Shopify Guru Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Shopify Guru Reviews

Updated 20 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
87 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Rapid growth was not handled well by management and Gurus suffered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guru in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good, hardworking teammates Working from home has its perks Nice benefits

    Cons

    - Management/leads did not convey expectations for the role, and they seemed to change constantly without notice or context, which was frustrating and I was often left feeling like I didn't know how to succeed in the role - No real room for career growth, because of how big the role is now, I would say don't hold out expecting this to be an 'entry' position as it might have been a few years ago

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-08-20
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great mission- guruland needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guru 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Easy mission to get behind: make commerce better for everyone - Visionary CEO - Working from home can be awesome - Great peeks + benefits - The guru role will give you a strong knowledge base not only of the Shopify platform, but also allows you to learn how to be an expert in commerce in general. If you are into business/entrepreneurship, this is a great way to learn and get paid at the same time. - People you work with are really genuinely nice. Your squad becomes your family. - Very progressive company in many ways when it comes to inclusion, diversity, mental health, and self care

    Cons

    Shopify is a great company to work for. If you are able to embrace the role of guru until mastery and then move on to something better, I think it’s a great stepping stone into other areas of the company. The cons below reflect my views of guruland. - Some gurus are straight up smarter + show more potential than their squad leads. From a high performer perspective, it’s tough to be coached by someone you know you can do the job better than. Unfortunately, if you want to advance and/or keep your position, you will need to get this person on your side and let them believe they are helping you so that they feel like they’re good at their job. - Reward for high performance is minimal. Even if you exceed your KPIs by 2x or 3x the expectation, the alleged “maximum” increase after a performance review is not much. If someone is putting up metrics that are equivalent to the work of 2 or 3 people, should they be getting paid only slightly more than the weakest link? - 30 min lunch is too short in my opinion. The issue is that scaling an extra 15 or 30 mins across hundreds of employees equates to a serious loss of productivity. I still think it would be worth it for employee morale, but there’s no data to show that. - Middle management and upper-middle management have some blind spots when it comes to the front line. Sometimes it feels like they are too removed. I’d love to see them hop back into the job 1 full day per quarter to regain perspective. - I don’t think the comp increase to go to a squad lead matches the responsibility increase. - advancement into another role is a grind. You can go through multiple rounds of interviews to find out that they are no longer hiring for that role. - internal talent movement can be better leveraged. The talent available in guruland is very high, but I feel like many high performers are not being used to their full potential. - the kool aid is good at first, but after a while it’s just kool aid, and you can spot it very easily - sometimes you will interact with incompetent and or disrespectful people.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-07-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Defiantly the best company I’ve worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and actually care for you and encourage you to use all your vacation and personal days. Wants to see you grow and move up in the company

    Cons

    None so far - been very welcomed. Working remote doesn’t feel remote with the amount of time you spend and talk with your squad

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-07-27
  4. "Great place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, Engaging, Maximizes your growth, Great benefits

    Cons

    There have been no cons here so far

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-07-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "The culture is great, the job not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the people in Guruland are amazing. Perks are okay and working from home is amazing.

    Cons

    The job is ultimately a customer service one in which you have to support everything - Paypal, Google Analytics, Amazon...literally all the integrations available, not just the actual platform. Worse though is the difficulty in switching roles - if you're hired as a guru and want to move to a support position, you can pretty much forget it unless you're up for some serious remote networking. Despite claims to the contrary, this company is not a meritocracy.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-07-16
  6. Helpful (17)

    "Guruland is drowning. This will harm your mental health."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Guru in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits package is very good, however it doesn't include vision for some reason.

    Cons

    The position of guru is touted as being the perfect stepping stone into the company. I can tell you, flat out, that is a lie. If you don't know someone (have an 'in' with someone from that department) you will not be hired into a new role. Guruing is hard work. The platform changes everyday and you are expected to change with it. New features are expected to be learned (without adequate time to train and practice). Some features are removed with little notice and we are expected to explain why to upset merchants (with ~positive positioning~ and offering them a chance to pay more money for a different plan than what they currently have). Shopify seems to pride itself on being a cool, hip place to work. However, guruland is drowning. There's not enough being done to show care for gurus mental health. We're told that 'breaking' is completely normal and expected. Isn't it sad that a company is telling their employees, the front line faces of their company, that yes, you will have mental breakdowns while working here? Gurus aren't afforded the same leave benefits as the rest of the company. Most of the weekends up to the end of the year are already booked. Vacation is very, very structured and if you don't book it right away you will not get it. I know I'm complaining, but it's all I can do to help future gurus who apply for this position. Please know what you're getting into when you apply. It's a stressful, relentless, mentally exhausting job. You will experience burnout and it will harm your mental health.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-06-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Guru"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru in Galway
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, very interesting job, good perks

    Cons

    3 simultaneous chats are stressful even for tenured gurus. You often end up giving poor support. No scheduled breaks during the day apart from the 30 minutes lunch break. They say you are allowed to step away from your computer for 10 minutes twice a day, but with overlapping chats it is practically impossible.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-07-20
  8. "Highly Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru in Wellington, Wellington
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome Training, Benefits and company to work for. Squads are very close and easy to collaboratively work with. Good growth opportunities at the time.

    Cons

    Remote working can be hard, more Pop-Up events to hang out with work mates. G

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-07-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Support is The Matrix"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The OVERALL culture of the company is great.

    Cons

    The culture of the Support department is your typical clique, "boys club" atmosphere, where if you aren't part of the "crew", your performance doesn't matter, and they will look for any reason(s) to get rid of you. The rest of the company is blinded to this fact, which is why I refer to the support department as though it's The Matrix.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-07-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Needs work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guru in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    $5k spending account Uppermost management seems intelligent

    Cons

    No scheduled breaks except lunch - leads to Gurus being overworked and stressed Management blames Gurus for busy queues and other problems Too much on your plate - Gurus should be experts in sections, not jacks of all trades Fake trust batteries - they talk about trust and communication, but the more experienced leads are all about manipulation and backstabbing Fake culture - pretend to be happy and you'll go far. Tell the truth and be shunned. Incredibly unorganized - large company that thinks it's a small business. Taxes are messed up between provinces, holiday time and sick time is not well tracked, and that is not communicated to you until you're out of paid time off.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-06-25
Found 118 reviews