ResMed Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
ResMed CEO Mick Farrell
Mick Farrell
254 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for! Company focused on employee success"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Owner in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ResMed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ResMed has been key to my career growth by giving me the opportunity to work with many areas of the business throughout the years. HR encourages regular meetings with management to keep track of career goals and the company offers many great resources for growth such as in-house learning programs, LinkedIn Learning, Toastmasters, and more. In my experience with working with many people in the business throughout the globe, I find the company has a great culture . Additionally, the company encourages flexible working hours where appropriate, which I find one of the best parts about working here. Company also has many fun events in each department on a regular basis and video conferences/travel which fosters that company culture.

    Cons

    On-the-job training is questionable for roles that don't require formal training which makes the company prone to making some preventable mistakes or wastes time, but depends on the manager and it's not beyond what is seen in other companies.

    ResMed2019-09-09
  2. "Dynamic, people focussed company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Bella Vista
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ResMed

    Pros

    - smart and dynamic company - company goals focus on the people first from the CEO down - passionate and friendly work colleagues - on-site gym and pool and nice cafe

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    ResMed2020-02-18
  3. "Good, stable employer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ResMed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beautiful facilities Tons of talented and highly experienced people Good work-life balance Good people/social environment.

    Cons

    Don't expect to be super challenging professionally Lack of structured framework to develop talent Promotions seem to be based more on seniority and camaraderie rather than merit Large organisation also helps conceals individuals with mediocre performance

    Continue reading
    ResMed2020-04-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Dreadful beyond belief"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bella Vista
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ResMed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great engineers, nice campus.

    Cons

    In my 20+ career as a software engineer, ResMed was hands-down the worst experience of my working life to the point that I had even started to doubt myself. I am now clear and back to making a really positive contribution to my new employer and will never, ever look back at ResMed with anything but disbelief that such a company can survive the way it is run. I noted a QLD company built a respirator from scratch in 4 weeks recently....4 weeks would not be enough time for ResMed to decide which room to hold their hourly status meetings in. Monstrously over-staffed with multiple layers of, at best unnecessary and at worst really negative, management all 100% focused on looking after themselves together with a HR department that has infected every level of the company with endless self-serving and self-protecting diktats. The atmosphere of fear and self-preservation permeated its way throughout with multiple engineers areas operating in secret and hogging all the decisions for fear of becoming redundant which locks ResMed into the past...innovation is a dirty word. The money was also way below other industries; manufacturing was shifting overseas, the CEO was no longer based in Australia, all they cared about was online stuff run out of San Diego.

    Continue reading
    ResMed2020-05-03
  5. "A great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Manager in Bella Vista
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ResMed full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly, focused and professional environment

    Cons

    Change is constant so be prepared to adapt

    Continue reading
    ResMed2020-03-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Headwinds coming"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ResMed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open culture, good products, great people

    Cons

    Very slow to move, too focused on US market, reaching tipping point where better mouse trap is not enough.

    Continue reading
    ResMed2020-03-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Worst place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Payroll in Bella Vista
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ResMed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary is OK ,location and building.

    Cons

    Long working hours,High turnover,Too much politics, Worst place to work with if you are in Payroll.

    Continue reading
    ResMed2020-03-10
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Spineless middle and upper management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bella Vista
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ResMed full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Campus is nice with onsite gym. Peers are generally nice and hard working.

    Cons

    Middle management is basically clueless and spineless. They also lack technical knowledge and are generally incompetent in overseeing projects, leading to last minute issues and hectic work crunches for the already overworked staff. Very bad work life balance, as people are increasingly expected to be online to support US and European timezones. There also doesn't seem to be any opportunities to move between different teams, let alone different departments.

    Continue reading
    ResMed2020-02-28
  9. Helpful (5)

    "People are nice, Management is scum"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bella Vista
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ResMed full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - People that I work with are generally nice and easy to get along with, and have a sense of teamwork. - The technology is interesting and the so is the work most of the time - Great campus with lots of space and walking trails.

    Cons

    - Management is absolute scum. For the last few years they have been pushing a top down strategy of faster release cycles with the same amount of resources, resulting in everyone working unsustainably in perpetual crunch time. There is a massive disconnect between management and the people who actually do the work. - Quite a few people have left the company and there have been little effort made to replace them, which again leads back to the existing employees working extra hard to make up the lack of people. Work life balance has all but vanished. - Most people spend their day in pointless meetings. At the end of these meetings, issues aren’t usually resolved and simply more meetings are set up ad nauseam. -Minimal opportunities to move between different departments, or even between teams. - Employees’ salaries have more or less stayed the same but are now expected to do more work and do the work of more people.

    Continue reading
    ResMed2020-02-07
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Company going through aggressive cost cutting"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Validation Engineer in Bella Vista

    I worked at ResMed full-time

    Pros

    People in my team were down to earth. Work is interesting for the most part.

    Cons

    ResMed was a good place to work at about 3-4 years ago. But new management is pushing aggressive cost cutting measures, lots of redundancies and talented people are being let go to protect the managers' bottom lines. People that are currently in the company are expected to work longer and harder with fewer resources, and minimal pay increases. I would NOT recommend anyone to join this company.

    ResMed2020-02-08
Found 398 reviews