Shopify Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Shopify Reviews

Updated 24 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 514 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
380 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Best Training Program I've ever seen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Guru in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great training, (4 weeks of training, 2 weeks of mentoring) makes you feel confident going into the job. -Work from home is amazing -Pays better than similar jobs -Benefits and League spending account are amazing.

    Cons

    Working Some stat holidays sort of sucks, but you DO get 2.5x your pay for that day.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-05-24
  2. "CUSTOMER SERVICE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    I dont think there are any.

    Cons

    EVERY aspect of this job is terrible.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-07-08
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Past its hayday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great product. Great CEO that is truly looking to increase global entrepreneurism through his company. Very nice people, some exceptionally bright and creative. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Nepotism and politics are ripe, and unfortunately management is mostly blind to it. Lots of unqualified people in very senior roles, which trickles down to mid-level roles and then onwards to individual contributors. It's very hard to find a team of true A-players. A lot of the standout A-players have either left, mysteriously disappeared (or got fired?) or find themselves in high management roles that are not suited to them. My biggest worry is that management is blind to the amount of politics cause they're getting what they want to hear from incompetent subordinates. The stock price is definitely a lagging indicator of the quality of the company, and is more a reflection of its haydays a couple of years ago. Salary is slightly below market these days because they haven't revised their salary bands in some time - at least for product development roles.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-05-23
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote in Okanagan, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home. There are alot of company incentives and benefits.

    Cons

    You have to be good at selling the plans.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-07-03
  5. "Shopify Guru"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Awesome benefits, extremely supportive environment, exciting company

    Cons

    Very few - can be overwhelming when entering Guruland

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-06-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Best company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Localization Lead in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, extremely supportive colleagues, top-notch leadership, great perks and benefits and work-life balance, really smart, engaged and proactive employees. The level of ownership is unreal. It's by far the best place I've worked at!

    Cons

    Shopify moves extremely fast. As a result, sometimes it can feel chaotic, but we're encouraged to act as owners, which is a potential drawback that I actually see in a very positive light.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-05-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "I love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Kelowna, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture. I've never seen anything like it. It operates and grows like an organism. Do your job, have high impact and don't betray trust, you will do great here.

    Cons

    Support pay is ok, but it's a struggle to make ends meet. Stock price and returns are great but I am saving them for retirement as there is no pension fund.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-05-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve worked at a few companies before Shopify, and a few things really stick out to me: * There are a lot of insanely smart people here, who are willing to share ideas and help you learn * I love the no-asshole rule * It’s refreshing to work at a place where senior leadership actually lives by the core values and principles

    Cons

    * It’s a _very_ fast paced environment, and you have to be comfortable with that. I personally love that aspect of it

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-05-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The best place I have worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mobile Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing perks, stock options, work life balance, mostly good people. Great culture, lots of freedom to tailor your role at the company to your needs/interests.

    Cons

    Some people have golden handcuffs and it shows in their attitude towards work. Some people are coasting, but other than that it's really good.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-05-27
  10. "A Wonderful Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Benefits, Autonomy, Experience, Culture, Colleagues

    Cons

    -Work/Life Balance -Fast growth (this is a pro & con)

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-05-30
Found 514 reviews