River Island Clothing Sales Manager Reviews

Updated 13 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
1 Rating
  1. "Fast paced"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fashion forward brand. Great team. Good company to work for

    Cons

    High expectations, sometimes unrealistic Work load

    Continue reading
  2. "Would never go back!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount on SOME items

    Cons

    Higher management have no respect for you or how hard you work, no recognition what so ever, poor working conditions in huge shops (carrying heavy shelves/ boxes up and down 6 flights of stairs!), low wages compared to workload...the list is endless

    Continue reading
  3. "Enjoyable but unprofessional"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount Uniform allowance Friendly staff Kept busy so never boring

    Cons

    Poor pay (salary non competitive- about 20p per hour difference between manager and advisor rates) Unprofessional- some managers very bias and don’t treat everyone equally. Recruitment team ignore you. Rude and unprofessional. Unpaid overtime (management) No incentives. Long hours A few bad apples spoil the bunch.

    Continue reading

    River Island Clothing Response

    November 2, 2018Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

  4. "Worst company ever"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount is the only good thing!

    Cons

    Don't look after there staff... No appreciation.. No work life Balance... slave labour

    River Island Clothing Response

    November 2, 2018Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review. As your still with us please do chat to your HR BP or the wider HR team about your concerns.

  5. "Depends of location"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No time punching in or out of work. uniform every 4 weekd

    Cons

    Lack of judgement that leads to the lost of some great talents

    River Island Clothing Response

    February 23, 2018Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fun but draining"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ladies Product/Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work Great discounts Big on internal progression Lots of training tools

    Cons

    Long hours for management High expectations Too focused on tasks and targets and not what is realistically achievable Constantly cutting hours and staff Very secretive about salaries which makes you think you're probably on a lot less than you should be

    Continue reading

    River Island Clothing Response

    October 27, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback, we'll take your comments on board.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Hugely disorganised and stuck in the past."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount - 50% as a manager Training/Induction at another store Uniform every few months

    Cons

    Store managers lead from the back Terrible communication in store and the business Progression based on nepotism Multiple managers lied to in the interview stage and by River's recruitment team Everyone seems to hate the company and it's structure Hours are continually dropping with no support You will not have any Saturday or Sundays off Visits from seniors are handled so all the chaos is hidden

    Continue reading

    River Island Clothing Response

    August 24, 2017Head of Talent Acquisition

    Sorry to read your review and your experience at River Island - we do read and act on the comments on here so I will ensure that these are fed back to the relevant Managers. It is not in the best interest of the business for my team to lie to anyone throughout the interview process.

  8. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great for internal progression Great Discount Amazing people

    Cons

    Pay reviews Lots of meaningless tasks from HO

    River Island Clothing Response

    June 2, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review!

  9. "not recommended if your looking from progression within the company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Livingston, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A fun and fast paced enviroment

    Cons

    very little training available. few oppertunities to progress unless you are aable to move areas, Wages do not improve with level of knowledge or length of service

    Continue reading

    River Island Clothing Response

    May 19, 2017Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback - with the opportunity to use our River Island Virtual Academy (RIVA) we would encourage all employees to drive their own progression. We love our staff to progress and most of our Area Managers have come from working in store themselves. We will take your feedback on board.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Very demanding with little appreciation"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Cheltenham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working as part of a team and being proud of the work you put it in when revenue reflects it

    Cons

    Salary does not reflect the amount of work and effort put into the job and very difficult to plan time of with holiday and day off structure

    Continue reading

    River Island Clothing Response

    October 14, 2016Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your review, we'll take your feedback on board.

Found 29 reviews