Rackspace Technology Employee Reviews about "rackers"

Updated Nov 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 286 of over 2,993 reviews

3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Rackspace Technology CEO Kevin Jones
Kevin Jones
721 Ratings
Pros
  • "Transparent Organization with focus on work life balance(in 188 reviews)

  • "Expanding in india quiet expenentially by hiring many Rackers each months(in 180 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Everything Good at Rackspace no downsides(in 321 reviews)

  • "Most of the people who made up the great company (orignal Rackers) have left or are leaving the company(in 150 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "rackers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A place you can bring your true self to work

      May 10, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      With a tenure exceeding five years, this is the longest I've been with any company. I like that I can bring my true, authentic self to work every day and not be judged by who I am. In fact, at Rackspace, we celebrate everyone's unique strengths, passions, values, experiences, skills and perspectives! Rackspace has also been extra supportive to us Rackers, during the current changes to our normal routine and uncertainty by providing us with a "Racker Wellness Day" (1 additional day of our choice, of paid time off for all Rackers), casual meditation passes in ANZ, resources to Mindfulness and overall Well-being, and regular check ins to make sure we're doing ok and to keep us motivated and updated. Another great initiative that I love is the Global Fitness Challenge and The Spring Into Motion (an 8-week Global Wellness Challenge) to encourage us to stay fit and healthy while WFH.

      Cons

      I often find myself working after hours without realising as I enjoy my job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Best Place to work in a crisis!

      May 4, 2020 - Senior Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      During this uncertain time, instead of clocking us on time spent working, they continue to reach out to check if we're OK. They have provided a Mental Health Day to be taken when we want and organizing to ship each Racker masks for themselves and their family. The teams are providing weekly check-in's to keep morale up and the Racker community has never been stronger.

      Cons

      No company is perfect but the good outweighs the bad here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Not the Rackspace I knew

      Aug 5, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Peers , benefits, location of office

      Cons

      Only about the sale - not the rackers and success post sale Transparent on positives not reality High attrition rate Perfect for Drinkers/Single /Childless staff

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Rackspace Technology Response

      Global Talent Brand Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We encourage you to learn more about our RackParents resource group – a network of support for working parents internal to Rackspace. In addition, we'd welcome the chance to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. We encourage you to share your concerns with your HR contact or email us at rackerexperience@rackspace.com. We will take your feedback and work with the leadership team to identify ways to improve.

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Directionless shell of formerly great company

      Nov 9, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was an excellent place to learn and grow a few years ago. The folks below VP/C-levels are smart and know what they are doing, but don’t have any power.

      Cons

      Leadership goals are short-sighted and selfish. The overall company strategy is aimless. Collaborative atmosphere disappearing as teams are more and more siloed. Attrition is really poor; most tenured Rackers who made the company what it was have left, and folks keep leaving in waves. Transparency is completely gone; leadership crafts narratives as they see fit, but don’t seem to realize investors and any employees who have been there longer than a year are not fooled. Employees are stretched thin and underpaid, with decreasing job security as more roles are offshores. Company is trying to solve for poor business strategy and subpar profitability with low wages.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Stretched Thin

      Oct 30, 2021 - Senior Customer Success Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great stepping stone For a career in IT/Tech - Compensation becoming more competitive

      Cons

      - Layoffs to best shore work while executives taking in huge stock bonuses. Observe March stock payouts correlating with layoffs. - Support resources stretched thin, stacking the deck against account teams to provide fanatical support - Too many experienced Rackers leaving or laid off, leaving their roles/responsibilities to their new and/or inexperienced replacement. - Bloated management is out of touch with the impact of their senior leadership’s poor decisions. Failed to facilitate the success of their teams in a timely manner.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Supportive culture and exciting future

      Oct 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredibly supportive management and colleagues, very friendly environment, good benefits. Lots of work, but the days flow by and it's enjoyable. There is a lot of change and transformation happening, and of course that can be hectic and takes time to work through, but it's all being done for the right reasons. Very exciting move towards multi cloud and professional services, which positions the company in a great spot for the future, and creates many opportunities for existing and new 'Rackers'. Really supportive environment for women with a great CPO and Diversity lead who continue to win awards for their work.

      Cons

      It can get really busy with all the changes going on.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A sinking ship with NO direction.

      Nov 17, 2021 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Health Benefits have gotten worse - 401k plan has gotten worse - 180 PTO hours are unusable if you want to hit your quota - We are a public company but no stock for incoming Rackers - We have a slide

