SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar Reviews

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Peter Fowler
5 Ratings
  1. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I work with

    Cons

    Guests can be rude sometimes

    SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar2019-08-19
  2. "Awesome university job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked here all during university and it gave me good tips and flexible hours around my schedule. Not to mention coworkers are the best!!

    Cons

    sometimes not enough hours during slower seasons

    SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar2019-07-05
  3. "Good to learn and gain experience ,toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All-day healthy soda, free food, free sarcastic behaviour

    Cons

    Toxic Management, Unprofessional behaviour, Micro Managing

    Advice to Management

    If you want to get an idea of how this company is being operated, it is very comparable to George Orwell's 1984 novel. Other than that it was an absolute dream job

    SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar2019-07-06
  4. "Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Mississauga, ON

    I have been working at SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers and Management is pretty good

    Cons

    Virtually no possibility of becoming a server

    SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar2019-06-17
  5. "Worst Server Job Ever - Scaddabush Front St."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar full-time

    Pros

    Customers are nice, locations is convenient.

    Cons

    Management is constantly writing people up, once because a server accidentally forgot the correct shoes one time! They are unpleasant and bully employees making employees cry.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be constantly writing people up unless they really need to be punished. It doesn't teach people, it just makes them hate working there.

    SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar2019-06-04
  6. "BAD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar part-time

    Pros

    Amazing staff, super nice people.

    Cons

    Terrible Management. Not going to drop names but the one of the managers made me feel extremely uncomfortable.

    SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar2019-05-23
  7. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - flexible schedule - tips - great team - good energy

    Cons

    - overworked ( I worked 4 days straight with double shifts)

    Advice to Management

    Organize hiring and train more frequently, high turnover causes your employees that want to stay to feel overworked less energetic about working, and unhappy

    SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar2019-03-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "The worst place you can work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess/Server Assistant in Etobicoke, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    food discounts (if you get a break to eat at all), majority of staff is nice and great to work with

    Cons

    horrible, rude, unprofessional management, no breaks, no break room for employees, cut hours, dangerous and dirty working conditions, labour laws not followed for min. hours worked, breaks and double shifts, management has their faves and will completely ignore you if they decide they don't like you for whatever reason they decide and will talk to you like you are worthless in front of coworkers and guests. Also the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    stop treating new staff like they are just going to leave anyway, because they will do just that. Also, learn basic respect like saying 'hi' and 'bye' to employees and stop talking down on them and gossiping. Also, stop being so cheap on breaks and hours, we are humans,too, and we need to eat and pay bills like everyone else. Also, FOLLOW LABOUR LAWS. You all need a good refresher on that.

    SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar2019-04-05
  9. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training is super helpful and they set you up to succeed. Co-workers were awesome. Good food and discount.

    Cons

    Management is horrible and make work an unpleasant environment. Too much pressure from management to perform. They always criticize you, and never tell you what you're doing well. You take the stress of it home, which is crazy for a serving job. Just an observation, they tend to target females over males. Major power dynamics at play. They let stuff slide with some people, and crack down on others for doing the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone fairly.

    SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar2019-03-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Line Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar part-time

    Pros

    - great training - flexible hours - fun atmosphere - opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    - later hours sometimes

    SCADDABUSH Italian Kitchen & Bar2019-01-25
Found 47 reviews