Radancy Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 498 reviews

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Radancy President & CEO Michelle Abbey
Michelle Abbey
275 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work/life balance and benefits(in 43 reviews)

  • "The Paris office has great people and a supportive management(in 25 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sadly the blame falls on these people instead of upper management where it belongs(in 19 reviews)

  • "The work/life balance was pretty lopsided to be honest(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      No accountability

      Aug 1, 2020 - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good PTO. Work life balance can be ok.

      Cons

      Their products are terrible. Account services teams spend most of their time covering up for the mistakes made by other departments while telling the clients how wonderful everything is. Mistakes costing hundreds of thousands of dollars happen frequently because junior level people are not given proper training and/or they are stretched so thin that they make mistakes. Sadly the blame falls on these people instead of upper management where it belongs. Micromanagement is an understatement for TMP. Even the most senior level people will try to meddle in the most routine daily tasks. Some VPs are too casual with employees and (pre-COVID) would routinely get drunk with them after work which led to very blurry lines of responsibility back in the office. Favoritism runs rampant. The more you suck up, the more job security you have. Training is non-existent. Sure, you are given a lot of videos to watch when you first start which are a giant waste of time. Last year the ENTIRE middle-management team quit within six weeks of each other. That was a huge red flag that senior management seems to have ignored.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Think hard before working here

      Mar 29, 2019 - Account Director in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      innovative technology and new ideas

      Cons

      no work life balance, meetings at 9 pm, poor upper management, lack of support, lack of maturity from leadership, and favors certain types of employees over others

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good people but no room for growth

      Oct 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice teammates, good team support, easy work

      Cons

      No room for growth, petty coworkers & gossip. CEO is never around to show support for what she is doing to grow the company. Bonuses and promotions only benefit upper management.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Last resort

      Sep 18, 2018 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place for entry level.

      Cons

      Very political environment. Ultimately you're just there to fill a seat. If you're a strong performer, or doing nothing, it doesn't matter. It all boils down to politics. Middle managers throw employees under the bus during semi-anual layoff cycle. They rarely get touched, or take on any actual responsibility. They are all scared of losing their jobs and refuse to take risks or even commit to simple asks unless upper management throws them on the fire.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Content Manager

      Nov 16, 2017 - Content Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Agency Environment is great *The people you work with become your family * High profile accounts * Access to amazing research * 40th floor * Flexibility to WFH when needed *Great PTO Movement within company

      Cons

      *Upper Management never listens * They don't promote from within even though they claim you are qualified *underpaid, over worked *upper management is power hungry and doesn't listen to employee feedback Upper Management favors certain employees which leads to terrible performace *no training

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Do NOT Apply

      Oct 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      To be 100% honest I can't think of one positive thing to say about this company.

      Cons

      Upper management has no connection to lower level staff and they don't care. Low starting salaries and raises are non-existent Very little opportunity for advancement Long hours and very little work-life balance.

      16 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      You Deserve Better...

      Oct 11, 2017 - Content Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I first started at TMP the pros were: Flexible work from home policy, PTO (21 days), every other Friday off in the summer, team happy hours and outings, casual office, awesome city views. Since the company restructured their teams they took away the work remote option (though they still list it on current job listings as a perk.), and Summer Fridays are every other week you get out of work at 2pm. There are some truly great people at TMP- all lower level employees who deserve better…

      Cons

      This review is speaking only about the content team, I heard things about other teams, but I was not on them therefore I cannot speak to their problems. First, this team is full of talented and creative people who are so overloaded with work that none of their creative ideas can be heard, in short they’re under-utilizing the talent that is right in front of them. The turnover is ridiculous because people are tired of feeling overworked and underappreciated/underpaid. The problem is that TMP doesn’t understand how to market or utilize the content team to make their business grow. It is very sad because content is such an important part to a client’s overall strategy. Recent changes in management and team structure have created a system where members of the content team are mercilessly micromanaged and asked for a million things every second by multiple clients at a time (this is where the overworked part comes into play). How are employees supposed to deliver quality work when the deadlines and asks aren’t reasonable? Any pushback is met with attitude and assumed laziness on the part of the overworked employee. In addition to all the client work you are given, you are also expected to help newer employees who are still learning the ropes, which wouldn’t be an issue IF you weren’t so busy already. So new employees come in and aren’t trained and then things are done wrong and you are blamed – if TMP would adopt some sort of training plan to get new employees a solid understanding of their responsibilities that could solve a number of issues. TMPs attempt at a solution with this problem was to hire 4 managers to oversee teams of 1-5 people, except the issue was they had people who already existed on the teams who could have done that for them, so instead of promoting the talent the already have they brought in new people who also needed to be trained. And the new managers were trying so hard to balance everything they have to do with managing people that it didn’t help at all. There is also the issue of management. Upper management is so far removed from everyday life of their lower level employee’s and they have no idea what is going on “in the trenches”. Good luck getting any help from them. I met Michelle Abbey (CEO) one time and I genuinely liked her and felt as though she was listening to our concerns – but then nothing happened and no solutions were implemented. She asked us why the turnover rate on our team was so astronomical (17 people left within the time I worked there) and we told her the truth, but at this point I wonder if it’s beyond saving. I know this seems like a rant, but I only say this with the hopes that someone who “matters” will see this and maybe something can change for the content team.

