Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews

Updated 12 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 474 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
56 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You do not practice you own core values Since buying Gilt you have kicked some of your best worker in the teeth to make room some(in 31 reviews)

  • "There is no work-life balance in the BP department(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Challenging & Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work is challenging, culture is great, leadership is strong

    Cons

    Sometimes there's a good amount of work to be done with a limited time frame but it's good stress to help the company move forward.

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-07-31
  2. "Good Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Merchandising Specialist 

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Work Life Balance enviroment

    Cons

    little career development help from management

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-08-13
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People, culture, promote from within

    Cons

    Nothing in particular to add to cons

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Poor compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual attire, and they offer perks but they don't deliver.

    Cons

    The culture here is very clique'y. A lot of favoritism and long hours worked for low compensation. Senior leadership is unorganized and prioritizes fun before meeting deadlines for other departments. Perks? The summer hours you can never take advantage of the samples sales that never happen.

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-08-12
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Buyer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance Promotes from within

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-07-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing team and colleagues, energetic community, solid work perks (401k, health insurance, summer Fridays, etc.), great location, upward and lateral mobility options.

    Cons

    Lack of transparency up and down the ladder. Reputation for poor management, but my own manager was AMAZING.

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-06-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Company closed it's Irish doors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Representative in Limerick, Limerick
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not many while working there. The occasional pizza was purchased for staff. Work life balance was awful, supervisors were operated a clique mentality, advancement was reserved for staff in the clique & there was spates of bullying from management in my time there, all of the above causing my great anxiety leading to me having to quit the job after 2.5 years.

    Cons

    The company has since shut it's Irish operations & restricted us from spending the account credits we were taxed on. They now refuse to either accommodate spending of the credits worth $900 or refund the taxed amount.

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-07-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Shepherdsvlle, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some nice and friendly people

    Cons

    Poor management abusive inhumane treatment worker due to heat they sit around in their office while we the back bones of this business sweat ourselves to death but who care not the Owner,CEO,HR, or Managers, Supervisor oh let not forget the safety guy. Also the favoritism that has been allowed grow with in is unreal sometime it right down unethical.This is a company all about money not people. You do not practice you own core values Since buying Gilt you have kicked some of your best worker in the teeth to make room some Gilt people instead of demoting them. And all the family and friends that work in the same dept or who was brought in put in position while though in house was denial. I been here awhile and seem a lot of dirty deeds maybe some outside help you correct these bad issue you refuse to fix

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-06-29
  9. "Great environment, little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Feature Writer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great, fun people and work environment.

    Cons

    Good job out of college but extremely low pay.

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-05-11
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Never knew how truly undervalued I was, until I went elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

    Pros

    Pockets of great people in various depts (however, if you are a kind person you usually get managed out) fun perks (parties; surprise & delights; summer Friday's) employee discount

    Cons

    A common theme that I learned from my own experience and those who have also left, was how shocked I/they were when they went to a new org. I had been beaten down so much emotionally, that it was odd when I was in a new company and people were kind/gave so much positive feedback. It took awhile to fully work through all of the emotional abuse that Rue had left on me. Friends I still stay in touch with report similar experiences This reputation is very much out in the Boston scene as well - many people have said back to me "I've heard it's toxic there" to which I confirm. The toxic culture stems from the following: There is inconsistent standards amongst employees (ie: some can come and go as they please); communication between sr leaders and teams is terrible; favoritism runs rampant (some individuals promoted yearly and some not at all); people continue to leave for same reasons yet nothing is done to change the situation (especially in some positions that can barely keep someone a year) yet no one looks at this attrition data and thinks "maybe there is a systemic problem here". There are so many incompetent leaders who have been there way too long and have too much political capitol to fire (even tho, it's more than obvious they are the problem). This is not a place where if you help out a team member or pick up more "undesirable" work tasks to help the team you'll be rewarded. It's a place that if you CYA, throw people under the bus, delegate tasks that you think are "beneath you" and genuinely don't care about people - you'll get a promotion. Kindness is not rewarded, it's a sign of weakness at Rue.

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-06-05
Found 474 reviews