Robert Walters Employee Reviews about "good training"

Updated 19 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
88%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters Chief Executive Officer Robert Walters
Robert Walters
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly, collaborative working environment(in 48 reviews)

  • "good training and support, international environment(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours but to be expected in recruitment(in 50 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance, flexibility, KPI based progression(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "good training"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company with lots of opportunity

      28 May 2019 - Recruitment Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good training, great culture and opportunity to progress in your career in Australia or overseas.

      Cons

      Longer hours are needed here and there but nothing unreasonable

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good for new starters in recruitment

      25 Nov 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good training - Good PSAs

      Cons

      - Does not pay the best in market

      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Culture and work environment

      6 Nov 2019 - Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Staff Good leader who is always happy to chat Good training programme especially for new people to the industry Very team focussed and everyone is really supportive Good culture and friendly fun work environment

      Cons

      more flexibility around work arrangements

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun colleagues, questionable management

      3 Jul 2019 - Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company culture Good training program

      Cons

      No work-life balance Poor salary Unclear bonus structure Strong bias and favouritism by the senior exec team

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Professional agency with career options

      11 Jan 2016 - Executive Recruiter in Brisbane
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good training, strong support functions and leadership, international brand. Team environment, good internal culture, international opportunities

      Cons

      Global listed business can be risk adverse; some processes seem a bit dated, over reliance on tried and tested formula, could be braver

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Better Recruitment companies out there

      6 Sep 2016 - Recruitment Consultant in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People - You get to meet some fantastic people Training - Good training if you are new to recruitment International movement

      Cons

      Poor pay - Dramatically lower than competitors Bonus/Commission is low and you never know what you are getting Old school recruitment mentality. Not being able to leave before 6pm is more important than performance.. KPI's more important than results Retention issues. Most people were sponsored from UK and waiting to get PR so they could move to a better company

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Associate Consultant

      19 Jan 2021 - Associate Consultant in Tokyo
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good training and support, international environment

      Cons

      high turnover rate, stressful at times because of KPIs

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Career Launchpad w/ Int'l Opportunities

      14 Oct 2020 - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Fast-paced work environment working with diverse and interesting client base -Good place for young professionals to jump into a recruitment/sales career with opportunities for rapid career advancement -Fun, lively, and inclusive office culture w/ plenty of external events -Opportunities for international relocation after 2 years -Good training and onboarding process for people without prior recruitment experience

      Cons

      -Comparatively long hours (just the nature of recruitment in general) -Benefits package is improving all the time, but still lagged other companies in the SF Bay Area in certain areas. 401K matching starts after a year.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Good career start but needs to invest in improving culture and work/life balance.

      19 May 2020 - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to kick-start career if you have little to no experience. Clear growth trajectory and good training for new starters.

      Cons

      Poor work/life balance - Employees are expected to work overtime regularly, come in early and stay late. There's no flexibility when it comes to hours and you will face resistance when taking sick time or WFH (in regular times, employees often come into the office sick due to this). Little understanding for employees with long commutes, special circumstances, outside commitments, etc. Considering the office is based in SF, there are many other comparable companies with much better work/life culture. Very KPI driven - High pressure and competitive environment (it’s a sales role), although this is to be expected in an agency setting such as this. Inexperienced management - Most managers have worked their way up in the business and have no outside experience. Not very understanding and at times can be unprofessional. Need to invest more here and train managers in good HR practices. Outdated technology - Workflow is slowed down because of regular tech issues and lack of support. Internal software is dated and difficult to use.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. I appreciate you being so thorough in your feedback, even if I was disappointed to read much of it. First, I take on board your point about our technology/systems, and I can assure you that we are working on this and that it’s a top priority for the business. Second, you’re right – this is a commercial environment and every member of our team needs to be a high performer, but I also think we reward that hard work with trust, autonomy and as much flexibility as we can. And I’m personally very proud that we’re able to offer our staff a path to management — that’s why we’ve partnered with a market-leading management training firm to develop our managers and ensure we always follow HR best practices. That said, I would never endorse any action by any manager that put the health and wellbeing of our people at risk. I really value the culture we’ve built here, and I want every member of our team to get the support that he/she needs. I’d appreciate the chance to speak to you privately and get some further details about your experience – in complete confidence, of course. Please feel free to email me and we can set something up. Thanks, Simon Bromwell Managing Director – North America

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good reputation with nice and professional environment

      31 Aug 2020 - Consultant in Surabaya, East Java, East Java
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very professional, good training, international exposure, strong brand in the market

      Cons

      If you don't have sales acumen, it's not the right place for you

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Robert Walters Job Seekers

    Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Graduate Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Robert Walters? Share Your Experiences

    Robert Walters logo
    or