Redington Ltd. Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Redington Ltd. Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Redington Ltd. CEO Mitesh Sheth (no image)
Mitesh Sheth
3 Ratings
  1. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Redington Ltd. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly forward thinking and friendly culture, a lot of responsibility early on.

    Cons

    Can be long hours, depending on work load.

    Redington Ltd.2019-04-27
  2. "Great place to work and not your typical Finance Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Redington Ltd. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is very open with employees. The people and culture are great and they are always looking for ways to improve. The company is perfectly sized so that you can get to know everyone working there. The technology stack is cutting edge. Adopting an agile way of working with technical projects. Employee development as a new starter is excellent, you are given support and time to get up to speed. The... company is fully setup for remote working; because of their offices in London, China and Bristol you often have people dialed into meetings from other locations. Offices are excellent and in great locations. The whole office closes over Christmas.

    Show More

    Cons

    Currently Redington do not have a QA department, this will become a necessity soon as the business takes on more clients using their software and product development. A cloud infrastructure specialist (AWS/Azure/CI) would benefit the technical team to free up developers to work more on development project work. Having a specialist maintaining and improving their continuous integration and deployment systems... would mean that this system area does not become a bottleneck for the technical department.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and continue to ask questions of yourself. The way you do 360 reviews and the fact that these are continuous and not just a once a year process are great. Continue to engage with employees and where possible, keep the company small.

    Redington Ltd.2019-03-12
  3. "A great growth business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Redington Ltd. full-time

    Pros

    Redington has seen year on year growth since inception and has been very successful in its core domain. It is now actively expanding into new domains and new business lines as a way of diversifying revenue. This means that it is a very exciting time to be involved in the business and there are lots of interesting initiatives (especially in relation to global business lines and technology). This feeling of... excitement is noticeable among the team and the general mood in the office is engaged and interested. Redington has done a great job of hiring smart people and growing its in house talent meaning that the team is full of high quality people who are great at what they do. They are also very open to sharing and supporting learning for others in the firm. The business is very flat in the way it is run and staff of all levels of seniority are encouraged to speak out and share their opinions. The culture that it portrays as a young challenger business within its industry is accurate and it would be a good fit for purpose led individuals and those that are happy challenging the status quo.

    Show More

    Cons

    As a growth business, there are often challenging deadlines across the business. The typical quarterly cycle of the DB pensions landscape can compound these deadlines leading to very business period of time, especially in the core business areas. There have been some key staff changes in the last 12 months which has been a challenge in terms of having clear accountability and ownership for key tasks within the... business. This has been addressed and now there is increased clarity and transparency in the way the business is managed. In the past the company has been keen to pursue new ideas and opportunities which has led to a lack of focus in some areas. Last year there was a qualification process to ensure the firm reduced the time spent on non core activities. This has helped to bring focus back into the business.

    Show More
    Redington Ltd.2019-03-11
  4. "Great culture, flexible, autonomous and supportive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Redington Ltd. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great values, lovely people, supportive culture (both professionally and personally)

    Cons

    The direction isn't always clear and changes too frequently.

    Advice to Management

    Autonomy still needs clear direction.

    Redington Ltd.2019-03-19
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Successful company with a lot of internal issues to fix"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Redington Ltd. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Redington has been great company last 5+ years, with a lot of business success, a premium brand and a very good standing in the industry, but things have gone downhill recently and growth has highlighted a number of chronic internal issues which now need fixing. Above rating is forward looking where there are much more challenges. For junior roles, probably still a great place to be: good clients, challenging work... and a good environment albeit a little lacking in support and structured development (it’s more or less sink or swim so you need to be a self starter) and some of the stellar career trajectories of times past won’t be available going forward. Positives Great clients, meaningful work, great position in industry Nice office Generally inquisitive and smart people Good environment for learning (if you are a self starter) Fairly flat structure Lots of recent business success

    Show More

    Cons

    For more senior roles I think you need to think twice. It is a political environment - you need to spend a lot of time managing your image (with the CEO, the Exco, board, founders and other senior individuals), favourites matter and they shift quickly. There have not been any effective management structures for years so far too much business is done in face to face meetings: leaving management simultaneously somehow... both overburdened and ineffective. Time and effort is wasted on excessive internal presentations, updates and business projections. It is rarely clear who exactly has responsibility or ultimate say-so for a lot of things and there are far too many meaningless committees and important-sounding but empty titles for such a small firm. The management team has changed constantly so not surprisingly nobody is on the same page. At the end of the day 3 different people are trying to run the firm, and there have been far too many conflicting signals on what the priorities are, and a lot of flip-flopping from one area of focus to another. Recent turnover and retrenchment will definitely mean that some areas will be running short on resources and experience for a while which will create issues. There is a high proportion of people in their first job which creates a bit of naivety around the place, and there are very few experienced people with decent tenure at the firm, creating a lack of institutional knowledge. There does tend to be too much of a hero/superstar mentality in the culture generally which affect reward and the way work gets done, and underplays the necessary teamwork implicit in what the firm does. Negatives Political (you need to spend a lot of time managing your internal image to progress at more senior levels) Facetime culture (the firm is run on one to one face to face meetings, which can be exhausting, chaotic and inefficient) A lot of recent turnover and retrenchment means a lack of resources and experience where it is needed Dysfunctional relationships between management and board (results in lots of wasted time/conflicting and changing signals of what to focus on/gridlock on new ideas and ventures).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    End the slick powerpoint updates and endless spinning/”landing” of narratives and have some real talk with people - be consistent and genuine Settle who is running the firm, fix toxic relationships between management and board so this can function like grown-ups. stick to a stable management structure and make it work End the culture of managing by face to face meetings: it is exhausting and inefficient Learn how... to say “no” to things and focus Get over yourselves: end the silly groupthink and reality distortion that has led to such dumb decisions and bring some common sense to how the firm is managed Actually put the purpose (100m people financially secure) at the centre of the strategy - if you are serious about it - rather than pay lip service

