Find jobs for Senior Advisor

Rio Tinto Senior Advisor Reviews

Updated 8 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Rio Tinto Chief Executive Jean-Sébastien Jacques
Jean-Sébastien Jacques
1 Rating
  1. "Senior Advisor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Advisor in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good global exposure and solid vision.

    Cons

    The company is huge to keep collaborate with all stakeholders.

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2018-03-05
  2. "Positive experience as it was a great company to work for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Advisor in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great systems in place for employees, good culture, good pay as well.

    Cons

    Nothing unexpected for such a large company, my boss was both wonderful in that if I spoke to him more than twice a year it was a lot, but the resulting lack of direction wasn't great for career progression in my department at least.

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2014-05-28
  3. "Poor Poor Very Poor"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Advisor Finance in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary Free mobile rest all bad

    Cons

    Alert alert alert... Zero job security they will fire people without notice...They offer you the designation than they shift you to other profile. than after sometime they fire you... 70 employees fire in one year and 40 employees hire.

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2020-01-08
  4. "Great Place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Salt Lake City, UT

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diversity of job tasks and people

    Cons

    Watch out for layoffs, every few quarters

    Rio Tinto2019-07-31

    Rio Tinto Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for being a part of our team for so many years and sharing your feedback. We take pride in our diverse workplace, people and opportunities.

  5. "Kennecott"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Training Advisor in South Jordan, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are a resourceful and driven organization

    Cons

    They lack continuity and stability

    Rio Tinto2016-01-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Advisor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in South Jordan, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Rio Tinto has great pay and benefits. There are many opportunities to travel and learn new roles/skills. And they go through phases where they celebrate success well. Safety is a value and important to most levels throughout the company. Flexibility in the work schedule is a bonus. Very intellegent and skilled employees.

    Cons

    There is a stifling amount of politics, beurocracy, power plays, postulating and incompetence. Though they have made progress in diversity and inclusion, women are not promoted as men are, generally they are paid less than their male counterparts and are limited in progress into management and senior roles. Work-related mental health issues, burnout and fatigue are not managed within the company and affects many current and former employees. There is more focus on the 'perception' of the company/project/employee than the actual work/culture/individual performance.

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2015-06-27
  7. "I missed out on the good days pre manfay slide."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in South Jordan, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Top notch safety culture. I have change several personal safety behaviors after starting at Kennecott. Diverse international work force. Breath of fresh air to find in conservative caucasian dominated utah a work force of colleagues from different countries and cultural backgrounds.

    Cons

    I find that oftentimes the diverse work force impacts clear communications. The english language instructions can be interpreted quite differently from an Australian vs. American if you are an American and vice versa. Frustrating that the same work concerns that existed 100 plus years ago are still being tolerated. Union workforce members hide behind the cba and slow down progress with the motto of "we have ALWAYS done it this way".

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2015-06-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "HR Transformation of hell!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and pay. Global company.

    Cons

    When I was hired, the company had big plan. Because of their ridiculous spending habit and the economy, the HR department (I work in this dept.) has been in transformation for literally 2 years now and the work climate is getting unhealthy. No work life balance because we work crazy hours. They tell us to do 80-20 but you get the blame when something happens. Not very consistent attitude.

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2014-03-28
  9. "Tough Culture to adopt."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Advisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are offered great benefits

    Cons

    The Culture is a tough one to adopt.

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2014-01-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Senior advisor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    smart people, quality of life, responsible company, development opportunities

    Cons

    too much change, bureaucracy, cyclical

    Continue reading
    Rio Tinto2013-08-02
Found 11 reviews