Robert Walters Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 20 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
88%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters Chief Executive Officer Robert Walters
Robert Walters
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly, collaborative working environment(in 48 reviews)

  • "good training and support, international environment(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours but to be expected in recruitment(in 50 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance, flexibility, KPI based progression(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Amazing company to work for

      6 Sep 2019 - Director in Sydney
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a former long term employee, having started at RW as a Consultant, I have seen the company more than double in size, to the current point in time where the company is the most successful it has ever been. A key element of that growth is the company policy to not make acquisitions in order to grow. The growth is organic, with Consultants being promoted internally and trusted to start new teams / offices / countries which means you can have a fantastic, long-term career with RW, with international opportunities should you wish. It's a genuinely stable company with exceptional training and plenty of support for those new to the recruitment industry, including a large back office to allow you to get on with your job. Due to the organic growth model, there's a brilliant culture which is carefully nurtured - It's team based which means it's a nice place to work and it's highly likely you'll make life-long friends here, as the vast majority are like-minded positive, ambitious people which is infectious. The offices are stunning, there's lots of incentives and recognition for a job well-done and you can earn good money too, while being involved in Corporate Social Responsibility activities. Prior to leaving RW, there was a focus on mental health and flexible working practices which was most welcome.

      Cons

      Robert Walters isn't perfect (I don't believe any company is), but it's run by good people so while there may be frustrations at times, it's important to trust that the company will have your best interests at heart and to go with the flow and stay positive. Those who have a negative attitude won't succeed at RW. In order to have a career at RW, you're going to need to work hard and long hours may be involved. This isn't a 'con' specific to RW, it applies to the recruitment industry as a whole as it's highly competitive and it's an industry where whatever you put in, you get out.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to learn

      22 Dec 2020 - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -leading agency -reputable brand -clear progression plans -great PSA accounts -fun culture

      Cons

      -discretionary bonus structure is unclear -long hours expected -you will be micro managed through your kpi’s -can be a bit of a high school environment with politics

      3 people found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. I agree with your points about our fun culture and clear progression opportunities and I think we’ve made a lot of great investments to address work/life balance. Indeed, I want all our people to have the flexibility and autonomy they need to do their jobs well, without being held back by micromanagement or office politics. I’d be really keen to get some more details from you so that we can make any necessary improvements, so please feel free to email me at at james.dalrymple@robertwalters.com.au and we can set up a confidential conversation. James Dalrymple Director – Robert Walters Melbourne

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Global company with a corporate environment

      23 Nov 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in Brisbane
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people and a fun culture

      Cons

      Long working hours. Too many managers

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      HR

      Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I'm pleased to hear that you found our culture fun and enjoyable - our strong team culture is something that we’re really proud of. I know that getting the right work/life balance isn't always easy, and it's been tough at times as we and lots of other organisations have navigated the challenges posed by Covid-19. We are fortunate to have a robust tech setup which enables flexibility for our staff, but I know there's always more we can do to improve. If you have any other comments or feedback, I’d be happy to hear them – feel free to email me and we can set up a confidential chat -sinead.hourigan@robertwalters.com.au Thanks, Sinead Hourigan - Managing Director – Brisbane

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Lots of opportunities to grow if you're new to recruitment

      16 Sep 2020 - Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Opportunities for progression and clearly defined career paths - Freedom to manage your own desk, generous allowances for client-related expenses - Pleasant social culture (well-organised events each quarter, Friday drinks, team bonding sessions) - Lots of training & development, particularly for Associate Consultants

      Cons

      - Discretionary bonus - Long working hours expected and not a lot of flexibility here - Some managers promoted based on tenure and billings - High staff turnover across the business

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review — feedback like this is helpful. I understand that work/life balance is something that can be a struggle at times in our industry, we are very aware of this and are working hard to promote and encourage a more balanced approach, we are lucky enough to have fantastic technology and resources available to us to help enable this. If you have any other comments or feedback please don’t hesitate to contact me directly. Thanks, James Dalrymple Director, Melbourne