    Show More
    Redington Ltd.2019-01-21

    Redington Ltd. Response

    January 24, 2019

    We really appreciate your feedback - Mitesh Sheth (Redington CEO) has prepared the below response; "Thank you for the feedback. I'm grateful for the time and effort you have put into writing this. Whilst I don’t agree with it all, as some of your comments seem particular to your specific context and personality, you make some really good points and observations. There is some really valuable feedback here that we need to hear. You may be pleased to know that since you left the organisation we have made significant progress against these, for example: • As you have noted, I also felt over the past few years that with a growing number of senior and tenured staff (given such a low rate of turnover), we risked being too comfortable and suffering from group-think. Recent promotions have seen younger leaders, departures and lateral hires into mid and senior levels has not been easy for some of our long serving members of staff, but has refreshed the business. We are continuing to hire diverse talent across the business to ensure we have the right people in the right roles. • I am very proud of our personal, face-to- face and relational culture, but this won’t be for everyone. It takes time to build relationships, and requires self-awareness and emotional intelligence. We are a business that really cares about our people, and is committed to ensuring they have a say in how we run the firm. As we continue to grow the team in Bristol and Beijing, as well as support those remotely working from Holland and Poland, we need to continue to balance our preference for face-to-face communication with multi-location connectivity - this is a work in-progress. • I have sat down with each member of staff to have an open dialogue about what’s on their mind, hear their advice, identify their career aspirations and understand what keeps them at Redington. One of the biggest themes was that our people really value the trust, autonomy, flexibility and early responsibility placed upon them. This environment may not work as well for those who want to be directed. Having said that, we are investing in mentoring, line management and training to support career development across the firm. • We have worked hard over the past couple of years to carefully transition the business from a co-founder led entrepreneurial UK startup to an employee owned, medium sized, global diversified business. This is a notoriously difficult transition and we are all over-the-moon to be on the other side of it. We conducted lots of experiments, tried various structures, so that we could learn fast, adapt and make quick changes. I know this pace of change has been difficult for some. • We are pleased to have clarified decision making authorities and simplified our day-to-day governance structure. One of our co-founders has moved on to a new job (and remains a NED on our Board) and the other co-founder is taking on various other external roles, retaining his role as Chair of the Redington Board. In the meantime, ExCo and I have full authority to run the business within the overall 3-year strategy we have signed off with the Board. This is a great outcome for everyone and it brings real clarity and ownership for senior leaders. It has taken a couple of years to achieve as we wanted to ensure we built a foundation of trust, relationship and experience together. • To your final point one of our analysts has created a ‘self-managed team’ to define, measure and report on our purpose to make 100m people financially secure - watch this space. I agree that our purpose needs to front and centre. I’m genuinely disappointed that we weren’t able to part company on better terms- it’s something we try hard to do. Thank you again for the feedback. I wish you all the best in seeking new opportunities."

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Redington Ltd. full-time

    Pros

    Good people. Very open company.

    Cons

    Small company means less extensive training.

    Redington Ltd.2018-12-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Redington Ltd. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People legitimately care about others here and will always seek out doing what’s right - meaning personal conflicts are drastically reduced, political dramas are kept at bay. People are also VERY intelligent so decisions are made fast and people come up with proactive ways of doing things!

    Cons

    Having grown from a small company the inside ‘click’ of senior managers is a bit intimidating and impenetrable imo so it’s easier to feel unappreciated or undervalued.

    Advice to Management

    What worked then may not still work now - culture changes are needed to continue the awesome work and growth plans

    Redington Ltd.2018-07-19
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Redington Ltd. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love the values and open approach, cutting edge, doing things diferently

    Cons

    better pay, more transparency, more

    Advice to Management

    Take more time to speak to employees

    Redington Ltd.2018-02-12
  9. "Redington"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Redington Ltd. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at Redington has been such a great experience so far. As a first job, I couldn't have asked for anywhere else to start my career. In terms of what I value about Redington: - People and culture: Redington has such a genuine, open and progressive culture where everyone are themselves and they truly care about maintaining their culture and values in the work pace no matter how fast they are growing - learning... and development: there is so much to learn from the company, both within your role and outside of it. You gain real and actual responsibility quite quickly no matter your age, or status. There are teach-ins that are held throughout the week that helps develop yourself and engage with others outside of your role. It is a great learning environment, - impact: there are so many avenues you can access within he company and you feel like you are actually part of a company that is both unique inits values and disruptive in its ideals. They really want to make a difference and not in the traditional way; which to me makes it feel like your part of something greater.

    Show More

    Cons

    - As the company is still growing and ensuring to provide quality work to its clients, i tends to be more client focused which ends up affecting the efficiency and structures that can be in place within the company - working hours are a bit long but gets better as you adjust

    Advice to Management

    - Try to keep informing the employees about the different mechanics within the company and areas that can people can get involved in. - Have more fluid roles and teams to allow more cross-team interaction.

    Redington Ltd.2018-01-27
  10. "Small Company Big Heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Redington Ltd. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Open company culture where any good idea is listened to and implemented - Flat hierarchy - Strong leadership - Opportunity to participate in any area for which you demonstrate a passion - Young, energetic, ambitious, experimental, fun

    Cons

    - Constant change - Long hours

    Advice to Management

    Overall, keep doing what you are doing, but take care with the pace and quantity of change.

    Redington Ltd.2017-10-18
Found 36 reviews