River Island Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 958 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Ben Lewis
Ben Lewis
289 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, targets to meet can be hard(in 50 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun, good perks but bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    Great staff discount Fun fast paced environment

    Cons

    Not great pay Can be a little bit catty at times

    River Island Clothing2019-04-01
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good progression Good benefits Friendly Team Never Gets Boring Great first job

    Cons

    Dont appreciate management instores enough Some store managers take advantage

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2019-10-13
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Buyer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and learning / development team Nice office with good selection of food/ drinks/canteen Interesting / compelling work

    Cons

    Slow progression Fast pace can mean long hours depending on team Office is next to a tip so can be a bit smelly in the summer

    River Island Clothing2019-10-12
  4. "nice place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Adviser in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly staff and mangement , nice clothes

    Cons

    not all management are nice

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2019-10-12
  5. "decent part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    discounts 40% discounts on sale items at the end good management

    Cons

    pay is rather low for london wage

    River Island Clothing2019-10-07
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people to meet. Good hours to suit me.

    Cons

    Other people not pulling weight

    River Island Clothing2019-10-02
  7. "good for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good monthly discount, reputable fashion brand to work for

    Cons

    wages are very low for the work they want you to do

    River Island Clothing2019-10-15
  8. "Sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    40% clothing discount which saves you a lot

    Cons

    Unorganised, lack of staff, overly focused on reducing costs

    River Island Clothing2019-10-14
  9. "Good option if you are a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with good people and the managers were easy going and supportive

    Cons

    Very repetitive Working in the stockroom, sometimes under staffed, the expectations of meeting targets was unrealistic.

    River Island Clothing2019-10-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The 'People' (HR) Team fell apart at the seams!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Office Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Discount, gym, In the past....the culture

    Cons

    - High turnover of staff - Clear and obvious favouritism - Unfair and unequal treatment across the teams - Very poor communication While working here I watched the company go from a people focused, successful, brilliant place to work to unfortunately .... a horrible place to be with no interest in its people and awful communication. It's hard to say why or when it happened but believe its partly due to a revolving door in the role of HRD and the fact I worked in the People Team, most of who were thoroughly miserable. How can a company thrive when its 'people people' the core of the business ...don't want to be there anymore. Promotions are given based on personal feeling/preference rather than hard work, skill and talent. At one point while we had no HRD one of the Heads of within the team quickly promoted various people (their friends) into newly created roles they had minimal skill in without it be advertised internally or even spoken about....our own recruitment team weren't even aware of it. This action went against the internal process the company had in place and left a bad taste. There was quite honestly one rule for one and a different rule for others made worse by the fact that decision making in the team is not regulated as its assumed to all be above board...being that its HR- this was not the case. Bad, sneaky and childish behaviours which stemmed specifically from the top in that team left it a toxic environment beyond saving. Only the CEO stepping in would have helped, an unbiased view for once......you would hope.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2019-10-11
Found 958 reviews