Shopify Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
406 Ratings
  1. "Best place I've ever worked"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Corp Dev in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    next level leadership, mission, perks, & performance. there will be books written about how this company is managed so differently from others.

    Cons

    scaling is always hard; keeping the very unique ethos and culture as we go global

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-01-30
  2. "Guru"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Pays well, treats you well

    Cons

    Remote work can be difficult

    Shopify2020-01-27
  3. Helpful (8)

    "I'm really into stories about cults, but I didn't mean to join one.."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -you get a lifestyle spending account

    Cons

    -if you have a brain that you like to use for critical thinking, you have to keep it on the down low, or they will catch you

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-19
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great company and great job but you might start lookig to move up quickly"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Safety Manager in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Remote work Opportunity to be creative Learn about running a business from the merchants you speak to Lots to learn in a short time Great benefits

    Cons

    Can get tiring quickly, emotionally and mentally Pay for the amount of work can seem like little compared to other positions Can be hard to grow into other positions when you're busy focusing on this job

    Shopify2020-01-14
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Unfair Compensation"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good benefits - Learn a lot about business and ecom

    Cons

    - Have not received a pay raise in 2 years of being a full time employee - Expect us to work extremely hard, and past 40 hours a week - Unfair compensation grading - Extremely rough, mentally deteriorating work conditions for the amount of work and level of quality we are expected to meet - Very discouraging to continue working for them making a couple dollars over minimum wage

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-20
  6. "Worth the investment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Guru - Remote 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work life balance Salaried pay Health benefits

    Cons

    Can be stressful Lots of multitasking A lot of responsibility

    Shopify2020-01-17
  7. "Great Company to grow together!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Vilnius
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot for benefits plus a great customer valuation and overall vibe

    Cons

    Big company, hard to stay up to date on ongoing things

    Shopify2020-01-15
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Cult of groupthink. Avoid if your a critical thinker, or if you want work life balance."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Engineer in Waterloo, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of fattening, luxurious food. open bar on site Interns get a retreat where wild stuff always seems to happen Great learning environment Smart people Very cool product Beautiful art stuffed office. VR arcade in office 'perks perks and no perks'

    Cons

    -culture of dishonesty surrounding their product and how many merchants they actually have vs just people owning accounts -out of control progressivism, with patches of hyper political correctness- say they value viewpoint diversity but beware if you are conservative -culture of greenwashing where they advertise being environmentally friendly, but then have key products that enable massive waste in the online ecosystem -culture of high ideals that are betrayed by constant doublespeak -be prepared to feel cognitive dissonance -high stress due to fast growth and poor mid level management -inadequate recognition of introverts because you must be 'high impact and be good at branding and advertising yourself' with no formal evaluation criteria - popular people who do little do well here -your contract says 40 hours, but 50-60 was not uncommon when you include all of the 'not mandatory' social events -culture of burnout and discrimination against people with preexisting mental health issues who can't handle it -had management slash the intern housing allowance in two in the middle of our internship. as an intern, you're basically disposable.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-12
  9. "Great place to work at"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work at

    Cons

    There are no cons I can think of

    Shopify2020-01-14
  10. "Excellent company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment 

    I have been working at Shopify full-time

    Pros

    Amazing culture, a place where you can really be yourself. Incredible perks, benefits. Flexible vacation, flexible work hours, work from home option. Great leadership so far in my experience. A lot of movement within the company, a place where you can grow if you really put yourself out there (of course having the relationships and connection helps). They're constantly moving forward so it's an engaging environment to be part of.

    Cons

    There's a lot of change at the company- things don't stay the same for long, so you have to be comfortable in that kind of environment. There wasn't a lot of formal training for my job, and for a lot of the positions at the company.

    Shopify2020-01-12
Found 551 reviews