Find jobs for Customer Sales Assistant

River Island Clothing Customer Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated 14 Aug 2017

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
93%
Recommend to a Friend
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
0 Rating
  1. "disrespecful staff and management."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Sales Assistant in Stratford, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Engaging with customers discount on clothes lunch time discount for friends and family

    Cons

    rude staff and late shifts with short or no notice

    Continue reading

    River Island Clothing Response

    September 8, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback. We will take your feedback on board and look in to ways in which we can improve this.

  2. "It's always been my favourite store.. super fun place to work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Customer Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing for less than a year

    Pros

    40% off staff discount and seasonal free uniform allowance!!!! We also get our own lockers and we're encouraged to actually look nice (but not over-dressed) for work

    Cons

    Flagship store gets UNBELIEVABLY busy and the company is surprisingly strict about having phones with you on the shop floor! Sometimes customers are ridiculously rude.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Management"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Sales Assistant in Mansfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing for less than a year

    Pros

    Management were focused and driven and this was replicated by sales team.

    Cons

    My role, there was not enough hours

    Continue reading

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 19, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thank you for your review. We would love to be able to accommodate all shift requirements wherever possible and recognise hard workers!

  4. "sales assistant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Sales Assistant in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing for more than a year

    Pros

    service expectations train you well for future jobs, staff discount, staff nights out, free uniform allowance, able to progress, fast paced environment, friends

    Cons

    unsociable hours, expected to put work before everything else, can not be team leader on a part time contract, store manager can be unfriendly,

    Continue reading

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 19, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review. Retail hours can be very long and we appreciate our store teams effort in making River Island an amazing shopping destination for our customers. We love to recognise hard working individuals so we will take your feedback on board.

  5. "Disliked working here as a 16 year old"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Sales Assistant in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    Got a clothing allowance for uniform from the store

    Cons

    Had to work at least 2 days a week on part time which took up my whole weekend and they werent flexible or supportive when i had my exams to work towards which ended with me quitting. The team leaders were more bothered about profit etc then they were with the employees, they were also very bias in the employment process to who was attractive enough.

    River Island Clothing Response

    November 30, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review. We're sorry you didn't have a good experience with us. Most of our store employees are students as they find the shifts work well around their studies but unfortunately retail hours can be unsociable. Our Managers are expected to drive profit in order to make our stores successful however the well being of our employees should also be top of the agenda so we'll take your feedback on board and look in to this.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Relatively good, enjoyable atmosphere and worked with some great people."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits such as 30% discount and reasonable holidays. Worked with a lot if different types of people and chances to move up to management.

    Cons

    Low pay especially for people who are under 18 and high pressure from management to reach targets. Can be very stressful on holiday periods and sale.

    River Island Clothing Response

    December 29, 2015Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to review your River Island work experience, I will ensure that I pass on your comments

  7. "Paid slave labour"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    30% discount Free uniform every 3 months Always have overtime

    Cons

    You have to stand all day Minimum wage pay Slow career progression within the company Monotonous and repetitive Members of staff are horrible

    Continue reading

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 27, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review, we will take your feedback on board.

  8. "It really depends on who you end up working with, but altogether its was a good experience for me."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Sales Assistant in Greenhithe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Every three months you get a uniform allowance based on how many hours you work a week. its always great to get new clothes for free. Also when you work with nice sales assistants it can be really fun and enjoyable.

    Cons

    If you end up working with people you dislike, it can be really challenging as you have to spend a great deal of time with them. Working is hard enough but with staff hellbent on making your shift a misery its incredibly annoying.

    Continue reading

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 27, 2016Recruitment Officer

    We're sorry you feel this way. Thanks for your review.

  9. "Sales advisor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Sales Assistant in Macclesfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Outfit building with customers is fun and exciting they are always so grateful for an opinion! Its always a great enviroment to work in especially when its a new season, but trying on the latest trends before they have even hit the shop floor has to be the best reason!

    Cons

    There wasnt any room for growth in a small store you couldn't really showcase to the higher powers that be your skills

    Continue reading

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 19, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks you for your honest review. We will take your feedback on board with regards to progression of those who demonstrate capability.

  10. "Glad I only done it PT"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Sales Assistant in Letterkenny
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount, the other sales assistants were good to talk to.

    Cons

    Management were not the best, very stubborn and thought they were right and spoke down to you. They make you feel as if your a child, told them numerous time I can not work weekends, then they put me on the weekend (which I didn't see on the rota, partly my fault I suppose) but never look at the weekend times due to me constanlty telling them I can't work weekends. Next day I came in and felt very small. Training wasn't the best either, I've worked retail a long time and only because of that I knew what to do not by reading off the yellow cards they make you carry around.

    Continue reading

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 15, 2015Senior Recruitment Officer

    Thank you for your comments. We are constantly working with our management teams to ensure that they have the right skills to manage their staff so your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Found 15 reviews