    no career advancement opportunities

    Rackspace2019-03-16

    Rackspace Response

    April 26, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks so much! We pride ourselves on our career advancement process, and frequently open roles internally first so we can promote from within. We're sorry to hear you did not feel this experience. Glad to hear you found our culture engaging!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time

    Pros

    great culture, amazing team, family

    Cons

    busy work environment, could pay more

    Rackspace2019-01-22

    Rackspace Response

    January 23, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks, Racker!

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Not the Rackspace I knew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace

    Pros

    Peers , benefits, location of office

    Cons

    Only about the sale - not the rackers and success post sale Transparent on positives not reality High attrition rate Perfect for Drinkers/Single /Childless staff

    Advice to Management

    Go back to your values , be diverse , be flexible , be the old Rackspace

    Rackspace2018-08-05

    Rackspace Response

    August 6, 2018Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We encourage you to learn more about our RackParents resource group – a network of support for working parents internal to Rackspace. In addition, we'd welcome the chance to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. We encourage you to share your concerns with your HR contact or email us at rackerexperience@rackspace.com. We will take your feedback and work with the leadership team to identify ways to improve.

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (1)

    "BDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time

    Pros

    - Culture - Benefits - Exposure to many technologies

    Cons

    - Company direction - Requirement to take on duties outside your remit

    Rackspace2018-03-22
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun working environment to begin wth

    Cons

    They didnt give me time to learn anything

    Advice to Management

    Try Harder

    Rackspace2017-08-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "My take"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace

    Pros

    Great Company, lots of smart people the culture is absolutely amazing

    Cons

    Micro management of every aspect of a project.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employee's ability

    Rackspace2017-01-27
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Too many changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work with a lot of smart people, fun budget for Christmas Not much office politics and people are overall nice Good name to work for

    Cons

    direction keeps changing, support is not as Fanatical as it states due to staff cannot adopt to the changes Too many overlay and everyone is a manager Certain managers is emotional that rational when dealing with difficult time

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people and treat them well. better preparation before changes, and again, listen to your people

    Rackspace2016-09-25
Found 1555 reviews