Shopify Support Reviews

Updated 6 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
62%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Shopify CEO Tobias Lütke
Tobias Lütke
28 Ratings
  1. "This company saved my life"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Support Team 

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Starts at a decent living wage, great benefits and perks, great growth oriented culture, mission/vision is clear. Learn a lot, fast. Great training - they’ll educate you on how to handle client “baggage”, imposter syndrome, burnout, and business. Subjects that most companies will not address. Colleagues are great, easy to make friends with everyone. The company is open to challenges and feedback, and values honesty and transparency. Depending on the shifts or teams you work for, there can be quite a bit of autonomy. Company invests in their employees growth.

    Cons

    High-paced environment, not suitable or sustainable for all employees. Can lead to burnout if you’re not taking good care of yourself.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-05-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Made to feel old and worthless!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Guru 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    See pros aren't pros, because they are to pay off the cons. So nope, not worth it.

    Cons

    Sink or swim, they don't care. They do not help you in areas you are struggling with, they just consistently bash you with terrible QA. All about the merchants! During the Covid we have been taken abuse from merchants, have to take it BC they are under stress! What about us? Just BC we work does not mean this situation isn't affecting us! Let's push our support over the edge. If you have a lead who cares, your golden, if not, crash and burn. People off of work stressed because they fire people for no reason, other than, the SL doesn't like you. HR is so full of themselves, flouncing her I'm better than everyone else attitude, upper management so disillusioned about how great Shopify is. Workers are a number, easily replaced. You aren't a millenial, goodluck surviving! They don't care, they are hoping you will quit. Don't like it here, bubye is their motto.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-04-13
  3. "Make a difference while growing as a human being- this is the place to do it."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Support Specialist in Quebec, QC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great compensation * Amazing culture * Not obsessed with degrees (CEO is a dropout, too!) (fair opportunity) * Super impactful work, easy to feel incredibly fulfilled in it * steady stable hours * clear and direct expectations * personal as well as professional growth coaching * ^ No actually though- My leadership has helped me grow more than my therapist. ;) * did I mention the inclusivity? * those perks, though. * Amazing health and dental benefits with the option to maximize them to be even better (Really great for families with kids who need braces etc * 1 year of salary top up for parental leave to like 85% of your wage. (So not neccesary, but so so good) * Baby bonus? Have a baby, get $1000! * Shares in the company (5k USD worth. Stellar!) * Incredible leadership * Incredible senior leadership * more opportunities for growth than you will know what to do with *

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any. Oh! Got one. I work remote, so I don't leave my house enough. Shopify has that covered though, I could expense with my spending account a sitter to watch my kid while I hit the Gym with the gym membership I *also* expensed to my spending account. I just don't do that ;)

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-26
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Burnout City"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Decent pay * Solid benefits package, including retirement and lifestyle spending * Most of your squad mates will be good, supportive folks. Misery loves company.

    Cons

    * Unsustainably stressful work environment: You'll have to deal with at least 3 chats at a time, usually all dealing with vastly different issues. If you take longer than 15 minutes with each of those people, your boss will chew you out for being too slow * Management cares more about how many upsell opportunities you found (regardless of relevance to the customer's needs) than genuine customer satisfaction. * High turnover rates: Stressful conditions, unrealistic expectations and pressure from management leads to a lot of people burning out, taking stress leave, or just plain quitting. Termination with last-second notice is not unheard of. Management threatening termination if you "can't take it" is common. Some people don't even make it through training. * Inconsistent Managment: Had a good time with a couple of managers who filled in while my boss was away (which was often). My boss himself was the definition of false sincerity. Very "buddy-buddy" in appearance, but with threatening tendencies when management style or behaviour was brought into question. Unsupportive and intimidating * Work from home can be isolating. Tough to leave the work behind when there's no real distance between your work space and your living space * Work-Life Balance is a joke: You'll be buried in follow-up emails of one sort or another constantly, and you'll be given less than an hour each day specifically to work on them (all the while, accumulating more). If you stay late to try and make a dent in them, you won't be paid overtime. * Training lasts a month and is still insufficient to ramp people up to the speed this company demands of their workers. * Internal and external resources used to help with customer problems are frequently out of date and generally inefficient.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-02-14
  5. "Great Company to grow together!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Vilnius
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot for benefits plus a great customer valuation and overall vibe

    Cons

    Big company, hard to stay up to date on ongoing things

    Shopify2020-01-15
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Promises dreams, sells nightmares"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Lead in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -salary is decent -benefits are good

    Cons

    -this company will drain your heart and soul and then send you packing out the door when they have a replacement for you that costs them less money.

    Continue reading
    Shopify2020-01-15
  7. "Friendly and supportive work environment; plenty of autonomy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Escalated Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The teams I have been a part of are incredibly supportive of each other's goals and personal development. - I have regular chats about my impact with my team lead, which helps guide my growth within the company. - There is a huge amount of trust between leads and colleagues; I thrive in this level of autonomy. - I get to have a positive impact in merchants' lives each day. - I feel very supported by the benefits plan provided; it is evident that the company wants happy and healthy employees. - I have a great work-life balance where I am able to create a strong boundary between work and non-work hours. - All technology to perform the job is provided.

    Cons

    - Working remotely can sometimes be a lonely experience. - Certain internal job opportunities are only available in cities with offices.

    Shopify2019-12-07
  8. "Great environment for growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Constant change keeps things interesting. Perks are great compared to other companies in the industry.

    Cons

    Remote can get lonely.

    Shopify2019-11-11
  9. "Good company but needs work."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shopify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Day one benefits. -Decent work/life balance. -Lots of job perks, Summit events, etc.

    Cons

    -Hard work barely gets noticed.

    Shopify2019-10-03
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Not Entirely What I Expected"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Customer Support Guru in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Shopify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, stock options, competitive pay

    Cons

    Inconsistent training, inconsistent scheduling, constantly changing platform

    Continue reading
    Shopify2019-09-04
Found 33 reviews