Rev.com Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Rev.com Reviews

Updated 10 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Jason Chicola
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love that I have the capability to work from home in addition to my day job(in 159 reviews)

  • "Community Forum of fellow Rev Agents(in 46 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, lots of difficult audio(in 104 reviews)

  • "They are now promoting people to be graders without giving them any training(in 75 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Insight Manager in Austin, TX

    I worked at Rev.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    managers train you very well and pay attention

    Cons

    Company culture is not completely worked out yet because its so small and divided into two offices

    Rev.com2019-08-02
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good pay for hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist in Dublin, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rev.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and the ability to work from home.

    Cons

    Inconsistent grading, outline is poorly followed and will cancel your contract without a warning.

    Rev.com2019-08-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Decent job if you're looking to make a few extra dollars a month"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Minneapolis, MN

    I have been working at Rev.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can pick and choose which audio you want to transcribe

    Cons

    Very low hourly pay, you won't be able to make a living off of the this

    Rev.com2019-07-24
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Doesn't Care about Employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriber in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rev.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, work own hours

    Cons

    Little pay, tedious, high expectations

    Advice to Management

    Do NOT waste your time with this company. They do not care about employees and will let you go at the drop of a hat for a simple error on ONE transcription. The pay is also garbage and with that they will not re-activate your account once deactivated for a mistake. You are replaceable and will be treated as such.

    Rev.com2019-08-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Worth Looking Into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Accra
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rev.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work when you want, where you want.

    Cons

    Strict style guide and grading.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce baseline metrics for accuracy and formatting.

    Rev.com2019-06-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Rev soursweet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist 

    I have been working at Rev.com part-time

    Pros

    Pays fairly well. You'll only enjoy if you are really good.

    Cons

    They are too strict, they can close your account with a single mistake

    Rev.com2019-06-25
  7. Helpful (18)

    "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rev.com part-time

    Pros

    It was nice to work when I wanted.

    Cons

    1. You had to wade through hundreds/thousands of poor audio quality files before finding a decent one to transcribe. 2. Pay is breadcrumbs. A one hour clip takes a good deal of time to get through. To get not even a half dollar per minute of audio made it less satisfying. 3. They change policy, promote a bonus for extra pay, and then give ya the axe for one file. One file dropped my accuracy enough to boot me.

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent in grading. Perhaps go through the audio files and if they are clear, good, if they are garbage, don't make us dig through and waste time to find work.

    Rev.com2019-05-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fair paid per hour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Cebu City
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rev.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    0.46 per minutes which is good

    Cons

    no cons at this point. very cool

    Advice to Management

    make it more higher salary

    Rev.com2019-06-03
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Fighting to get jobs and bad company moral."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rev.com part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When you reach the Rev+ area, you can pick and choose what jobs you want. I was clearing 300/week with no problem. The jobs are enjoyable and the content is very interesting at times. Working from home has been wonderful.

    Cons

    Now, the cons of this company. It's bad enough that people upload terrible files, but everyone should have the choice of declining them. Suddenly, Rev changed their metric policy, demoting a few hundred people don to the lower level, where there is no work worth doing, and a lot of fighting on the forum. People spend most of their time complaining about Rev, and the anonymous way they handle complaints with no explanations....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A company does well from the top to the bottom. Whoever is at the top really doesn't care about the people underneath them. Just another example of a company with poor role models and bad management that chooses to ignore the requests and suggestions of the people actually doing the work.

    Rev.com2019-06-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Love it!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rev.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, fun and consistent. I love working for Rev

    Cons

    Sometimes people take jobs to quickly

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you guys are doing.

    Rev.com2019-05-17
Found 56 reviews