Safeway Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Safeway Reviews

Updated 20 de Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4490 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Safeway CEO Bob Miller
Bob Miller
877 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "It was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Information Technology Specialist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in IT and the environment was very supportive and friendly. I had terrific bosses who supervised well and made it a point to make sure that the job was getting done.

    Cons

    There is some politics that got in the way of getting things done.

    Safeway2017-06-29
  2. "Produce Clerk at Safeway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Maple Valley, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Sometimes you get to work with people you like - Medical benefits

    Cons

    - Management at different positions tend to have different ideas of what is important

    Safeway2019-09-20
  3. "There are no more specialists in this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Safeway full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to manage your own schedule

    Cons

    The workweek is over 40 hours to get the job done

    Safeway2019-09-19
  4. "Fast Pace. Didn't like being ranked on checking time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Checker 

    I worked at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff. Easy to pick up. A lot of support.

    Cons

    Not environmentally friendly. Kept throwing away their plastic bags in the garbage. Would rank checkers based on how fast they could get through customers

    Safeway2019-09-18
  5. "Good job, if you can manage."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Store Director 

    I have been working at Safeway full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good schedule for retail management

    Cons

    Time consuming during holiday season

    Safeway2019-09-17
  6. "UK Supermarket"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leaflet Distributor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Safeway part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Outdoor work, lone working, left to own devices

    Cons

    Bad weather sometimes, leaflets could be heavy

    Safeway2019-09-15
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safeway - Starbucks Barista in Estes Park, CO
    Recommends

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employees in the Starbucks kiosk and throughout the store are all wonderful to work with. Supportive, fast-paced environment to work in and a great opportunity to serve customers visiting from all over the world!

    Cons

    Hard to find enough employees during the busy Summer months but Vannessa, the manager, is great about working with everyone's personal schedules.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and don't trust applicants' resumes, actually check them out because too many people are not truthful about their experience.

    Safeway2019-09-11
  8. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bookkeeper in Belmont, CA

    I worked at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were great to work with

    Cons

    Customers were terrible and petty

    Safeway2019-09-11
  9. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Safeway part-time

    Pros

    Good pay Nice co workers Paid sick leave

    Cons

    Few breaks 10% discount Bad management Dirty breakroom

    Safeway2019-09-11
  10. "It’s just ok (get weird vibes)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Cashier in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Safeway part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fine hours Good work pace (fast afternoons slow evenings)

    Cons

    Few breaks Only 10 minute break for 7+ hour shift

    Safeway2019-09-10
Found 4490 reviews