Saga Group Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Saga Group Reviews

Updated 28 March 2019
123 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Lance Batchelor
56 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of communication from senior management" (in 9 reviews)

  • "The whole 'one Saga ' thing really doesn't exist when call centre staff are treated so differently from other parts of the business" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Anonymous manager in the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager
    Former Employee - Manager

    I worked at Saga Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Travel opportunities and great people

    Cons

    Top tier not on the pulse of employees

    Saga Group Response

    9 Apr 2019 – Recruitment Lead

    Thanks for your feedback.

    It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with Saga and I appreciate the review.

    Regards,
    Gary N


  2. "Good for part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hastings, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hastings, England (UK)

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good training to get you ready for your job
    Depending on your manager, good teams
    Nice christmas party

    Cons

    Quick turnovers
    A lot of changes to how things are run including lunches, team meetings, holidays, shift patterns, etc
    Senior management make big decision without fully considering staff

    Advice to Management

    There should be equal opportunities for customer service advisors. An employee got a secondment elsewhere (without any relevant experience) but other colleagues were not aware of this option.

    Saga Group Response

    9 Apr 2019 – Recruitment Lead

    Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

    All of our roles, including secondments, are advertised in line with our recruitment policy and as a current employee, you can view them... More

  3. "prospective employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time

    Pros

    if your face fits then you are ok

    Cons

    Recruitment team are very rude on the telephone - not a very good impression for any prospective employee

    Advice to Management

    look after the long term loyal staff

    Saga Group Response

    9 Apr 2019 – Recruitment Lead

    Hello and thanks for leaving the review.

    The recruitment team are always looking to act on feedback and as a current employee, I would welcome your help in improving our service.

    Please get in... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not the employer it once was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folkestone, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folkestone, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    opportunities to change roles

    Cons

    Uncompetitive salaries, loyalty counts for nothing

    Advice to Management

    Reward loyalty, look after your staff and they will look after you.

    Saga Group Response

    24 Apr 2019 – Recruitment Lead

    Hello there,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    Regards,
    Gary N


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Amateurs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folkestone, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folkestone, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I'm not sure there are any

    Cons

    Poor leadership, poor management, poor vision, poor business strategy, no communication across business units, disjointed, management little to no qualifications or experience for the roles - promoted within and then not trained for the role.

    Lack of best practice across all business units.

    Performance reviews, job scopes and requirements outside of the call-centres not completed correctly or fairly resulting in extremely disjointed pay between staff completing the same roles.

    IT equipment and systems extremely outdated with lack of investment or adequate overall technological vision to support business needs.

    Route to market extremely outdated and way behind competitors.

    Confused external brand and business model overall.

    Internal vision of 'one saga' - not carried through enough and lack of overall impact and identity

    Sites for staff to work in - dated and tired

    Confused working model for staff - 'agile' approach without the relevant guidance, vision, training, technology and environment. Completely counter productive or beneficial.

    Saga Group Response

    9 Apr 2019 – Recruitment Lead

    Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

    I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at Saga and would be happy to discuss your points further if you have time.

    Please... More


  6. "Glad I applied with a open mind."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ramsgate, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Ramsgate, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone I have met from the assessment day, to now have been so kind and welcoming! The training and support I have received has been the best experience I have had as a new employee, and I am 'mature' and had a varied career path! I am just completing my training, but feel I have been provided with the skills, and information needed to comfortably transition in to my role.

    Cons

    i cant think of any....

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Saga Group Response

    24 Apr 2019 – Recruitment Lead

    Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

    It's great to hear that you have found everyone so welcoming and that you applied with an open mind.

    Kind regards,
    Gary N


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Been working here for 3 years and love the opportunity and support I have been given. Business is changing and really listens to their employees

    Cons

    Can’t think of any

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your people, long term you will reap the rewards of this

  8. Helpful (1)

    "customer server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Folkestone, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Folkestone, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saga Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    perks good also daycare and great social life.

    Cons

    salary low, also management only concerned with progression

    Advice to Management

    care about those below you more


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Discrimination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service
    Former Employee - Customer Service
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Going home. Free parking. Private health care

    Cons

    The worst company. Do not work here unless MacDonalds has refused you. Seriously, walk away and go elsewhere. If you are disabled they discriminate as use a system called the 'Bradford score' to track sick days. This system stops you moving up the pay scales as if Bradford score too high they refuse to allow you to move up. Tough if you have a disability. Totally unethical. Managers don't listen and those at top really don't care.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up

    Saga Group Response

    24 Apr 2019 – Recruitment Lead

    Hello and thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

    We are a disability confident employer and welcome applications from everyone. We also have a confidential whistleblowing service that is... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folkestone, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Folkestone, England (UK)
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saga Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The ability to earn a decent amount of commission was there, provided you were willing to work at the company for several years. For a job that required very little expertise, the earning potential is high.

    Cons

    Stessful working environment, unsociable hours which are different every week, difficult to hit commission commission at higher levels which results in loss of all commission