Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Reviews

Updated 3 Aug 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Vice-Chancellor and President Martin Bean CBE (no image)
Martin Bean CBE
56 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It is not easy to get a job at RMIT(in 11 reviews)

  • "Many tenured academics are lazy and do not particularly care about students or teaching output - even though research output is minimal in many areas(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team is really good at the university

    Cons

    Management needs more strategic view .

  2. "Good University"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time

    Pros

    Good location in the centre of Melbourne City

    Cons

    Not the top 8 in Australia.

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    August 2, 2020Employer Branding Manager

    Thank you for leaving your review! We're working hard on our rankings! Check out this recent Research award we won last week: https://www.rmit.edu.au/news/all-news/2020/jul/hr-excellence-in-europe-award


  3. "Good University in Australia"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Melbourne

    I have been working at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    In the heart of Melbourne city

    Cons

    Not member of Group 8 University

  4. "great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Officer 

    I worked at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time

    Pros

    using cutting edge technologies for research

    Cons

    sometimes management is not really efficient

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    August 2, 2020Employer Branding Manager

    Thank you for your review of working with us at RMIT University!

  5. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Project Manager in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time

    Pros

    Diversity Inclusion Great pay Good additional benefits Good culture

    Cons

    It is not easy to get a job at RMIT.

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    July 19, 2020Employer Branding Manager

    Thank you for your review! We're so proud of our Diversity & Inclusion efforts; we're grateful you shared that here!

  6. "Computer Science at RMIT"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    RMIT takes a very practical approach to it's bachelor's course. This allows students to get real world experience before seeking a job

    Cons

    The curriculum faces the potential of becoming outdated without the intervention of new talent.

    Continue reading

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    July 19, 2020Employer Branding Manager

    Thanks for this review! Real world experience is what we strive for!

  7. "good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology part-time

    Pros

    Good science subjects teachers, very knowledgeable

    Cons

    chinese medicine major is lacking good acupuncture lecturers

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    August 2, 2020Employer Branding Manager

    Thanks for your review! We're happy to hear you had a great experience both as a student and employee!

  8. "Could be so good, but executive leaders are so full of ego and rushed decision making"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good salary, some great teams and people in amongst the mess

    Cons

    Ridiculously long hours Demanding leaders Rushed decision making Execs that roll out the slick corporate comms with zero authenticity behind the words

    Continue reading

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    August 2, 2020Employer Branding Manager

    Hey there, thank you for your honest review of working at RMIT. While this time has been really challenging for everyone, it's important that your opinion is heard. The pulse survey was a great opportunity to share your experience, but HR Assist is also a great resource to offer feedback and implement some change. Thank you, again.

  9. "Slow and political"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Melbourne
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Diversity was good and location

    Cons

    Lack of management and sometimes politics

    Continue reading

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    July 13, 2020Employer Branding Manager

    Hey there, thank you for leaving your review of your time working at RMIT. We are really proud of our diversity - pleased you felt that was a highlight of your time with us.

  10. "Pretty good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology full-time

    Pros

    workings are above average here

    Cons

    Don't have any, all is well

    Continue reading

    Royal Melbourne Institute Of Technology Response

    July 13, 2020Employer Branding Manager

    Thank you for your review!

Found 158 reviews