Rocket Internet Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Rocket Internet Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 356 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Rocket Internet CEO Oliver Samwer
Oliver Samwer
113 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced startup with some talented people from across the globe(in 35 reviews)

  • "Steep learning curve, the very best in performance marketing and digital marketing(in 32 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fast-paced experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet

    Pros

    Knowledge sharing, multinational opportunities, hands-on responsibilities, higher learning curve, roles flexibility

    Cons

    Few attention about details and product quality, too much money burned

    Rocket Internet2016-12-15

    Rocket Internet Response

    March 23, 2017HR Director

    Thank you for reviewing your time with us and sharing your thoughts on Glassdoor. All of the positive comments you have mentioned are completely in line with what we aim to provide for each of our employees. Our international Rocket network offers excellent career progression and ...

    Show More
  2. "fast-paced envirnoment- you will learn lots"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet full-time

    Pros

    steep learning curve, entrusted with lots of responsibility

    Cons

    lack of professionalism and terrible at gender equality and equity

    Rocket Internet2018-09-05
  3. Helpful (3)

    "They don't care about you at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rocket Internet

    Pros

    Very quick hiring process. Very analytically and numbers based so you get to learn about things like conversion rates and funnels... that you would never even think that matter, but they do. Teach you to pay attention to details.

    Cons

    I worked in one of the ventures and you dont really learn that much. Everything is done in Berlin and you just execute it, 95% of the tasks are really basic and str8forward. Pretty long hours (around 60 a week) and the pay ranges between really bad and below average. Per hour, I was getting half the minimum wage. The office culture is really tense and generally bad. MD's like to hire people from their own country (usually...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to care more about the employees or at least pretend you do. Try to empower people in the ventures a bit more, they have a lot of great ideas, but since they dont come from berlin, nobody listens to them.

    Rocket Internet2016-01-30
  4. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Rocket Internet

      Pros

      Big learning curve at the beginning and many responsibilities

      Cons

      Long hours and 'management by fear' company culture

      Rocket Internet2015-12-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Does not care for employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Rocket Internet full-time

      Pros

      very quick hiring process, competitive pay, you can get working experience in a start-up setting which can be stressful but forces you to learn a lot very quickly

      Cons

      Head office does not care for their ventures. A few people were told to go to Germany, had their tickets, insurance and other things prepared and was cancelled a few days before. Closed the company abruptly

      Advice to Management

      hire better qualified managing directors for your start--up. young and inexperienced MD with no financial knowledge does not make for a good company

      Rocket Internet2015-10-27
    • "BD"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Rocket Internet

      Pros

      Working with very intelligent people, lots of responsibility

      Cons

      Long hours (as expected with start-ups), iffy pay, lots of deliverables

      Rocket Internet2015-06-21
    • Helpful (3)

      "Great growth-potential and worldwide talented network"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Product Manager in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Rocket Internet full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Rocket Internet can provide you with a professional network of talented people for life, if you take it all in. All companies are growing quickly (or failing fast), so there's a great opportunity to climb the ladder really quickly, it's all about taking initiative and working hard.

      Cons

      - Long working hours - Many people want to work in Rocket, so you can easily get replaced - Underpaid or at least extremely hard to negotiate up to market-salaries (you would be taking the job for the above mentioned pros) - If you're looking to sit in Aeron chairs and have a Macbook and Mac-screens provided in a funky 'wanna be Google-cool' office space with free lunches and espresso-bar, you will get very disappointed....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      It is getting better than it was when I started, working-hour and 'perk'-wise. And I still have many friends working in Rocket, so I can hear it's getting increasingly better, also in terms of functioning like a concerned employer and not just a machine (which it sometimes could appear to be). It's good to hear. Keep on looking at what the rest of the world is doing, and you'll do great.

      Rocket Internet2015-03-18
    • "Submit to anything. Endure everything. A demented corporate psyche."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Sydney
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Rocket Internet full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The exit day arriving - eventualy.

      Cons

      Training. Development. Balanced reactions to issues. Knee-jerk responses. Failure on compliance. Failure on process. Internal blame & politics. No consideration of anything other than increasing the value of the Rocket exit. Employee turnover, etc, etc.

      Advice to Management

      Be more transparent at the hiring point whilst there might be an almost inexhaustible supply of young ex-consultants seeking a role this does not create a sustainable business.

      Rocket Internet2014-07-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fast and Fun"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - PHP Developer in Sydney
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Rocket Internet full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Lots of really smart people who adhere to the "work hard, play hard" mantra. Constant stream of interesting and challenging tasks which allows employs to grow professionally, and at a much faster rate than traditional companies.

      Cons

      The subsidiaries are, at least in their infancy, at the mercy of HQ's agenda, which cause sudden, drastic changes and not always of a positive nature.

      Rocket Internet2012-07-25
    • "Average experience at rocket internet"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Rocket Internet full-time

      Pros

      There was a steep learning curve which I thoroughly enjoyed. It is the place to go if you are highly motivated and driven

      Cons

      Small teams and high turn over in a number of start ups

      Advice to Management

      more structure and SOPs!

      Rocket Internet2019-06-05
    Found 356 reviews