      Cons

      - Many San Antonio’s know Rackspace as a great place to work. That culture is long gone. - Company still boasts about the Rackspace of 2000-2008. Hasn’t been great since. - Imagine Fyre fest but as a company. - The cycle of the revolving door of leadership continues with little impact of positive change. - Extremely underpaid for the industry. - Poor sales dept and terrible on the support side - A lot of customers will leave because there is such an internal mess. They constantly get new reps and account managers and some customers haven’t been talked to in years. they do seem to get their bill no problem though... - Quotas are too high! poor path of career development. - The best sellers are consistently leaving because they are underpaid and promises are left unkept - This company finds ways to bend the numbers each month - Rackspace wants to be something it’s not. A leader in the tech industry. - 50/50 base commission. - Low base pay. - ELT has is money hungry and only wants to see profits and revenue. - If you’re in a salaried role don’t expect a bonus unless you’re a VP or above. - Weak leadership across the board. - CEO often described as hostile in leadership meetings. - HUGE layoffs in 2021 with many teams outsourced to Mexico and India. - After layoffs reported huge profits due to the fact of not having to pay former employees for the remainder of 2021. - Too many silos across cross-functional teams. - Rackspace is agnostic but often self-sabotages itself in deals with competing hyperscaler platform teams (AWS,GCP,Azure). - Acquired companies don’t get along due to a lack of process and ROE. - Attrition far ABOVE industry standards even with the “great resignation of 2021” - Over-work their best employees with the promise of a brighter tomorrow. - Will most likely force their employees back into the office early 2021. - RXT is a company that doesn’t know what it wants to be and gets overshadowed by it’s partners/competitors. - No care for its people. They only care about the stock price. - This company is hanging on by a thread and hoping to be acquired by AWS. - The reality of the fact is that this one of the few tech companies in San Antonio but it doesn’t compete with similar ones up in Austin. - This will be the hardest working job you’ve ever had. Best to avoid.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Such a shame

      Nov 15, 2021 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is still a very small number of Rackers remaining who understand what the culture used to be like and are trying (in vain) to look after what remains of the customer base.

      Cons

      When I joined we had an amazing team of high performing diverse individuals who worked hard to support customers. Unfortunately by the time I left of the 8 people in my original team I was the 6th to leave. Let me be clear these were not underperforming sales people who the business was managing out, quite the opposite in-fact! All have moved because of the toxicity of the culture brought in by the IBM management team and the lack of any understanding they have of the current market. To describe these managers as dinosaurs would be offensive to a species that existed for millions of years only to be destroyed by a completely unavoidable event. No this lot are actively and knowingly destroying a once great company under the so called guise of "transformation and best shoring". There is nothing transformative in moving skilled labour to lower cost parts of world and then being surprised in the obvious customer satisfaction drops. This however is not the biggest issue with the "New Rackspace" which is (as described in a number of previous reviews) the Toxic culture. I accept that is a strong word but in this scenario maybe not strong enough. I have heard of senior management making comments such as "well just fire him then" and "drive to his house if he doesn't answer the phone". The obvious response they will offer is that change is painful and people cant hack it but that assumes the people who have left haven't progressed their careers (which they have) and their replacements are stronger, which there aren't any so that also can't be the case. All in all it is a real shame that a once brilliant company has been totally ripped apart to fill the pension pots of some IBM old boys and a few of their mates.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Friends don't let friends work at Rackspace

      Oct 17, 2021 - Senior Cloud Engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I struggle to think of one.

      Cons

      - Once epic company culture was Kevin's capital to get the company back on the NYSE and is now completely gone. - The company was renamed to Rackspace Technology but they haven't invested in developing any technology since OpenStack 10 years ago. They have no product, the only value the company has is the sum total knowledge and experience of its employees. - ... and employees, particularly most of the experienced ones have now left the company - my team has had ~80% yearly employee attrition rate for the past 3 years - employee retention was so bad 3 years ago that it forced the company to change its internal marketing strategy. On one of the slides shown in an all hands session was a photo of 4 senior Rackers taken a month prior. 3 of the 4 for had left by the time of the presentation. At this point the company switched to using stock photos exclusively. - some reviews mention life-work balance but in my experience people are routinely "volunteered" for overtime both in day-to-day and holiday cover - salaries well below market level - one of the constant feedback Rackers have been giving is that there's not enough personal development time. In 2019 the SLT has announced with fanfare a new programme of 52h/year for PD. Then someone in the audience asked if that was on top of the 4h/week that was already in place. It wasn't. Turns out that the Chief People Officer wasn't aware of the 4h/week. So in the end the response to employees' need for more opportunities to upskill was to cut these opportunities by 75%. The programme was still advertised as a great success internally though. - Given a problem to solve you will be forced to use the most basic solution possible. That's because your manager will need to to be exchangeable with any of your colleagues so if there's someone on your team that doesn't know, say, Python you will not be allowed to code a Python script, you'll have to do things manually. We called this approach the Least Common Demotivator. - While other IT companies will offer multiple benefits, Rackspace has a novel approach to this issue. There once was a time when the company offered free drinks, snacks or gym memberships. These are now gone. Some time ago they instituted a "common framework" for benefits across all offices. Under the guise of making access to benefits fair they eliminated all of them. So, the Amsterdam office has no onsite gym? That's unfair, we'll be closing the onsite gym in London. And then they open a new office in, say, Bangaluru with no employee benefits at all.

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Top Class and Professional

      Sep 21, 2021 - Software Developer in Hyderābād
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Overall it's an amazing experience, from onboarding till on job facilitation was simply fabulous and well organized - Compassion and Agility is in the blood of rackers, with whomnever I interacted in TES and HR team - Handful of opportunities to explore and learn on cloud platform - Highly professional and well organized, in presenting and executing their thoughts

      Cons

      - Too early to call out anything.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 286 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Rackspace Technology Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Rackspace Technology? Share Your Experiences

    Rackspace Technology logo
    or