SMS Management & Technology Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

SMS Management & Technology Reviews

Updated 23 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 173 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Rick Rostolis
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "SMS provide a great platform for anyone to do interesting work as part of a team of great people(in 19 reviews)

  • "Better work/life balance than most consultancies(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Body shopping mentality; senior management don't value their staff; view everything through the lens of a CFO instead of an inspirational CEO(in 19 reviews)

  • "Flat structure with no career progression(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "No different to other firms: great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity exists in this company if you go out and find them . People moan that this firm is the only one to talk about billing and utilisation but I have worked in 2 others and guess what they also talk about utilisation and at a level higher than here. This is just professional services it's the industry we work in.

    Cons

    My colleagues expect something different at SMS but we all have to chip in and make this place as great as it used to be : no one person can do that we all have to do it. It's tough when sales are low as it impacts the consultants . Need more sales pipeline

    Advice to Management

    Drive sales harder : consultants go when sales people are not producing ..... seems ironic the sales person doesn't go !

    SMS Management & Technology2017-04-09
  2. "Great company, but lost its footing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people Great culture Good work life balance

    Cons

    Bums on seats Small projects No career growth

    Advice to Management

    Shouldn't have sold

    SMS Management & Technology2019-08-23
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Thank you for the growth in my life and the people who I worked with.

    Cons

    keeping consulants' salary at market rate

    Advice to Management

    Keep the name

    SMS Management & Technology2019-08-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Low pay and treated like a contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology full-time

    Pros

    There were some really experienced consultants but they have mostly left or been forced out with performance mgmt plans now.

    Cons

    You will never get a payrise even at the yearly review or bonus. You won't get a choice of assignments it's whatever client comes back first, you have to go there. Mgmt will put you in a role and you won't hear from them for 6 months or more. You will see how much you are getting charged out at to the client and compared to your salary there may be a huge difference and not much extra to working here than that of a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make the effort to recognise the efforts of consultants who are quiet achievers.

    SMS Management & Technology2019-05-25
  5. "Great place to learn and progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology full-time

    Pros

    - Opportunities to work across many different industries and types of projects to quickly learn and progress - Coaching and mentoring

    Cons

    - Body shopping culture at times

    SMS Management & Technology2019-03-31
  6. "Poor Management, Full of Bullies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology full-time

    Pros

    First 2 years was fantastic, well looked after. Continuous networking with multitude of consultants across different fields and different industries. Great Knowledge base.

    Cons

    Poor selection of management, continuous intimidation and bullying.

    SMS Management & Technology2019-03-18
  7. "Just a bunch of hot air salesmen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Canberra
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary paid on time Nice office location

    Cons

    1 Very pretentious 2 Too much pressure on networking rather than concentrating on technical subject matter 3 Egoistic managers 4 Useless after work hours office presentations/meetings 5 No real support from managers or colleagues 6 Body shop attitude The list can go on forever

    Advice to Management

    Close down the company

    SMS Management & Technology2019-02-09
  8. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SMS Management & Technology full-time

    Pros

    Access to many types of projects and clients

    Cons

    Clients can be tough, not for everyone

    SMS Management & Technology2018-10-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company that lost it's way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Practice Leader in Sydney
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues and culture, interesting work

    Cons

    Lost its way in the marketplace and ultimately imploded

    SMS Management & Technology2018-07-25
  10. "Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SMS Management & Technology full-time

    Pros

    Fellow consultants - inclusive, supportive and competent

    Cons

    Management Teams - arrogant, cliques, out of touch, glorified salesmen

    SMS Management & Technology2018-08-10
Found 173 reviews