Sky Betting & Gaming Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sky Betting & Gaming Engineer Reviews

Updated 22 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Sky Betting & Gaming CEO Richard Flint
Richard Flint
13 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, fantastic environment

    Cons

    No defined pay brackets for a specified role.

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-05-22

    Sky Betting & Gaming Response

    June 4, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review. Glad that you're enjoying you're colleague journey in our Sheffield office. All the best.

  2. "Fantastic company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, great people and fantastic leadership teams

    Cons

    Decoupling from old systems becomes slow due to policy restrictions.

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-04-05
  3. "Good chance to use the latest tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Software Engineer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uses the latest tech, good people

    Cons

    They are short sighted at times

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-03-10
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Poorly managed graduate scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Academy Engineer in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great people work here Decent benefits

    Cons

    Graduates treated like children with their feedback ignored. Told most important part of the job is to be 'brand ambassadors' or to positively advertise the company - people who do this get rewarded. Higher ups don't care about the employees and reward people they are friends with rather than those who deserve it.

    Advice to Management

    Try and care more about the people who do the actual work and make the company money. Stop allowing people in high positions to employ their friends even if they are not competent at the job they are given

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-02-26
  5. "Good place to work generally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Relatively good pay - Good bonus/perks - Exciting high volumes of traffic - Work with and learn from lots of intelligent people - Helpful culture

    Cons

    - Can be too delivery/velocity focused - Senior management favour some parts of the business over others

    Advice to Management

    Focus less on deadlines/velocity and more on value delivered, to customers or other members of staff.

    Sky Betting & Gaming2018-12-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Graduate Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Developing your own skills is very important to the company Learn something new every day Very friendly atmosphere Really love coming into work A lot of benefits, such as the gym and private healthcare

    Cons

    No parking available on site

    Sky Betting & Gaming2018-03-09

    Sky Betting & Gaming Response

    April 12, 2018Project Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about life at SBG. Its nice to hear that our commitment to people development is helping you learn new skills at work. Our culture comes from our people, so it's a big thankyou to everyone for creating a friendly atmosphere! We're ...

    Show More
  7. "Great place to work with a real commitment to great software."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sky Betting & Gaming for more than a year

    Pros

    Very committed to getting software right, line managers very supportive, plenty of opportunity for personal development, great benefits.

    Cons

    Some conflict between software & other areas of the business. Seems to be a high staff turnover for some reason.

    Advice to Management

    Conflict is always going to happen, but try to hide it better from the rest of the staff.

    Sky Betting & Gaming2018-03-02

    Sky Betting & Gaming Response

    April 12, 2018Project Manager

    Thanks for the review! Glad to hear you had a good experience at SBG. Our focus on technology is so important to us, and we wouldn't be where we are today without adopting a tech-led approach. As you know, we're all one team here. Working without boundaries, collaborating, having ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Cannot recommend enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast moving company, following agile processes Tech is at the heart of concerns Feel valued and what I said is taken into consideration Proud to work somewhere that takes their social issues seriously, and tries to lead the way in responsible gambling Fantastic colleagues No seriously, utterly amazing colleagues "Now that" bonus scheme recognises contributions instantly Seemingly random "fun" things such as free...

    Show More

    Cons

    Marketing still has too much control over tech roadmaps (or rather, pushes tech out of it) Disparity between standards of office (LWP2 objectively worse than 6 and Sheffield) - but overall the standard is still incredibly high! If people aren't prepared to speak up or aren't "loud" personalities, they can be overlooked for career progression

    Advice to Management

    Stop recalculating targets! It's so disheartening to see "missed target by X", when actually we've smashed the original target at the beginning of the year - we've just missed the recalculated target(s). "But we've spent more money on marketing and people" that's not how targets work?! If you hit it, you hit it. By all means raise the bar, but don't pretend like the original didn't exist. Roadmaps change so much they're...

    Show More
    Sky Betting & Gaming2017-12-19
  9. "Best company by miles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company believes in it's people and drives them to strive for greatness. Progression is encouraged and the tools and knowledge needed are provided to make it a reachable target. Great people to work with. Brilliant working environment with many perks and surprises.

    Cons

    None to mention very happy

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the fun working environment and providing tools to help people reach their potential.

    Sky Betting & Gaming2017-12-06
  10. "SBG&ME"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dev Ops Engineer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    (For IT Related jobs anyway) High salary, friendly atmosphere, CEO and Finance team are very clear about how the business is doing.

    Cons

    Location of the Leeds office makes parking hard

    Sky Betting & Gaming2017-09-01
Found 24 reviews