Shopify Software Engineer(Internship) Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Find jobs for Software Engineer(Internship)

Shopify Reviews

Updated 9 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 426 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
320 Ratings
  1. "10x your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A company that encourages you to learn and push yourself further every day. It values ownership, accountability, learning and thriving on change.

    Cons

    Work environment can get somewhat stressful from time to time.

    Shopify2019-07-09
  2. "It's a great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Customer Success Representative in Wellington, Wellington

      I have been working at Shopify full-time

      Pros

      Growth mindset, so much to learn about e-commerce, great culture, great benefits

      Cons

      Due to the fast-paced nature it can be stressful at times

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing!

      Shopify2019-07-09
    • "Highly Recommended"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Success Guru in Wellington, Wellington
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Awesome Training, Benefits and company to work for. Squads are very close and easy to collaboratively work with. Good growth opportunities at the time.

      Cons

      Remote working can be hard, more Pop-Up events to hang out with work mates. G

      Shopify2019-07-06
    • Helpful (9)

      "Guruland is drowning. This will harm your mental health."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Support Guru in Ottawa, ON
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits package is very good, however it doesn't include vision for some reason.

      Cons

      The position of guru is touted as being the perfect stepping stone into the company. I can tell you, flat out, that is a lie. If you don't know someone (have an 'in' with someone from that department) you will not be hired into a new role. Guruing is hard work. The platform changes everyday and you are expected to change with it. New features are expected to be learned (without adequate time to train and practice)....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Honestly, gurus need to be listened to. Guruland is drowning because there are way too many merchants and way too many shiny, new features being rolled out everyday. On any given day I could receive up to 10 emails telling us to prepare for new features. Merchants call in expecting gurus to know how to use these things. If we don't have training until the following week how can we effectively help people with new products?...

      Show More
      Shopify2019-06-28
    • Helpful (2)

      "Very healthy and challenging"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Web Developer in Montreal, QC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - We have a modern stack; - There are always people to help you on Slack or to do pair programming; - They have an inclusive design system; - I can focus on coding, there are not so many meetings; - My lead knows web devlopment; - It's remote friendly, they provide you a MacBook Pro; - The office is nice and quiet; - Free breakfeast, free lunch, free snacks.

      Cons

      It takes a lot of time to gather context and to feel comnfortable on your project.

      Shopify2019-06-22
    • "Love working here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - User Experience Lead in Toronto, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - flexible work-life balance - own your own development and take charge of your career - incredibly support team and support staff

      Cons

      - must be able to thrive with a certain level of ambiguity

      Shopify2019-06-26
    • "Great working and learning environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Researcher 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Fast-paced growing company -International growth -Culture -Possibility to learn a lot

      Cons

      -A lot of information - Onboarding was great but the first few months were hard to catch up with the speed

      Shopify2019-06-25
    • "Good culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Developer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Shopify full-time

      Pros

      People here are genuinely nice

      Cons

      The company is getting larger making it harder to be a generalist

      Shopify2019-06-24
    • "Great environment, great people, overall amazing place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Content Strategist in Ottawa, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - No end of great people to work with - Very flexible work environment - Tons of thought being constantly put into the way the company is run - We work on some pretty awesome stuff

      Cons

      I can't really think of anything to say for cons

      Shopify2019-06-22
    • Helpful (4)

      "Poor Upper Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Calgary, AB
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Constant learning, work from home (no commuting), great teams

      Cons

      Management very young with no experience, schedule horrible have to work every holiday, tied to the desk hard to even take a potty break, 3 technical chats at the same time saying do not need to code but you do. They made many training errors and threatened to fire immediately instead of taking responsibility for their errors.

      Advice to Management

      More training on how to handle employees so they are not just what they produce and just rated on leaders opinions rather than actual mistakes to weed out too many hires; look at why mistakes are made at the training level.

      Shopify2019-06-26
    Found 426 reviews