Safeway Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Safeway Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4362 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO Bob Miller
Bob Miller
845 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "It was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology Specialist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I worked in IT and the environment was very supportive and friendly. I had terrific bosses who supervised well and made it a point to make sure that the job was getting done.

    Cons

    There is some politics that got in the way of getting things done.

    Safeway2017-06-29
  2. "It’s alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Courtesy Clerk in Union City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good for high school students Flexible hours

    Cons

    Not enough benefits No discounts

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Safeway2019-06-15
  3. "Loved My Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked with my schedule as a full-time student, gave great pay, supported my decision to within the company.

    Cons

    It can take a while to make top pay. One must make sure they know what they are doing to make the most of their time at Safeway/Alberton's. Benefits can be expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Support your team and encourage them as you are supposed to. This should be across the board not just store to store. The company needs to realize when they have a great employee and protect them. Everyone has room to grow; knowledge wise, no matter what title one may hold.

    Safeway2019-06-14
  4. "It's alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Helper Clerk in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At my specific store, I loved most of the management.

    Cons

    Management comes and goes which is good and bad, you either get a horrible manager nobody likes or an amazing one. Either way, they're gone in 4 months.

    Advice to Management

    Give clear expectations, it's hard to get a job done to the expectations of your manager if you don't know what they are.

    Safeway2019-06-11
  5. "I have desired to become a bookkeeper at Safeway."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bookkeeper in Monterey, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like to shop at Safeway a lot.

    Cons

    Most of their cleaning supplies are expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Prices for cleaning supplies should be reasonable.

    Safeway2019-06-11
  6. "Good flexible hours relaxed atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks in Damascus, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, relaxed atmosphere, paid time off

    Cons

    Minimum wage, cliques, regular grocery store stuff

    Advice to Management

    None

    Safeway2019-06-10
  7. "It's not the same as it used to be in grocery anymore."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier in Tacoma, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It's a job, that's it.

    Cons

    It could be better, but who knows when.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being greedy.

    Safeway2019-06-10
  8. "Good place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Security in Pleasanton, CA
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - team maturity - reasonable workload - company culture

    Cons

    - empire building within silos - lack of synergy between portfolios

    Advice to Management

    - work on ensuring that leadership is more about building synergy between the different groups rather than building their individual empires

    Safeway2019-06-09
  9. "Pharmacy assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Assistant in New Westminster, BC

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Just closing of 5 stores in bc

    Cons

    Everything awesome my team is best team

    Safeway2019-06-06
  10. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, understanding management, close

    Cons

    . . . . .

    Safeway2019-06-06
Found 4362 reviews