Ramsay Health Care Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Ramsay Health Care Reviews

Updated 20 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Craig McNally
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Helpful caring good environment nice people around(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some senior management have been promoted above their skillset(in 3 reviews)

  • "5-10 mins longer on lunch break, irrelevant things only inept managers will pick on(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ramsay Health Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great salary great benefits top facilities supportive management

    Cons

    Shiftwork can cause you to be a little rundown

    Ramsay Health Care2019-06-15
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Port Macquarie
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Ramsay Health Care part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Patients are lovely.

    Cons

    Sweeping staff cuts have meant the remaining staff are expected/required to work beyond reasonable load. Severe man-hour reductions in place.

    Advice to Management

    Review work loads and/or staff allocated to more reasonable levels.

    Ramsay Health Care2019-06-20
  3. "Enjoyable 5+ years, great support from leadership team. Good salary, unfortunately building was old & overhaul required."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Manager in Strathfield
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ramsay Health Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for, excellent systems and training in place, great support and structures for staff that are proactive and willing to get off their backsides. Salary is good depending your skills/department working in.

    Cons

    Negative staff who just come in and constantly whinge and do the "Groundhog Day". Won't motivate themselves to do anything more than what they've done on day 1 whether employed 5, 10, 15 or 25 years. Hospital was very old and it's essential equipment/plant required overhaul especially Ops Theatre space.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to get out on the floor with staff on the frontline, there are alot of good loyal people out there and if you don't get in amongst them and see what they do and the effort they put in then you will lose them elsewhere. Continue to push work/life balance to improve worker satisfaction & longevity. Feed the busy, hard-working Maintenance Dept.

    Ramsay Health Care2019-04-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "changed culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ramsay Health Care full-time

    Pros

    floor staff are great

    Cons

    Leadership is poor in exec management , bean counters run everything.

    Advice to Management

    Value your staff and demonstrate leadership... stop focusing on KPI's and focus on people caring for people the financial rewards will come .

    Ramsay Health Care2019-04-04
  5. "Great team, friendly workplace, reasonable pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ramsay Health Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work options, supportive team and great culture.

    Cons

    Profit driven which can put undue pressure on wards from time to time.

    Ramsay Health Care2019-02-24
  6. "Ramsay health care review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ramsay Health Care part-time

    Pros

    Very good management and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Very hard to move up and get promoted

    Advice to Management

    Allow more room for career growth and progression

    Ramsay Health Care2019-02-18
  7. "Northside Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ramsay Health Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Front line staff are awesome and save the company

    Cons

    Dreadful nurse patient ratios (10-1) Micromanaged by CEO Senior managers promoted above skill set

    Advice to Management

    Improve nurse patient ratios Stop micromanaging Employ managers with the right personal and professional ethics and skills

    Ramsay Health Care2019-01-29
  8. "Payroll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ramsay Health Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpful caring good environment nice people around

    Cons

    Overtime working loading,very low wages and sometimes can be very stressful

    Advice to Management

    Improve the work loading and wages

    Ramsay Health Care2018-12-10
  9. "Worse than I expected, but okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ramsay Health Care part-time

    Pros

    My pay contract is very good and above what I would have offered myself. It is a mental health hospital so you feel like you are helping people in dire need.

    Cons

    There is next to no care for staff. A lot of neglect of staff wellbeing but there are no avenues to communicate that to upper management or HR. The large distance between upper management and day-to-day operations means that upper management is always keen to load more work/projects and cut staff benefits to save money. I go to work for my team, not for the business, and my team has a lot of stories of how staff are overlooked....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please please please create dedicated processes to monitor and action staff wellbeing, and create more robust policy around the procedure to care for staff wellbeing after crisis events instead of "do you wanna take an early lunch"

    Ramsay Health Care2018-10-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Information Services Clerk in Tugun
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ramsay Health Care part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff. Good training, great canteen.

    Cons

    To much undermined bullying and ganging up on people. Over working staff to the point of frustration and confusion. Too much is expected of one person to do. The psychological abuse I endured was unfair. I confronted them about bullying and they terminated my employment. They did not help me.

    Advice to Management

    Not bully your staff

    Ramsay Health Care2018-11-17
Found 75 reviews