Rebel Sport Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Rebel Sport Reviews

Updated 14 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 62 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Rebel Sport CEO Peter Birtles
Peter Birtles
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "sales targets can make it competitive(in 5 reviews)

  • "Store management controlled heavily by higher authority (head office)(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good organisation to good for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Team Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rebel Sport part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -good pay -good benefits -great environment and people

    Cons

    -sales targets can make it competitive

    Rebel Sport2019-06-18
  2. "Chilled out job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Rebel Sport

    Pros

    The co-workers you meet there are very approachable and outgoing.

    Cons

    Managers care too much about hitting targets

    Rebel Sport2019-08-14
  3. "Great Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Storeperson 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rebel Sport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    SRG company wide discount at Rebel, BCF, SuperCheap Auto, MacPac/Rays is excellent. Great training opportunities Opportunities to progress in company

    Cons

    Regional opportunities to progress are limited. Cliquey management circle Some management across stores have a superiority complex towards non-managers

    Rebel Sport2019-07-14
  4. "Good, but improvement is necessary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Team Member in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rebel Sport part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Staff discount - Often work alongside people that have a passion for sport - Given opportunity to develop your skills within your store - (My) Management made me feel valued and appreciated - Management encourages employees to live their passion outside work

    Cons

    - Lack of career development or progression - Sales targets are unrealistic for quiet periods of trade - Store management controlled heavily by higher authority (head office)

    Advice to Management

    - Management a bit, Pale, Male and Stale. I'm a white man with conservative political views but management at all levels needs females to improve ideas and execution of strategy.

    Rebel Sport2019-06-21
  5. "Good workplace, management could be improved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends

    I have been working at Rebel Sport part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good workplace environment, relaxed, friendly staff

    Cons

    Communication between different tiers of management is lacking. ie. misalignment between what store manager/ regional manager communicated to staff.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication and alignment of goals between store managers and other managers higher up in organisation. Better communication with staff.

    Rebel Sport2019-06-07
  6. "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rebel Sport part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good environment, great co workers

    Cons

    group interview had too many people

    Rebel Sport2019-05-29
  7. "Experience depends on store manager, will change drastically between stores"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rebel Sport part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team and good company

    Cons

    Can have bad managers which will bring down the experience

    Rebel Sport2019-05-17
  8. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rebel Sport part-time

    Pros

    I love working here, the culture is great, work hours are good. Pays well, and has top quality training !

    Cons

    There are none ! Been there 5 years and have no intention to leave !

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the culture! It’s what makes working at rebel worth it !

    Rebel Sport2019-04-15
  9. "A good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Tuggerah
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rebel Sport full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I got lucky working for rebel. I have a good relationship with my store manager and assistant managers. The team environment is really nice and we all look out for one another. Work is easy enough. Casual rate of pay is pretty good ($27 an hr). Discounts are awesome (Nike and Adidas 20%-30%, Under Armour and Ell & Vuu 50% for example).

    Cons

    Work is tedious and boring during work week. I've worked at a couple of different stores and management mentality/training/engagement is not cohesive from store to store. Management can be very disengaged from the staff and new casuals often feel they are thrown in the deep end. Higher up management say we are world class sales associates but we aren't trained very well. It's like a department store training with small...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to be more involved with the training of staff. You can't hire 16 year olds and leave all the training to the register operators and floor staff. The support for store managers from higher management is not there. Concerns that are raised are never addressed. A casual working in footwear can earn more than a store manager in a week (commission). When you're a store manager who is managing 30-40 staff...

    Show More
    Rebel Sport2019-04-19
  10. "Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rebel Sport part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get Work Environment Good Management

    Cons

    Sales Targets are hard

    Rebel Sport2019-03-22
Found 62 reviews