Rio Tinto Senior Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Senior Advisor

Rio Tinto Senior Advisor Reviews

Updated 31 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2 reviews

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Rio Tinto CEO Jean-Sébastien Jacques
Jean-Sébastien Jacques
1 Ratings
  1. "Senior Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good global exposure and solid vision.

    Cons

    The company is huge to keep collaborate with all stakeholders.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Rio Tinto2018-03-05
  2. "Positive experience as it was a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Advisor in Perth, Western Australia
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great systems in place for employees, good culture, good pay as well.

    Cons

    Nothing unexpected for such a large company, my boss was both wonderful in that if I spoke to him more than twice a year it was a lot, but the resulting lack of direction wasn't great for career progression in my department at least.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Rio Tinto2014-05-28
  3. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Salt Lake City, UT

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Diversity of job tasks and people

    Cons

    Watch out for layoffs, every few quarters

    Rio Tinto2019-07-31

    Rio Tinto Response

    August 6, 2019Senior Advisor, Recruitment Marketing

    Thank you for being a part of our team for so many years and sharing your feedback. We take pride in our diverse workplace, people and opportunities.

  4. "Kennecott"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Training Advisor in South Jordan, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are a resourceful and driven organization

    Cons

    They lack continuity and stability

    Rio Tinto2016-01-09
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in South Jordan, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Rio Tinto has great pay and benefits. There are many opportunities to travel and learn new roles/skills. And they go through phases where they celebrate success well. Safety is a value and important to most levels throughout the company. Flexibility in the work schedule is a bonus. Very intellegent and skilled employees.

    Cons

    There is a stifling amount of politics, beurocracy, power plays, postulating and incompetence. Though they have made progress in diversity and inclusion, women are not promoted as men are, generally they are paid less than their male counterparts and are limited in progress into management and senior roles. Work-related mental health issues, burnout and fatigue are not managed within the company and affects many current...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The outsourcing of internal services has led to a disconnection with your employees and lowered quality of service. Slow down your decision making and let the changes catch up to each other before you layoff or sell off any more of the company. Cultivate and invest in your employees like you once did.

    Rio Tinto2015-06-27
  6. "I missed out on the good days pre manfay slide."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in South Jordan, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Top notch safety culture. I have change several personal safety behaviors after starting at Kennecott. Diverse international work force. Breath of fresh air to find in conservative caucasian dominated utah a work force of colleagues from different countries and cultural backgrounds.

    Cons

    I find that oftentimes the diverse work force impacts clear communications. The english language instructions can be interpreted quite differently from an Australian vs. American if you are an American and vice versa. Frustrating that the same work concerns that existed 100 plus years ago are still being tolerated. Union workforce members hide behind the cba and slow down progress with the motto of "we have ALWAYS done...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Recognize and celebrate team members more than with annual merit discussions. Hardly ever see coworkers celebrate one another's birthdays, anniversaries etc. But when they leave the company we have a lunch for them.

    Rio Tinto2015-06-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "HR Transformation of hell!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and pay. Global company.

    Cons

    When I was hired, the company had big plan. Because of their ridiculous spending habit and the economy, the HR department (I work in this dept.) has been in transformation for literally 2 years now and the work climate is getting unhealthy. No work life balance because we work crazy hours. They tell us to do 80-20 but you get the blame when something happens. Not very consistent attitude.

    Advice to Management

    Better support your teams. Recognize the hard work. Ask how you can help.

    Rio Tinto2014-03-28
  8. "Tough Culture to adopt."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Advisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are offered great benefits

    Cons

    The Culture is a tough one to adopt.

    Advice to Management

    Move employees around more

    Rio Tinto2014-01-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Senior advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rio Tinto full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    smart people, quality of life, responsible company, development opportunities

    Cons

    too much change, bureaucracy, cyclical

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to manage the highs and lows more effectively

    Rio Tinto2013-08-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Shaky in recruitment services for Canada. Not really a company you can trust to work for longterm."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Advisor in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rio Tinto full-time

    Pros

    Interesting incentives if you can get a full time perm position- safety oriented, many opportunities internally.

    Cons

    Rio Tinto is known to lay off full-time perms as easily as contractors, its doesn't matter its boom or bust. Also prefers to deal with contractors than full-time perms for cost effectiveness Also- recruitment services for Canada to be outsourced, just like they do with people and organizational services in Australia. Rio Tinto does not invest in communities like the small mines they acquire used to before being taken...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with the directions you are going with Canadian mining- give people a chance to decide if they want to invest their time and efforts working for a place which cannot confirm longterm careers and job security.

    Rio Tinto2013-06-18
Found 2 reviews