Simon-Kucher & Partners Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Simon-Kucher & Partners Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 219 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Simon-Kucher & Partners CEO Dr. Georg Tacke
Dr. Georg Tacke
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Most people who leave here know more about pricing strategy than your average(in 42 reviews)

  • "Super work life Balance und Gehalt(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "r viele geht die Work-life-balance auf und man arbeitet auf der Happy-Side of Consulting - f(in 26 reviews)

  • "etwas zu wenige Zusatzleistungen neben Gehalt und Bonus(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Exceptional consulting experience in starting career out of university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic cohort in a very motivating environment. - Terrific opportunity for those interested in Simon-Kucher's areas of expertise. - Stimulating work and projects, you'll certainly be given enough responsibility to challenge your abilities. - Well recognised for international opportunities.

    Cons

    - Would benefit from actively mentoring young consultants more often.

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2017-09-25
  2. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners

    Pros

    Good communication, good work life balance and not too long hours

    Cons

    Benefits not as good as top tier

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2014-11-10
  3. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, everyone is really smart and bright, great exit opps, lots of perks like the world meeting, most rapidly growing consulting firm, pricing specialization is in high demand even from other consulting firms

    Cons

    Compensation is below industry average, rapid growth means very little beach time

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-09-19
  4. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic leadership, growing company. Right balance of stimulating work that does not take over your life.

    Cons

    Work-life balance can vary depending on what sector / partner you are working with

    Advice to Management

    None

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-08-12
  5. "Growing team, interesting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic global opportunities - Sector agnostic work

    Cons

    - Trying to make its way in the APAC market even now (less well known than we are in Europe and the USA) - Pay slightly below our competitors

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-08-05
  6. "Looking at how long people stay and where they go after should tell you everything you need to know about SKP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are only a few upsides in the LS division but below is my fair assessment. Note that many of the items below are not specific to SKP. You can easily find that in other life science consulting companies. 1. As a known leader in pricing and market access, SKP has good recognition in this field. Consultants can develop pricing expertise by working on projects. However, there are plenty of other consulting... companies work on P&MA (and many other functional areas) 2. Many of the projects have international exposure. Consultants have the opportunity to collaborate with colleagues in other countries and learn about their healthcare systems 3. Most of the colleagues at the consultant level are reasonable and friendly people. I wish the same thing can be said to most of the managers and partners

    Show More

    Cons

    Overall, there are serious management issue in the LS US division. Consultants are overworked and underappreciated. I echo another review below citing that he/she honestly didn’t know anyone who is truly happy at SKP. 1. Alarmingly high turnover rate: - While the consulting industry has a high turnover rate, the rate of people leaving at SKP is alarmingly high. It is very rare for people to stay much longer... than 2 years. Some people stayed because they don’t have a choice (e.g., on work visa). In my time of ~2 years at SKP, about 70% of the people who joined on or before my time have left - Be ready for the frequent “purges”. Competent consultants are laid-off with no warning and no explanation. People chat about the lay-offs in the office but the partners pretend nothing has happened - Most of the people who left the company have joined other consulting companies. This should be a good indicator of SKP’s culture relative to its competitors - Frequent turnover results in a loss of knowledge. There are only a handful of people that stayed long enough to help answering questions and transferring knowledge 2. No transparency and self-centered management: - Promotion is based on favoritism over meritocracy. Some people are on a “fast-track” because they manage up well. If you are not a partner’s favorite, be ready to accept limited opportunity - There is a clear culture of covering up. In addition to people being laid off with no explanation or acknowledgement, management actively discourage employee from writing critical reviews of the company. I specifically recalled a director telling consultants not to write negative reviews on Vault during a company meeting - As mentioned by other reviews, most partners don’t have any interest in the wellbeing of the consultants. The relationship is highly transactional. They only care about whether you have done all the work on time 3. Some LS partners have serious communication issues - Some partners cannot communicate their thoughts clearly. Once, a partner was unsatisfied the direction where the team was going but could not offer any specific guidance when asked by the team. Another time, a partner discredited an analysis done by the team without offer any explanation - Partners are also not always on the same page. There was a famous incident where partners were yelling at one another in office in one evening over the work culture and consultant’s stress at company. Judging by the number of people who left after the incident, it is unfortunate that the status quo side has prevailed 4. Difficult work-life balance from time to time - Work-life balance are sometimes manageable but do expect frequent late-night and weekend work, depending on your projects. I frequently had to work late at night and once worked in the office until 1:30 am on a Sunday - Project staffing has some serious issues. Although consultants are expected to be staffed on two projects at a time, people are frequently staffed on more than two projects because of the lack of availability. In addition to project work, consultants are also expected to help with proposals, which are frequently urgent and given on a short notice. Sure, you can say you don’t have time but good luck with becoming a favorite of a partner - The worst part of this is your effort is not proportional to the recognition you received. You are expected to overwork and may be questioned if you raise any concerns. I was staffed on three projects at a time, all took a substantial amount of my time. When I raised my concern to the partner, the response I received was: “So what’s the problem? Don’t you have teammates?” 5. No emphasis of professional development - The initial one week STEP training is very superficial. Some of the topics covered were useful but the majority was irrelevant. A more proper training on the healthcare systems and industry-specific knowledge would have been helpful but it was glossed very briefly - Although the company provides additional training modules as part of consultant’s professional development, very little emphasis is placed on these trainings. I was signed on to take some mandatory trainings but every time right before the training, the partner of my project would just take me off the trainings, saying my time is needed for the project. Therefore, my trainings kept being postponed and I ended up never taking those trainings 6. Mediocre exit opportunity - Because of the nature of SKP projects, you rarely have exposure with clients and hence, you have limited exit opportunities. This applies to the project managers as well. At best, the team members are onsite for the kick-off and final, and are on the weekly call with the client contact. This simply is not enough opportunity for you to get to know client and vice versa. Unlike other companies where transitioning into industry is simple because of the client exposure, you will have to make your own case when you are looking for exit opportunities from SKP - Because of the brand name of SKP, you are also confined to the pricing and market access functions. It is great if this is the career you want but if not, you will have to create your own opportunities

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no point giving advice to the senior management because they will not change. Senior management keeps a blind eye on issues and is unwilling to acknowledge there are problems.

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-09-07
  7. "Full time Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Paris

    I worked at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid domain knowledge and expertise

    Cons

    Strong focus on Market Access

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-08-16
  8. "Expert on top line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time

    Pros

    Very interesting projects Competitive salaries in the Italian market

    Cons

    Long hours Rare MBA sponsorship Too much german culture

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-07-16
  9. "Recommended for professionals with deep interest in Sales and Marketing topics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vienna
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Human working hours - Good team chemistry

    Cons

    - Narrow project focus (only sales and marketing)

    Advice to Management

    - Foster project involvement of junior professionals

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-06-13
  10. "Consultant, I’ve worked for Simon Kucher just over 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at Simon-Kucher & Partners full-time

    Pros

    - International opportunities - Strategy-related projects - Quick learning environment

    Cons

    - Lower compensation - Rigid company structure - Internal advancement opportunities depend on direct senior management

    Simon-Kucher & Partners2019-06-26
Found 219 reviews