      Continue reading
      20 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Proceed with caution

      Jun 10, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to start a career to meet great people and get 4 weeks of vacation from the start.

      Cons

      If you get to middle management your life will be miserable thanks to upper management. Decisions are dictated from above without any input from those actually impacted by them, and people are put in management positions that have no experience or qualifications for the role. Management populated by incompetent "lifers" that have survived by doing nothing more than what they're told. And because the lifers are in management, there hasn't been a new idea here in decades. And oh yeah, the pay is way below industry.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Stepping Stone

      Apr 10, 2017 - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great colleagues and supportive network -Good work life balance for agency life -Exposure to many different marketing elements including: Sales, project management, and media planning

      Cons

      -Very little room for advancement (Promotions and raises only come once a year and if you miss it, you're stuck waiting till the following year.) - Not enough support and understanding from upper management - Many of the perks that made up for the decent salary were taken away in the last year (lunches, vendor visits, company outings)

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Sinking Ship

      Feb 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - 21 PTOs - High profile clients - Great coworkers who feel your pain and desire to jump the sinking ship - Flexible work hours, work from home, summer Fridays - This kind of work environment is for people who know how to work hard and play hard - The ability to take ownership of your work and see it succeed whether you're a marketer or manager

      Cons

      This review is specifically for the Inbound Marketing Team in the Chicago office. During my time at TMP, half my team had quit or been fired. Even when we had a full team (in the eyes of corporate), we were chronically understaffed causing many people to work too many hours (work through lunch). On top of the burnout, we were always told to work only 40 hours, so that meant we’re not producing quality work for any of our clients. As a team, it would've been really great if we had experts from Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Glassdoor come in every 6 months to give us tips and tricks. With no one's education actually in content marketing, it was always a DIY situation where we learned as we go. Unfortunately, many of TMP’s upper management (esp. account teams) have type A, dominant personalities (my way or the highway), so they're VERY good at belittling you, being degrading, and manipulating you. My boss also had many of these characteristics, but I want to give him the benefit of the doubt that he had to be like this to survive at TMP. I think the most disappointing thing for me was that my boss made you really believe that he had your back, but there were way too many times that he didn't. There were too many contradictions from him. And whenever we brought this up, he got mad. (Why does this sound like an abusive relationship?) Worst of all, TMP has made us all believe this is what every company is like and we need to suck it up. THIS IS A LIE. There are so many companies that are ethical, respectful, and care so much about the employees. I'm at a company right now that treats me with so much respect, cares about my growth, and there is no gossip or throwing each other under the bus. When the Inbound Team reads this review, I’m sure there will be gossip, trying to decipher who wrote this review. I’m sure our boss will have assumptions and share his anger with the team, because that’s what he always does. It was always childish and rude. Please prove me wrong. Use this as a chance to see there's so many things wrong with the team and TMP and take this as a chance to grow and change. I'm sad to say when people ask me about a bad work experience, TMP is the first company I think of.

      Continue reading
      25 people found this review helpful

      Radancy Response

      VP, Marketing & Internal Communications

      We're so sorry your experience with TMP was not up to par. You have identified a number of issues within the department of which we are aware and which we have been addressing through a variety of means, including your advice. We have changed the leadership of the team in question, as well as restructured the department overall. In addition, we've just added several seats to this particular team to improve the workload balance for all. Thank you for your candor. We wish you the best in your next endeavor!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

    Work at Radancy? Share Your Experiences

    Radancy logo
    or