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Big pockets to spend on client and candidates

      16 Oct 2019 - Recruitment Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Incentives, team trips and other benefits for high performers - Since you spend many hours there it's inevitable to become good friends with your colleagues

      Cons

      - Long working hours - Discretionary bonus structure set by Manager or Director which is affected by likability

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great training, culture and career development

      9 May 2019 - Manager in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Initial training program sets you up for success Great culture, has significantly improved over the past 18 months Support from management to have autonomy, but also help where needed Always opportunities to move to one of 30 countries

      Cons

      Long hours, but is essential in recruitment

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people - no balance

      29 May 2019 - Revenue Assurance Administrative in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people who are fun

      Cons

      Long hours and no flexibility

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your comments—feedback from current and former employees is always useful for helping us know where we can improve. If you’d like to get in touch to discuss in further detail, I’d be happy to have a confidential discussion with you. If so, please email me at dimitra.christopoulos@robertwalters.com.au to arrange. Dimi Christopoulos Finance Director, Robert Walters Melbourne

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Experience

      30 Nov 2015 - Recruitment Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      training, renumeration, clients, culture, events

      Cons

      long hours thats the main one

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      If you're not a recruiter you get shafted - back office, IT in particular stay away.

      15 Jan 2021 - IT Support in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Better than being unemployed I suppose

      Cons

      Work hard all year round, go above and beyond to get a disgrace (if anything) come bonus/review time. - 3 years in a row now and always a new excuse "poor year/Covid/Brexit" even though if you check the annual reports the company always seems to be making a decent profit. Long hours, expected to work evenings and weekends for a pat on the back and a "this will be remembered come bonus time", which clearly is not the case. A new CIO came in a couple of years ago and to be fair he seems good, but should have cycled out some of the old SMT's in particular ones who change country every 3 months, cant really be productive when constantly changing country/continent. Will be blocked for promotion/team change by a certain SMT despite educating yourself and proving you are capable of doing the job and the manger of said team wants you in the team, if you are not a favourite for bowing down to him.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. I understand your frustrations and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am, of course, disappointed to read your comments; I want all our team members to have access to the opportunities they deserve. I’d been keen to get a few more details about your experience — if you’re keen to do so, please email me (kevin.bulmer@robertwalters.com) directly and we can set up a completely confidential call. Kev Bulmer Group IT Director

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Make sure you please your senior well!!!

      17 Sep 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of incentives Good annual leave and employee's insurance package Well organized training sessions, great for the less experienced recruiters Lively company culture Very multicultural Colleagues do tend to support each other ie great team spirit Workload does come in waves from time to time, which is normal in a recruitment firm Company system is well structured, database is neat and well built in general, quite convenient in terms of daily operation

      Cons

      Life is hard if you are not your senior's favorite Was guaranteed a Discretionary Bonus, never receive one (mind: not that I did not perform well!) Total compensation is low in general compared to other commission houses, sometimes even considered unfair Typically very KPI driven in general, hence merciless micro management. This also leads to some individuals mass spamming emails to candidates with irrelevant job experiences or some even calling their private phones just to meet call time targets Long hours (not because of work load, but because the senior is still around, and you WON'T want to be the one leaving earlier even though it is way after work hours) Be ready to anticipate work-related messages from your senior at non-office hours/weekends Team culture and mentality is too diverse among different teams, more of like a heaven and hell kind of situation Seriously political among seniors across teams

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I agree with you when you say that our workplace culture is lively and diverse — that’s something we’re really proud of. Of course, I was disappointed to read your comments about your experience with management, and if it’s alright with you, I’d like to get a few more details about your time with us so that I can look into what happened and how we can make things better for the future. If so, please feel free to email me at sommer.nisbet@robertwalters.com.hk and we can arrange a confidential conversation. Sommer Nisbet HR Director, Greater China

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Robert Walters Job Seekers

    Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Graduate Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Robert Walters? Share Your Experiences

    Robert Walters logo
    or