SYKES Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

SYKES Reviews

Updated 21 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
SYKES CEO Chuck Sykes
Chuck Sykes
1,323 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It can be a little tricky to maintain customer service scores but it is nothing major(in 78 reviews)

  • "I have nothing but good things to say about my time I have been with sykes but I've always enjoyed call center work(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to get new skills and develop professional skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Subject Matter Expert in Varsity Lakes
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people and the culture

    Cons

    Sometimes it's stressful but teammates are there for you

    Advice to Management

    Always find a way to help out someone in need

    SYKES2019-10-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Gold Coast
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You earn money to live

    Cons

    You have to work at Sykes

    SYKES2019-08-20
  3. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at SYKES full-time

    Pros

    Consistency with rosters and good penalties

    Cons

    Contradictory rules from management that affect stats.

    SYKES2019-08-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Coworkers are great, managers suck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Varsity Lakes
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people I met while working at Sykes were some of the best people, the coworkers make the place somewhat worth it.

    Cons

    Management sucks. Majority of team leaders have zero people skills, same goes for account managers. Most of the people they promote to be SME’s have NO idea about the products, or the services we can offer. I found myself knowing more than a majority of them. The systems are so horrendous that people take sick days because they’re anxious to use them. Customers are abusive and make you feel worthless, and there’s... barely any support from managers or account managers. When employees are genuinely sick and need to attend hospital, they’re guilted by the account managers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn to train your support properly. Get some people skills and stop tearing your staff like rubbish.

    SYKES2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Terribly draining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Gold Coast
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They try to be supportive and motivating

    Cons

    Horrible for mental health, draining as same calls day in day out, no room to progress and if you do there’s no pay rise

    Advice to Management

    Need to give people more opportunities in the workplace

    SYKES2019-08-27
  6. "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Varied role Supportive & understanding management Great amenities Excellent work/life balance Good starter rate/loading fee

    Cons

    Can get overwhelming at the start Abusive customers and a lot to learn - definitely not a job for everyone Settle in period may take longer than a typical job Job location not ideal

    SYKES2019-07-07
  7. "Great people to work but with low wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYKES part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team of people, have never worked in a place where people are so friendly

    Cons

    Management don't have necessarily have people skills, some have got the job because of their performance on the phone and knowledge of the business but lack management skills.

    Advice to Management

    Management need to relieve training on how to manage people not just have knowledge of the product/business. Can come across as unprofessional.

    SYKES2019-04-05
  8. "Good for a call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Varsity Lakes
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The management was very supportive - Nice atmosphere in the office - Full-time work

    Cons

    - No parking in the area

    SYKES2019-02-13
  9. "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYKES

    Pros

    Good Management, great working environment

    Cons

    I felt unappreciated at some point, also no career progression.

    Advice to Management

    Understand and reward your employees.Sometime a "thank you" goes a long way.

    SYKES2019-01-26
  10. "Garbage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CSO in Maitland, New South Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYKES for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers were good to work with

    Cons

    Literally everything. No career progression. Rubbish pay rate. Team leaders with no idea

    SYKES2019-01-12
Found 3236 reviews