Shopify Guru Reviews

Updated 8 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
46%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
101 Ratings
  1. "Amazing company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guru 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic culture and outstanding values. Would highly recommend for someone wanting to develop a strong work ethic.

    Cons

    You can feel like just another number

    Shopify2020-05-08
  2. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Guru 

    I worked at Shopify part-time

    Pros

    Flexible, and a good place to work

    Cons

    there are long hours sometimes

    Shopify2020-04-28

    Shopify Response

    May 7, 2020Social Care

    Hey, there! Thanks for leaving a review, it's really appreciated! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us while you were here. It's true that the workload can be tough sometimes, especially as the platform grows to accommodate more and more merchants. Here, we are merchant obsessed: Merchants depend on us to invent products that allow them to support their livelihoods. That being said, it is important to take time for yourself so you can relax and recharge. No one can work to the best of their abilities if they are feeling stressed or overworked, so it is definitely recommended to make use of personal days when needed. Vacation days too! Thanks again for leaving a review!

  3. "Guru"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guru in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay. Company cares about its employees

    Cons

    Taking call after call can be very draining Have to do 3 chats at one time.

    Shopify2020-04-14

    Shopify Response

    April 28, 2020Social Care

    Hey, thanks so much! It's great to hear you enjoy working with us. The products we build here are critical to our merchants' livelihoods and the success of their businesses. Our employees are vital to that product, so we absolutely care! The workload can be tough; especially as the platform grows and we have more and more merchants to support. Your wellbeing is important, so do be sure to reach out to your Squad Lead or HR rep if you would like to request some personal time to rest! In the meantime, I can pass your feedback along to our Support Solutions team so they are aware of this pain point. Thank you again for the review!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Remote Shopify Success Guru"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote 

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Offices, Culture, Lifestyle Spending

    Cons

    High stress, burn-out, lack of diversity

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-04-23
  5. "Best company ever"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After several bad experiences with corporates businesses, Shopify has showed me a light at the end of the tunnel. First of all, they treat you like a human being and as a person, and if you have any issues in your private life they will help you out as much as they can. And in Shopify you're supporting merchants as a Guru where they have an online store, and if they run into any issues or you're helping them out with any advice that you can give them. After one year of tenure with Shopify I still can't believe how they treat their employees. Everyone is so caring and everyone helps you out as much as they can. And trust me when I say that you're not a number here. I spoke with some CEO's and Directors and they're normal people like us, they'll listen to you and they will take your feedback very very seriously. Pros: 1. Working from home - I never thought that working from home will be so fun and relaxing. After spending 5 hours a day on commute on previous job, working from home came as God given! More time with family and kids, drastic saving either on public transport or on car fuel and no more spending €10-15 on lunch in cantina. 2. Amazing colleagues and Team Managers - These people will give their hearts out to help you out, and no backstabbing! 3. Perks and benefits - Every year you get a significant amount of € bonus (trust me when I say significant) to expense it as you want it. - Fully covered private health care and full paid by Shopify - 20 days of holidays and 10 personal days (call it sick days but they aren't) so technically you have 30 working days of leave. 4. Professional development - If you want to learn more about your job or if you think that an online course or a book will help you out, Shopify will cover the expenses. 5. Loads of training each week that you get allocated outside of live channels or Professional Development time too. 6. Salary - Salary is amazing when comparing same role with Apple. I'm not going to mention Amazon as they are paying peanuts compared to Shopify and they don't brainwash you like the others. Just to add, this isn't a manager review, I'm a Guru here in Ireland and my family means everything to me! I used to commute 5 hours a day before Shopify to bring bread in our house, my little kids didn't even see me, in morning when I would leave nor in evening when I would come back home. My relationship with my children has drastically improved because I'm working from home and you're always there for them if anything happens! I know that some other reviewers will complain about Social life balance because we're working from home. If someone isn't capable of going out to a pub or to call their friend to meet up after they finish their shift then something is really wrong with these people. And I've been super productive while working from home, no dress code...nothing. No 50-100 other people around me laughing, talking, coughing, sneezing, creating distraction which would distract you. So yes, this is a place for me to stay!

    Cons

    Handling 3 chats at the same time can be daunting!

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-03-23

    Shopify Response

    March 31, 2020Shopify Representative

    Hey! Thank you for taking the time to leave such thorough and helpful feedback. It’s heartwarming to hear how positive your experience has been overall since you joined Shopify. It’s particularly great to know you feel heard and you feel everyone is approachable and caring, even at the executive level. I’m glad you see working from home as a positive and you’re achieving a better work/life balance and getting more family time since joining Shopify. That is important for sure. The Talent team at Shopify work hard to continually review our perks and benefits to ensure we remain competitive and employees can tailor their package to their lifestyle. They will appreciate your great feedback here. Support Leadership have been asked in the past why gurus are handling 3 chats at once. The research they have done indicates this is the best way to handle the volume of chats we get, especially since there is often a delay in one merchant responding. Being able to handle other chats while you wait on them coming back tends to be more efficient. That being said, I will certainly send this feedback on for you as I know they are constantly reviewing our processes. I hope you’ve also discussed it with your lead. They are likely to have suggestions on managing this. Another thing I find helpful is discussing this in a meeting with the rest of your squad. Everyone has different techniques on how they handle their chats so brainstorming together can be helpful in coming up with new ideas on how best to manage your workflow. Again, thank you for your thoughtful feedback!

