Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 280 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP CEO Managing Partners (no image)
Managing Partners
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Architectural Professional 

    I have been working at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP full-time

    Pros

    If you can have open mind to learn, you can get everything.

    Cons

    I dont know there is any cons

    Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP2019-10-06
  2. "Sweatshop Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architectural Designer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unique and interesting projects with high level expertise

    Cons

    Solitary work environment with lack of communal social culture

    Advice to Management

    Create communal spaces and encourage social events for company camaraderie

    Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP2019-10-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Excellence at a price"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Surrounded by quality ideas and projects. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Late nights. Pompous attitudes. Culture lacks humanity.

    Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP2019-10-06
  4. "Very Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architectural Professional 

    I have been working at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money with good people

    Cons

    Very very very very good

    Advice to Management

    I don't have anything to say

    Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP2019-09-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Best of the SOM offices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work that is design driven and strives for excellence. Great people working in there who care for work/life balance

    Cons

    SOM gets a bad reputation for late hours and excessive overtime. While other offices may have a higher incidence of that, the San Francisco office is an exception to it. I have worked in more than just this one office and can tell you the difference is quite noticeable. I'm very happy working there now.

    Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP2019-08-28
  6. "Great projects and talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part II Architectural Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning from knowledgeable and talented seniors, great projects, meeting talented and dedicated people

    Cons

    poor management, no work life balance

    Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP2019-09-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Long hours..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Architectural Professional - Technical in New York, NY

    I worked at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting projects and good benefits

    Cons

    Long hours and poor salary.

    Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP2019-09-04
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Management Takes Themselves a Little Too Seriously"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, cool projects, cool office

    Cons

    Management is a little old boy mixed with a little kiss the ring. I know they have worked hard to get where they are but I am still a human being. Once, while walking down the hallway, a big wig was headed towards me and walked down the exact center. I had to move for him but he was not moving an inch for a peon. He oozed pomposity.

    Advice to Management

    Project Managers may be piling on too much on to Project Coordinators considering they pay level that PCs are at. If they are to take on that much responsibility, they should make more. My PM had me put together a proposal that was over 100 pages and included data from 10 different subs. I stated I had never done anything like that. Along the way I did everything but set myself on fire to point out that I was... not confident of the job I was doing and it should be reviewed to make sure. They didn't, I ended up getting the talking to. Apparently I was supposed to set myself on fire.

    Show More
    Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP2019-08-15
  9. "Great resource"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internship in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good mentorship, great resources, plenty inter-disciplinary works

    Cons

    Hierarchical, sometimes slow in decision making

    Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP2019-07-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A Hard-Working But Rewarding Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A leading architectural firm with a sterling reputation and lots of prestige. It’s known all over the world, and never really has a shortage of projects. You will have a chance to work on high profile projects and build an excellent career. Benefits are pretty good. SOM does do its best to take care of employees.

    Cons

    Pay is comparatively low unless you’re near the top. Work/life balance can be challenging. Internal processes and flow needs more work.

    Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP2019-07-18
Found 280 reviews