SHI International Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

SHI International Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 578 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
SHI International CEO Thai Lee
Thai Lee
385 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunches & fun environment(in 34 reviews)

  • "Free food sometimes but its usually the same 10 choices and that gets old(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is so disconnected from the bottom that they have no issue with cutting pay each year and expecting the same results(in 27 reviews)

  • "Low pay, unless you're on the right team(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start, not possibly to finish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Account Executive 

    I have been working at SHI International full-time

    Pros

    Amazing training program for the first 3 month's. As long as you show up and give effort, they allow to to really grow into the role at your pace. You learn so much about the IT industry, from the major players to their best products. Really great time environment, you'll make great friends here.

    Cons

    Although the training is great as first, you have to attend them regardless of your tenure. even if you're in the role for 3 years, you'll have to go to every vendor training even if you know the info. Your quota does not often reflect the book you're given, some people hit the jackpot while others have to grind everyday to survive with their terrible book while their quota increases all the same.

    Advice to Management

    Tenure reps shouldn't have to attend the trainings you make them go to after a certain point. Also, stop putting too much training on reps calendars, I know it's important that you keep partner relations, but this role is difficult and taking away 2-3 hours a day on trainings that may or may not be relevant to the reps book really takes a toll mentally

    SHI International2019-08-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SHI International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Outstanding training Invest a lot in their employees Great management Excellent Engineers

    Cons

    No Cons at all

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the Great work!

    SHI International2019-06-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SHI International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Room for growth, great discounts, nice work environment, good food

    Cons

    Human Resources, Management, favoritism

    SHI International2019-07-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Somerset, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SHI International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, had bad experience

    Cons

    Bad management, I didn't see money for months and got paid the basic salary. Not like what I was told it would be like. Bad company for new grads and young people. Stay away

    SHI International2019-08-04
  5. Helpful (4)

    "I worked there for 3 yrs and got promoted once 6 months before I left for a better paying job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Returns Support Coordinator in Somerset, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SHI International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Internal promotions (eventually), and internal trainings

    Cons

    Terrible pay, the company favors sales reps, and 90% of the better positions require you to have SHI sales experience regardless if you have had previous sales experience before your even considered for a different department or position.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your on-sale employees better, and put out the money for higher education if only for your IT department to learn new software &and hardware that comes out.

    SHI International2019-07-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Stay away ... you have been warned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FSE in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SHI International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Guaranteed pay for 12 months.. it's the only way they can retain people....

    Cons

    I had 6 managers in my short timespan there. Their constant micro management , down to trip reports of every meeting that no one reads, to screenshots that have to be emailed to incompetent management as they cant access their own internal systems.. Spreadsheets upon spreadsheets that have to be compiled and constant updates of the same thing to multiple management layers adds no value to anyone... Expected 100% growth...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit or move to Florida to retire...

    SHI International2019-07-30
  7. Helpful (4)

    "You get what you pay for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Management in Piscataway, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SHI International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only positive thing is the on site gym is free.

    Cons

    Everyone is grossly underpaid. Toxic culture. Feelings of hopelessness everywhere and as a result, no one cares about their work. Extremely high turnover (people leave daily). Unorganized and outdated practices. Management is incompetent.

    Advice to Management

    You can't expect people to work fast and hard when you pay them pennies. Have a backbone when it comes to dealing with problem employees.

    SHI International2019-07-28
  8. Helpful (9)

    "IAE - SMSLED"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Account Executive in Somerset, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SHI International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -takes a while to get moving, but you can make money. -Great learning experience, met some great friends and learned valuable experience i use everyday at my Job i actually love.

    Cons

    - I felt like i was in high school all over again. The micromanaging was absolutely insane. Managers taking note how long bathroom breaks are, how long your conversations are with coworkers, looking through your phone calls. Have to leave 10 minutes early? Prepare for crippling anxiety and having to come in 30 min early. 2 minutes late? Prepare for a write up to HR. Wearing the wrong shoes? Prepare for a formal warning...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Raise your standards, and make this a real job. Treat people like adults. Every morning i used to hope i got a flat tire or someone rear ended so i wouldn’t have to come in. Work shouldn’t be that way.

    SHI International2019-07-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative, forward thinking, and cares about employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SHI International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No ceiling for income, lots of manager support, GMs care about employees, and autonomy to run ‘your business’ is earned and respected. Salary is competitive, benefits are above average, and I’ve made a lot of long-term friends.

    Cons

    Not really a con, but it takes 5-6 months to see those bigger paychecks but it is still worth it!

    Advice to Management

    Continue sharing the direction the company is going.

    SHI International2019-06-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "You are better off at HQ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Configuration Center Tech in Piscataway, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SHI International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits - medical, dental, 401K, vision, etc.

    Cons

    Starting pay for new hires is very low. Certifications are required for employment, however most of the work is NOT technical (asset tagging, scanning serial numbers, etc.).

    SHI International2019-06-28
Found 578 reviews