Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Shopify Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 428 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
322 Ratings
  1. "Great environment, great people, overall amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Strategist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - No end of great people to work with - Very flexible work environment - Tons of thought being constantly put into the way the company is run - We work on some pretty awesome stuff

    Cons

    I can't really think of anything to say for cons

    Shopify2019-06-22
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Poor Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Constant learning, work from home (no commuting), great teams

    Cons

    Management very young with no experience, schedule horrible have to work every holiday, tied to the desk hard to even take a potty break, 3 technical chats at the same time saying do not need to code but you do. They made many training errors and threatened to fire immediately instead of taking responsibility for their errors.

    Advice to Management

    More training on how to handle employees so they are not just what they produce and just rated on leaders opinions rather than actual mistakes to weed out too many hires; look at why mistakes are made at the training level.

    Shopify2019-06-26
  3. "Canada's Most Loved"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Greatest place to work on earth

    Cons

    Trying to find another company to work for that's as good

    Shopify2019-06-18
  4. "Challenging but Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Expansion Pack in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, colleagues in SF are wonderful, regular travel opportunities, interesting problems to work on, growth opportunities, great benefits.

    Cons

    Some internal politics and battles for resources (but I've seen much worse). It can be challenging to be a small US office of a large Canadian company but the HQ offices are getting better at remembering about us.

    Advice to Management

    I have high confidence in the way things are going.

    Shopify2019-06-14
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Needs work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guru in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    $5k spending account Uppermost management seems intelligent

    Cons

    No scheduled breaks except lunch - leads to Gurus being overworked and stressed Management blames Gurus for busy queues and other problems Too much on your plate - Gurus should be experts in sections, not jacks of all trades Fake trust batteries - they talk about trust and communication, but the more experienced leads are all about manipulation and backstabbing Fake culture - pretend to be happy and you'll go far....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do better.

    Shopify2019-06-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "An experience like no other"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Shopify has the best culture you could imagine and the best benefits. I've created some of the best friendships of my life here.

      Cons

      It's very fast paced and you need to be prepared to GSD everyday

      Shopify2019-06-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Happy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Guru 

        I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Working from home, flexibility, learning opportunities

        Cons

        Weekend work, difficult to disconnect

        Shopify2019-06-05
      • "Customer success guru"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Success Guru in Galway
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Nice people, great benefits , good training and really thorough resources for doing the job

        Cons

        Can be lonely working remote didn’t feel like I was friends with my coworkers that said everyone was really nice.

        Advice to Management

        Hard not to feel under pressure from trainer to go up to three chats

        Shopify2019-06-09
      • "great job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Shipping and Receiving in Ottawa, ON
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        great place to be at

        Cons

        none like it here a lot

        Advice to Management

        be better at doing good

        Shopify2019-06-21
      • Helpful (3)

        "Best Training Program I've ever seen"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Customer Support Guru in Ottawa, ON
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        -Great training, (4 weeks of training, 2 weeks of mentoring) makes you feel confident going into the job. -Work from home is amazing -Pays better than similar jobs -Benefits and League spending account are amazing.

        Cons

        Working Some stat holidays sort of sucks, but you DO get 2.5x your pay for that day.

        Advice to Management

        Keep it up, maintain those open lines of communication :)

        Shopify2019-05-24
      Found 428 reviews