Rev.com Reviews

Updated 15 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
47%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Rev.com CEO Jason Chicola (no image)
Jason Chicola
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home and earn what you want when you want(in 193 reviews)

  • "Interesting content to transcribe(in 54 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, have to pay self-employment taxes(in 128 reviews)

  • "Some of the audio can be hard to transcribe(in 93 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Extremely bad"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rev.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very, very dishonest people. The worst company I worked for so far. Please, avoid them!

    Cons

    I don't see anything good here!

    Rev.com2020-02-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Grading."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rev.com part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot I can say, they good.

    Cons

    Terrible in grading, example i had 4.67 Accuracy did a job got 5/5 the Accuracy was 4.71 now, did another job got 4/5 I was disappointed my metrics is now 4.54 see that difference.

    Continue reading
    Rev.com2020-04-16
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Enjoyable work, but long hours for not enough pay."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Captioner in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rev.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You earn more money, and gain access to more opportunities as you get better at the job. You also eventually get the option to pick up more types of work.

    Cons

    Unless you type well over 100 words per minute, you will probably end up working for hours on longer projects, and the payment sometimes doesn't even approach minimum wage. I was working full-time hours, but only earning about $500 every month.

    Continue reading
    Rev.com2020-03-21
  4. Helpful (6)

    "If you're captioner, run the other way!"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Captioner 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Rev.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I liked getting paid weekly and some of the videos I captioned were quite interesting.

    Cons

    I believe the way captioning jobs are graded by some of the reviewers is super harsh and unmerited. I can't help but feel some of the reviewers are just looking for something to criticize. The grades certainly had nothing to do with one's understanding of grammar (which is amazing considering the grammatical test hoops and lengths one needs to go through to be accepted in the first place). I acknowledge that I made some minor formatting slips a few times (don't we all?) but for the most part I'd submitted very good work. It only took a few ridiculously severe 3 out of 5 grades to get ousted with an obnoxious, "This decision is final". Really? You needed to add that? Frankly, the pay and treatment just isn't worth it -- the decision is final.

    Continue reading
    Rev.com2020-03-20
  5. "Great team. Great outlook. Huge opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rev.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people at Rev are some of the brightest, most empathetic, and most driven people I've had the pleasure of working with. I can't tell you how great it is to have a culture that doesn't shy away from failure, where the best idea always wins, and where you can grow your career in the direction that YOU want. Working at Rev is challenging, exciting, and fulfilling. You can feel that we're on to something big here in the voice to text space. Lastly, work life balance is immensely important to everyone at the company, including leadership, which means management cares about the whole person, not just output.

    Cons

    Split offices can be tough, but leadership does their best to drive alignment and interaction between SF and ATX.

    Continue reading
    Rev.com2020-03-10
  6. "Score Metrics are Inaccurate!! They kick you out immediately!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rev.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Getting paid weekly. Easy way to make little money.

    Cons

    Management is poor. Metrics are inaccurate. Hardly jobs available.

    Continue reading
    Rev.com2020-03-23
  7. "Transcriptionist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist in Nairobi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rev.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like to expose my work and share out ideas.

    Cons

    Long hours and less amount of pay sometimes

    Continue reading
    Rev.com2020-01-24
  8. "Stay Away From REV.COM"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transcriptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rev.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. The entire thing is a time-wasting sham.

    Cons

    The grading system is very poor quality, highly inconsistent, and Rev.com employees are too unbelievably disrespectful and obnoxious todo anything about the highly random and inconsistent fashion that graders grade other peoples work. The graders make up rules from thin air, and ignore the style guide completely when grading your work. If you bother to report any of the poor grading against your work, you will be met with a disrespectfully arrogant response from a Rev.com QA employee, who will claim to have found more errors in your work. Expect to deal with complete and utter nonsense with Rev.com graders and the poorly qualified QA employees who support their random grading patterns.

    Continue reading
    Rev.com2020-02-21
  9. Helpful (6)

    "They will shut down your account for no reason"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transcription 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rev.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home. Lots of work available.

    Cons

    They will shut down your account with no warning, for no reason, and not pay you.

    Rev.com2020-02-13
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Masters of the Con"

    1.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Transcriptionist in Portland, OR

    I worked at Rev.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can work from home.

    Cons

    They will do everything in their power to manipulate the "rules" (which change daily) to excuse themselves from paying you. Literally. I am not exaggerating. I could go on for days. I am a very detail-oriented, intelligent, conscientious worker who did exemplorary work. They couldn't help but commend me (at first). When they couldn't find anything technically wrong with my work, they just blocked my dashboard from receiving the usual list of jobs that come in. When I asked politely about it, they either told me, "Oh, it's just a little slow around the holidays," or they flat out ignored me. But I could see hundreds of jobs popping up on others' dashboards. I parked myself diligently on the website, patiently waiting and watching for work, all to no avail. I went on the internal emplyee blog and no one else seemed to be complaining about it. When I started asking about it, my posts were deleted. Immediately after that, my permissions to both the blog and my work dashboard were blocked when I tried to log on. Instead, a pop up came up, casually "asking" me to sign an NDA promising I wouldn't ever talk about them. WHAT!? Big alarm bells went off in my mind. I understand companies who require NDAs when you are interviewed or hired, but not after you have been working for them for months! And the timing was super fishy. Well, my instincts were spot on because it wasn't 24 hours afterwards I got a unceremonious and abrupt email saying I didn't fulfill my quota that I supposedly "agreed to when I took the job" or some such nonsense. Totally arbitrary and made up. And of course, they could not reference where this was in the hiring documentation. Later on I found out these kinds of practices and slimy tactics were more common than I thought. They also hired people to write fake good reviews and deleted anything negative emplyees dared to write on the internal forum. People were chastised and docked and fired for asking senisble questions. To sum it up - avoid this company at ALL costs unless you want to literally make a dollar an hour for hard work and be treated like scum. ZERO STARS FOR ABSOLUTE CRIMINAL BEHAVIOR.

    Continue reading
    Rev.com2020-02-09
Found 78 reviews