Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews

Updated 3 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
50%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Young, fast paced, creative environment(in 35 reviews)

  • "Great people, good company culture(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "Everything - not since gilt acquirement(in 33 reviews)

  • "There is no work-life balance in the BP department(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Limited Growth Opportunities"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Samples Manager in Shepherdsville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good healthcare benefits, flexible vacation policy (non-warehouse positions only), occasional free lunches

    Cons

    VERY limited growth opportunities, not all office locations treated equally, poor leadership at director level, company claims to put employees first but doesn't actually

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-06-03
  2. "Great Place to Work, Great Culture!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    RGG is the first place I've worked that I actually enjoy going to everyday. The people are great: they're hardworking, motivated, supportive and collaborative. All departments work with each other so you really get to know people from all across the company. The perks and benefits are great too (Summer Fridays, Bagel Fridays, strong health insurance, paid volunteer days, etc.). The leadership team is honest, transparent, and approachable, which I really appreciate based on my past work experience. There seems to be a lot of room for career development/growth, which is always a plus! Lastly, the company is passionate about their values and really centers everything around them.

    Cons

    None so far as I'm fairly new!

    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-05-18
  3. "A great place to build your career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible vacation time, smart and motivating coworkers, inspiring leaders and and accessible leadership team that are always open to hearing (and implementing) new associate ideas. RGG values their associates' talents and encourages internal mobility & promoting from within. Summer Fridays are also a nice treat!

    Cons

    Having several offices can sometimes lead to some information getting lost in translation, or non 'headquartered' offices feeling left out. RGG can work to better incorporate all offices in decisions, events, and important meetings.

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-05-15
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Don't apply to work here even in this economy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefits package, bagel Friday, lnnathons, hackathons, lots of free food and drinks

    Cons

    Where do I begin? Even before Covid, it was like this. Tech got all the favoritism, perks and money. Then creative, then the rest of the office. Get paid badly for doing two jobs, and they reward you with more work but no more pay. In fighting within top management and terrible communication. Very privileged group of associates who loved to complain about little useless things. However, HR was the absolute worst. HR Business partners get caught making fun of how new employees look, and yes, in the open for all to hear, and end up getting promoted. Chief People Officer fat shames people, talks trash, also in the open for all to hear, about employees who are leaving the company for a better one, and is mean to pregnant women. Culture is something they think if they talk about it enough, it will just happen.

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-05-09

    Rue Gilt Groupe Response

    May 15, 2020Chief People Officer

    I’m sorry and surprised to hear that this was your experience at RGG. This is definitely not the culture we strive for and not representative of our company core values that we work hard to embody. Kind is one of our core values and I am saddened that you feel this wasn't exemplified. I am particularly concerned about the claims made about our People Team as this is the first time I am hearing about this type of complaint and would like to discuss specifics with you further. As a company, we do not accept favoritism or discrimination at any level and it is strictly against everything we stand for. As a working mother and someone who is proud and supportive of our working parents particularly our RGG mothers, your statement is very troubling. Please contact me directly so that I can better understand your claims and respond appropriately.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Pay was great, company could use direction"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, compensation, career advancement

    Cons

    Management, no sense of direction

    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-04-21
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Unhealthy environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Integrated Marketing in New York, NY
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They offered a competitive salary

    Cons

    Dysfunctional, unhealthy work environment, catty people, high turn over

    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-05-25
  7. Helpful (8)

    "This place is a joke"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

    Pros

    Bagel Friday’s and can dress how you please, benefits are good

    Cons

    Everything else. This company is so poorly run. Has been around and continues to grow yet acts like a start up. Completely disorganized, unprofessional, promoted based on favoritism, treats everyone else as disposable, they lie, pay is terrible, not even worth as a “stepping stone” job. Definitely not a career place except maybe if you work in tech.

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-05-13

    Rue Gilt Groupe Response

    May 14, 2020Chief People Officer

    I am sorry that you had a negative experience at RGG. This is certainly not the environment and culture that we are striving for. Although we are no longer a start-up, we are a fast moving company and believe that making quick and thoughtful decisions has led to our success. We continually evaluate our compensation structure and certainly strive for a transparent and performance based culture; however, there is always room for improvement. I would like to hear more about your thoughts so please reach out to me directly to discuss further.

  8. Helpful (9)

    "Nice people, toxic company, terrible online store"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technology in Boston, MA
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing to work with.

    Cons

    Where do I begin. The technology is super old and there are no plans to fix it. Everyone in technology knows this and there’s nothing we’re doing that makes any sense because we are just 100 % in maintenance mode. We are not developing any new features to get people to enjoy the website and come back and buy what they’re looking for. The broken business model comes from the top, the CEO because they have never heard what people hate about our sites Rue La La and Gilt and likewise never been on literally any other online retailer to see how it’s done. Upper management is like this too. Just because everyone is nice does not mean what you say makes any sense at all. Flash sales were exciting 15 years ago but now they’re just confusing. You found something you like? Great. Please come back tomorrow when it’s not available. We’ve done user study after user study that says 100 % people just don’t “get” the business model and see the value. Also user studies tell us the mobile app is a terrible experience because you literally can’t search for things and the layout people find ridiculous and confusing. The company lacks any transparency at all. There are tons of big salary people we just don’t know what they do all day. We do a regular company survey about what we like and don’t like. They don’t make any changes based on that even though lots of people said they want to change it. We know this is true because the same negative things come up every single time. A special callout to HR is that they do nothing over and over again. They are silent and ignorant on all the things we expect them to be on top of. It is a running joke inside everyone in technology that HR is terrible.

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-05-11

    Rue Gilt Groupe Response

    May 15, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am sorry to hear that your experience working at RGG is so fractured. If you truly believe that the people are amazing to work with, then please reach out to me or someone else who can discuss your concerns as there are many business inaccuracies above. In the spirit of transparency, we are happy to share anything from our latest customer/user studies around the website and app experience. We believe in our business model and certainly hope that our employees share in our passion for our mission. Based on feedback from our employee engagement surveys, our People Team is always strategizing new ways to offer an engaging experience for associates. We continue to improve our internal communications with weekly business updates from our CEO and our department leaders. I hope that you will set up time to speak with me or your department leader so that we can work together to both improve your experience and better understand our business model.

  9. Helpful (10)

    "Bad Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free drinks Good hours Good website discounts

    Cons

    Management plays favorites Not sure how the company will weather the next few months. No sense of future direction for company growth VERY political environment

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-05-09

    Rue Gilt Groupe Response

    May 15, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for providing your candid feedback. We absolutely agree that our employees are smart and well intentioned, and believe that their great ideas are heard and are often put into action. Innovative is one of our core company values and many of our associates exemplify this value every day. We continually invest in management training to ensure that our leaders have the tools and skills to support and motivate their teams. We agree that cost cutting is not a long-term strategy but these past couple months have been challenging as a result of COVID and in order to continue to be a successful and profitable business we, like all companies in this environment, are more focused on expense management. I'm happy to speak with you further about your experience so please reach out to me directly.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Site Merchandiser"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Merchandiser in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with

    Cons

    Low pay for a n entry level job

    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-03-04
Found 501 reviews