Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Reviews

Updated 31 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company CEO Bob Pryor (no image)
Bob Pryor
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Work life balance in company(in 13 reviews)

  • "Sound financial management, challenging assignments, good people that generally practice transparency and like each other(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Inconsistent raises across the board have led to frustration of some really great people(in 4 reviews)

  • "No cons that i ever experienced(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Insurance, HSA, Life insurance, 401k

    Cons

    There are no cons, i found.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-11-01
  2. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training, in control of own career

    Cons

    Too much overhead admin, compliance training is a lot

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-10-30
  3. "NTT Data, Noida"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance Great chances of growing internally

    Cons

    Poor in wage revision 10 hrs shift is too much

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-10-15
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analysis Specialist in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Treated like a mature, responsible person who is trusted to get the job done. Great career advancement support, fair compensation, great culture.

    Cons

    Can't think of any right now

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-10-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "People should run away from Sierra Systems in 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I used to think this is the BEST IT company in Canada with all the benefits, mentor program and WFH options.

    Cons

    Everything changed after the M&A with NTT data. The management team made fake promises to retain people at the beginning. half-year later, I was shocked to witness how they pushed employees out with traps and lies when they cannot get new projects. The old culture is gone and replaced with so much office politics as the management team themselves are not sure how long NTT Data will keep them. Fun Fact: When the RRSP company match drops(used to be 4% match 4%, now employees contribute 6% to match 4%) HR said " This initiative is for employees to better manage the financial profile." What a joke!

    Continue reading
    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-10-01

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    October 10, 2019HR Manager

    Following our acquisition, we continue to offer comparable benefits and work from home options in addition to the Career Advisor/Career Owner Program. The future is impossible to predict, and we certainly don’t profess to foresee what’s to come. In any event, we always treat our employees with utmost respect and honesty, including at times of uncertainty and where difficult situations/conversations need to take place. Our RRSP employer match did change following our acquisition. That change was communicated in great detail over multiple pieces of communication outlining the differences it may have on employees’ finances and retirement savings plan. We recognize that changes in general have an impact on people as change is always challenging. We wish you all the best in your future endeavours.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A "Middle-of-the-Road" Consulting Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior PM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mostly positive and non-competitive work environment, competent staff, stable salary plans for consultants, most contract work is relatively low stress time and materials or temp replacement gigs with various gov agencies and service providers..

    Cons

    Shoestring budgets for IT and other office services, laughably small salary increases, no performance bonuses or profit sharing plans, weak HR processes, aloof management.

    Continue reading
    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-08-18

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    October 10, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Our people and environment are two reasons why employees choose Sierra. Based on feedback we received, we have recently undergone a hardware refresh for our consultants. Our HR policies and processes are well documented on our intranet for easy access by all employees at any time. If you are seeking clarity on a specific process, a member of the HR Team would be more than happy to walk through it with you so we highly encourage you to reach out!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Sierra Systems 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant/Project Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good office location with a low key, casual atmosphere

    Cons

    Few or no opportunities in Alberta

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-07-25

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    October 10, 2019HR Manager

    We do have fully billable consultants based in Alberta. For consultants who aren’t matched to a client project right away, we have some exciting internal R&D projects that may be of interest to you! Reach out to your local technology leader to learn more.

    Continue reading
  8. "Strong Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Consultant in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with Sierra for just over 4 years and love the culture. I've worked on great projects and when I hit the bench, I was able to get involved in some internal projects to add value. I am looking forward to another 4 years.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any. More social activities I guess but we've already had a few this year.

    Continue reading
    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-06-18

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    July 3, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you are enjoying your time here at Sierra. There are always internal projects to get involved in. Good to know you were able to take advantage of that! :)

    Continue reading
  9. "Great potential and overall company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sierra genuinely cares about its employees and clients and wants to do best for both. With the acquisition by NTT Data I believe there are many new opportunities for both our clients and employees.

    Cons

    Nothing material that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-05-22

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    May 27, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! Our employees deliver excellence and integrity in their work each and every day. Despite recent changes, we continue to focus on providing a meaningful employee experience at Sierra.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Stable Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable work, project based work, RRSP matching

    Cons

    Below average pay, company is alwasy looking for ways to reduce employee benefits and cutting corners.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-05-26

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    May 27, 2019HR Manager

    We offer a competitive Total Rewards package to our employees. Each year, we publish a Total Rewards Statement for employees to view all the different components that make up their Total Compensation package - RRSP Match is only one part of your Total Rewards. We participate in industry salary surveys to ensure our compensation practices are comparable to similar jobs in the same industry. Over the past few years, our benefits plan coverage as well as the employer portion in our cost sharing model have remained stable. Due to our recent acquisition, changes are inevitable. Each change to our benefits plan was made with careful consideration. The coverage in our current plan is comparable to what we’ve had in the past. As our individual needs vary, some changes are viewed as improvements while others may see them as concessions. We continue to provide flexibility in our benefits offering to allow employees to opt into a level of coverage that best fits their needs.

    Continue reading
Found 122 reviews