Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 117 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company CEO Bob Pryor (no image)
Bob Pryor
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance has been a huge asset(in 11 reviews)

  • "Sound financial management, challenging assignments, good people that generally practice transparency and like each other(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Inconsistent raises across the board have led to frustration of some really great people(in 4 reviews)

  • "Canadian management really doesn't have much control over success anymore(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A "Middle-of-the-Road" Consulting Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior PM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mostly positive and non-competitive work environment, competent staff, stable salary plans for consultants, most contract work is relatively low stress time and materials or temp replacement gigs with various gov agencies and service providers..

    Cons

    Shoestring budgets for IT and other office services, laughably small salary increases, no performance bonuses or profit sharing plans, weak HR processes, aloof management.

    Advice to Management

    Walk the talk

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-08-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Sierra Systems 2019"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Consultant/Project Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good office location with a low key, casual atmosphere

    Cons

    Few or no opportunities in Alberta

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-07-25
  3. "Strong Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Consultant in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with Sierra for just over 4 years and love the culture. I've worked on great projects and when I hit the bench, I was able to get involved in some internal projects to add value. I am looking forward to another 4 years.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any. More social activities I guess but we've already had a few this year.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating with the teams and keep hiring great people.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-06-18

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    July 3, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you are enjoying your time here at Sierra. There are always internal projects to get involved in. Good to know you were able to take advantage of that! :)

  4. "Great potential and overall company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sierra genuinely cares about its employees and clients and wants to do best for both. With the acquisition by NTT Data I believe there are many new opportunities for both our clients and employees.

    Cons

    Nothing material that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep putting your people and clients first ahead of revenue and profit. Keep taking care of your employees and clients, and they'll take care of the $$

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-05-22

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    May 27, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! Our employees deliver excellence and integrity in their work each and every day. Despite recent changes, we continue to focus on providing a meaningful employee experience at Sierra.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Stable Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stable work, project based work, RRSP matching

    Cons

    Below average pay, company is alwasy looking for ways to reduce employee benefits and cutting corners.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-05-26

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    May 27, 2019HR Manager

    We offer a competitive Total Rewards package to our employees. Each year, we publish a Total Rewards Statement for employees to view all the different components that make up their Total Compensation package - RRSP Match is only one part of your Total Rewards. We participate in ...

    Show More
  6. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time

    Pros

    A place to grow your skills.

    Cons

    Salary increments may be small.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-05-09

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    May 22, 2019HR Manager

    We have many tools and resources in place to support your development. We are glad you were able to grow your skills with us. We participate in salary surveys annually to ensure our compensation is competitive for comparable jobs within the same industry.

  7. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time

    Pros

    Best IT company in Canada

    Cons

    No major cons, its a good place to be.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-04-27

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    May 7, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! :)

  8. "Employees are told to login to Glassdoor to add a positive review. Long term employee looking to get out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company

    Pros

    Close to train and parking.

    Cons

    Management are blind to most staff. Very small office, little interactions, can barely get new supplies, fingerpointing is chronic. There is also alot of office backstabbing going on, I have never been ok with this. Time to move on.

    Advice to Management

    Engage your staff. Get below the surface.

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-05-21

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    May 22, 2019HR Manager

    We encourage all employees to share their experience at Sierra on Glassdoor. At Sierra, everyone has a primary support network of people they can reach out to with issues or concerns. In addition to your primary support network, our leadership team is accessible and responsive ...

    Show More
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time

    Pros

    Company culture is the best I have encountered so far.

    Cons

    Going through acquisition is a bit confusing

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-04-11

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    April 23, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! It's an exciting time for us. To address any confusion, we have been trying to streamline integration-related communication so that it is easier for employees to review. We also have a number of people in each of our offices (Floor Captains) who are ready ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Information Security Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Security Consultant in Halifax, NS

    I worked at Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A place to grow your career

    Cons

    Low Pay compared to market rate

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company2019-02-11

    Sierra Systems, an NTT DATA Company Response

    March 12, 2019HR Manager

    We provide many tools and resources to our employees for their career development. Everyone at Sierra is a Career Owner (CO) which puts us in the driver's seat of our own development. We each have a Career Advisor (CA) who provides us with advice, support and guidance along the way. ...

    Show More
Found 117 reviews