Rebel Sport Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Rebel Sport Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Rebel Sport CEO Peter Birtles
Peter Birtles
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good organisation to good for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Team Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rebel Sport part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -good pay -good benefits -great environment and people

    Cons

    -sales targets can make it competitive

    Rebel Sport2019-06-18
  2. "Good workplace, management could be improved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends

    I have been working at Rebel Sport part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good workplace environment, relaxed, friendly staff

    Cons

    Communication between different tiers of management is lacking. ie. misalignment between what store manager/ regional manager communicated to staff.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication and alignment of goals between store managers and other managers higher up in organisation. Better communication with staff.

    Rebel Sport2019-06-07
  3. "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rebel Sport part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good environment, great co workers

    Cons

    group interview had too many people

    Rebel Sport2019-05-29
  4. "Experience depends on store manager, will change drastically between stores"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rebel Sport part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team and good company

    Cons

    Can have bad managers which will bring down the experience

    Rebel Sport2019-05-17
  5. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rebel Sport part-time

    Pros

    I love working here, the culture is great, work hours are good. Pays well, and has top quality training !

    Cons

    There are none ! Been there 5 years and have no intention to leave !

    Advice to Management

    Maintain the culture! It’s what makes working at rebel worth it !

    Rebel Sport2019-04-15
  6. "A good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Tuggerah
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rebel Sport full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I got lucky working for rebel. I have a good relationship with my store manager and assistant managers. The team environment is really nice and we all look out for one another. Work is easy enough. Casual rate of pay is pretty good ($27 an hr). Discounts are awesome (Nike and Adidas 20%-30%, Under Armour and Ell & Vuu 50% for example).

    Cons

    Work is tedious and boring during work week. I've worked at a couple of different stores and management mentality/training/engagement is not cohesive from store to store. Management can be very disengaged from the staff and new casuals often feel they are thrown in the deep end. Higher up management say we are world class sales associates but we aren't trained very well. It's like a department store training with small...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to be more involved with the training of staff. You can't hire 16 year olds and leave all the training to the register operators and floor staff. The support for store managers from higher management is not there. Concerns that are raised are never addressed. A casual working in footwear can earn more than a store manager in a week (commission). When you're a store manager who is managing 30-40 staff...

    Show More
    Rebel Sport2019-04-19
  7. "Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rebel Sport part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get Work Environment Good Management

    Cons

    Sales Targets are hard

    Rebel Sport2019-03-22
  8. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Rebel Sport part-time

      Pros

      Very good company to work with - good environment

      Cons

      Alot of workers - alot to manage because very big stores

      Rebel Sport2019-03-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great starting base"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Rebel Sport part-time

      Pros

      Really good place to learn people skills

      Cons

      Give more shifts to people who deserve it

      Rebel Sport2019-02-13
    • "Rebel Sports"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Rebel Sport

      Pros

      -Sporting/fitness lifestyle -staff discounts (quite reasonable)

      Cons

      - typical retail job -better management

      Advice to Management

      - management needs to be more productive, involved and organized.

      Rebel Sport2018-12-21
    Found 54 reviews