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Remote Guru 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Schedule, Colleagues, Vacation, Job Duties

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-03-10

    Shopify Response

    March 24, 2020Social Care

    Hi, thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your time with Shopify and found so many things beneficial. Transparency between all levels is something that is highly important. Based on input from the team, we have reconfigured the Quality Assurance model in 2019 and have received very positive feedback from both support leads and Gurus, as expectations of the role are clearer. Compensation reviews are based on individual performance; some areas that are assessed are your level of impact on your role, on your team, and on our merchants. It is always possible to reach out to a squad lead or an HR rep for more information. Thank you again for your feedback!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Made to feel old and worthless!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Guru 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    See pros aren't pros, because they are to pay off the cons. So nope, not worth it.

    Cons

    Sink or swim, they don't care. They do not help you in areas you are struggling with, they just consistently bash you with terrible QA. All about the merchants! During the Covid we have been taken abuse from merchants, have to take it BC they are under stress! What about us? Just BC we work does not mean this situation isn't affecting us! Let's push our support over the edge. If you have a lead who cares, your golden, if not, crash and burn. People off of work stressed because they fire people for no reason, other than, the SL doesn't like you. HR is so full of themselves, flouncing her I'm better than everyone else attitude, upper management so disillusioned about how great Shopify is. Workers are a number, easily replaced. You aren't a millenial, goodluck surviving! They don't care, they are hoping you will quit. Don't like it here, bubye is their motto.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-04-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "The Real review of the Guru role"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working remote, good co-workers, time for professional growth, team building activities

    Cons

    lots of overtime, can be fired at any time, no opportunity of growth, hard to get time off, isolated from other product lines that work at the office

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-03-07

    Shopify Response

    March 16, 2020Social Care

    Hi, there. Thanks so much for taking the time to give such candid feedback, it’s always welcome. I’m glad to hear you enjoy your time with your co-workers and working on team-building exercises. We understand how important it is that you are surrounded by good people in a positive work environment. Professional growth is something we encourage in every employee. We build for the long term here; having the time to explore your areas of interest and becoming an expert in your role means you can provide the best advice for the merchants, and that you will enjoy a long career at Shopify. I’m sorry to hear you've experienced issues with overtime. You are scheduled for 8 hours shifts and are not required or expected to work past those set hours. I would recommend speaking to your Squad Lead, or if you would feel more comfortable, you can reach out to your HR representative. The same thing applies for growth, this is something your Squad Lead is responsible for advocating. If you’ve come across any situations where you feel like you weren’t given the best chance to advance in your career here, please reach out to your lead or your HR rep. Regarding dismissal, we believe strongly that feedback is a gift and ensure that employees receive extensive coaching and performance management. We take these hard decisions seriously and with limited exceptions in cases of gross misconduct, a dismissal would never come as a surprise to an employee. Remote working can definitely have its challenges; meeting other teams is one for sure. It can be hard to meet or speak to new teams outside of your own squad or Guruland itself! We have a Sidekicks program that will match you with a random person in order to chat via slack and foster new relationships. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback, hearing honest feedback like this is how we can improve and grow in the future.

  9. Helpful (5)

    "High stress"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are truly out of this world. Not sure if they are worth sticking around for but definitely better than other companies and jobs of similar nature.

    Cons

    Where do I even start? The training is very rushed and fast paced - you cover the absolute basics of this massive platform to then after six weeks go into “guru land” and support people on things you never even heard of. My own trainer described their first year working in Shopify as “everyday I started my shift I felt like I was driving off a cliff” and this is how I feel constant stress and pressure because each day I will be expected to support something I have no training in. THREE CHATS!! I shouldn’t need to elaborate but let me, No matter how long you’re here three chats is a daunting task and creates an extremely poor service especially as many merchants want their issue solved immediately. Imagine having to chat with three people, launch their stores, their admin etc, troubleshoot their issue or find info and then having to try business coach them towards the end of the chat it’s simply too stressful and borders near impossible for many. Some people might like it but two should be the Max and opt into three if you’re comfortable as opposed to pressuring people into three. Calls are somewhat nicer as at least then you’re only dealing with one person so you have breathing space. Throughout training and mentoring you’re given rather vague feedback and told you’re doing great to only then go into guruland and be ripped apart by your squad lead. Who will tell you it’s normal to know very little but then absolutely obliterate you for not knowing something and providing inadequate support. There’s simply no win! Escalated teams don’t work on live channels so everyone is rushing to get into those squads. This again creates a pretty harsh environment for gurus as you cannot simply escalate a problem and see it’s sorted quickly. The platform itself does seem well designed but has far too many flaws and allows dare I say too much customisation? This is fine for those who are actually able to code but 9 time out of 10 it is somebody following a help article that gets it wrong, contacts support, support don’t know how to code so are reading from the exact same help document and stressing themselves because they don’t know the answer. It’s toxic and really hard to deal with. There is zero pay for working extra hours, which is expected. Especially as you begin with the company a lot of your live interactions will be pushed to emails as you simply don’t know the answer. This in turn leads to a huge personal queue which you have 45 mins to get through, 15 mins in the morning and 30 in the evening. I have often had to stay way past my shift finish time as this “get it done” culture is embraced despite the stress and work life imbalance it creates. There is so much more I could say here but writing this even makes me stressed and sad. I don’t see myself lasting much longer in the role, the stress and pressure is too much and unfortunately this is common right across the company. Turnover is high due to the ridiculous demands and expectations.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-03-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "It's a really great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, good salary, paid sick days, awesome coworkers and okey benefits

    Cons

    very, very high stress. You have to be tough to do this job. It burns everyone out at some point and it can be really overwhelming.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-05
Found 145 reviews