SP Ausnet Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

SP Ausnet Reviews

Updated 23 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "A caring culture for over 10 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SP Ausnet part-time

    Pros

    I was offered amazing flexibility throughout my 10+ years. The MD is a man of high integrity, honesty and compassion.

    Cons

    Limited career progression in my particular area. Some workers stuck in the 'way we have always done it' mentality. Some silo mentality between divisions.

    Advice to Management

    Remember you are a team

    SP Ausnet2019-04-23
  2. "Avoid the Technology division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southbank
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SP Ausnet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are a few good people still there, but a lot of them are leaving after the March 2019 restructure.

    Cons

    Promotion and performance reviews are all about who you’re mates with, not capability. The project management group is about to become massively dysfunctional due to the new leadership structure. Very blokey, footy club type environment. Almost none of the training budget or development opportunities filter down below the senior managers.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t ignore the churn rate.

    SP Ausnet2019-04-06
  3. "data scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at SP Ausnet full-time

      Pros

      Nothing that I can really mention except good coffee machine.

      Cons

      it is a very bad place

      SP Ausnet2019-04-15
    • "Procurement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Procurement in Melbourne
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at SP Ausnet full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Friendly colleagues and beautiful location

      Cons

      - A feeling of management looking out for management only. - No career progression whatsoever. - Did not value helping their staff grow .

      Advice to Management

      Look after your operational staff more and provide more career growth

      SP Ausnet2019-02-08
    • "A typical old school"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at SP Ausnet

        Pros

        If you are lazy, nice place to hide yourself

        Cons

        Slow, bureaucratic, no upskilling, old fashioned management

        Advice to Management

        resign

        SP Ausnet2018-12-06
      • "ANONYMOUS HEY"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at SP Ausnet full-time

        Pros

        flexible working arrangements, central location

        Cons

        lack of leadership and too many consultants

        Advice to Management

        upskill your existing subject matter experts and stop paying consultants

        SP Ausnet2018-09-02
      • "Great Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Melbourne
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at SP Ausnet full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Flexible hours, no micromanagement. Good manager.

        Cons

        Not much career advancement, need to wait for senior to be promoted or leave. Top management keep shuffling.

        SP Ausnet2018-08-27
      • Helpful (6)

        "Operational Technology"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at SP Ausnet full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        CBD location, plenty of options for getting out at lunch. Building facilities; gym, change rooms, (need to pay yourself), bike parking.

        Cons

        Used to be a great place to work. Management is very top heavy, most of the useful people who did the work are gone (outsourced). ELT managers seem like politicians and out of touch with reality. Despite cost cutting, there is still lots of dead wood remaining and a largely incompetent outsourced model . Very limited career advancement in the OT space. If you are an average Joe, annual incentives are becoming harder to...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Several restructures from ELT level down are not working, reality is that poor decisions have been made over the last 5 years and those accountable have either benefited (bonuses) and or shifted the blame downwards. It might be time for a restructure beginning at the top level instead.

        SP Ausnet2017-08-31
      • Helpful (3)

        "Rather offshore for something called "Ausnet""

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - IT Monkey in Melbourne
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at SP Ausnet

        Pros

        Culture was good pre-outsourcing, filled with interesting people. Managers would stick up for you and protect you from interdepartmental BS, especially if you were lower in the food chain.

        Cons

        Outsourced, Outsourced, Outsourced. New offshore staff can barely speak English and grasp the concept of outside the box thinking when diagnosing complex IT issues.

        Advice to Management

        Ditch the Wipro, hire back onshore instead. Satisfaction across the board will be boosted.

        SP Ausnet2017-06-20
      • Helpful (1)

        "Passion and creativity comes here to die!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southbank
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at SP Ausnet full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Literally cannot think of one thing! OK... they have good return to work flexibility for new mums. Though on the topic of flexibility - WFH was all up to how your manager felt, I didn't feel comfortable along my manager.

        Cons

        A company stuck in the past. Feel like you can't be yourself at work. Haven't seen the CEO once since working here, he just sends emails as a way of communicating.

        Advice to Management

        XLT needs to be seen, show appreciation to your staff and reward employees - all of them, not just "talent"

        SP Ausnet2017-06-29
      Found 26 reviews