Sky Betting & Gaming Reviews | Glassdoor.com.au

Sky Betting & Gaming Reviews

Updated 5 de Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Sky Betting & Gaming CEO Ian Proctor
Ian Proctor
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with who are intelligent and driven(in 10 reviews)

  • "There is a general desire from everyone in SBG to learn and people are given the time to do that(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "The industry is by nature fast-paced so it is imperative to adapt to changes in road map prioritises/projects(in 8 reviews)

  • "Feels like it's lost its way since the Stars Group purchased it(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Advisor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A relaxed, collaborative and positive culture where working as one team is encouraged. Fantastic benefits for all. Opportunities to grow and develop both personally and professionally are readily available to those who want them. Incredibly supportive and and fun place to work. One of the best places I've worked.

    Cons

    Company is still finding its feet with regards to some processes and policies and embedding them in all areas of the business, but this is because the Company is growing at such a fast pace.

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-12-05
  2. "Great place to work with friendly faces & lots of reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great technology & even more amazing people - it's all about the culture! - lots of autonomy to solve the challenges given - great collaborative work environment - career progression framework - Tech Ninja Fund and Friday afternoons for L&D - Lots of support for your work / life balance and understanding to help you deal with anything you're going through outside of work too

    Cons

    - need more meeting rooms & break out spaces! - too many cakes / donuts / treats in squad areas :D very hard to resist temptation

    Advice to Management

    Encourage more physical activity, health & wellness

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-12-05
  3. "Fast paced environment, ability to affect positive change with a cultural willingness to move things forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced however realistic on what can be done. Ability to change things to improve the organisation with continuous improvement approach and culture. Staff encouraged to learn and self-improve with a lot of direct investment and time to do this. Lots to do in all areas so enjoyable if you like to create and shape and deliver, with a cross Tribe willingness to do the right thing.

    Cons

    Willingness to do the right thing (which is not the case in many companies) is only hampered by time to do it due to multiple priorities and lots going on

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing by keeping SBG on track through transitions/integrations by keeping focus on priority topics and targets

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-12-05
  4. "Overall a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content & Social Marketing Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic facilities and benefits and freedom to do the job you want to do without a lot of barriers or hoops to jump through. Great support from senior management especially when it comes to mental health and work life balance.

    Cons

    It can be daunting when you first start as the culture and pace of work is not like many other companies. Depending on your role you can feel like you're not progressing quick enough. Sometimes work/life balance suffers as you feel pressure to work after hours or at weekends, just to keep pace with peers.

    Advice to Management

    Please please please provide a meeting room map for new starters!!

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-12-05
  5. "Fantastic place to work with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Architect in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - brilliant culture - great people - excellent working environment - the best place I have ever worked by far

    Cons

    - can't think of any obvious cons

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-12-04
  6. "A workplace that looks after you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Cares about work life balance *Rewards hard work * Facilitates career progression

    Cons

    *A lot talented people with strong opinions means there's a lot of people to coordinate and get on board when you're pushing an idea through

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-12-04
  7. "Best company I've ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Experience Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company genuinely cares about it's people and always put wellbeing first You are trusted to do your job and given so much autonomy So much opportunity for development Flexible working Great benefits Always recognising you for a job well done The people are great

    Cons

    People can become a bit spoilt if you've only ever worked there

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the communication and protecting our great culture

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-12-03
  8. "Amazing place to work, with wonderful people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome tech stack, interesting and intelligent people, a company that really cares. I absolutely love working here.

    Cons

    None, if and when there is anything there are people around who I can talk to to help make a change.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the brilliant work around keeping our culture and enabling people to be themselves at work!

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-12-03
  9. "100% all the way!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Operations Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at SBG for around 18 months and I've had a couple of roles. I waited just under two years until the right time came for me to apply at SBG. I wanted to make sure I made the right decision. I think everybody says's it's the culture that makes SBG but, you don't get great culture without great people, and it's full of em! I've had the chance to work with some fantastic different departments and the one... thing I love, is that everybody is open to new ideas. I guess it's that that keeps driving the business forward. I've implemented quite a few of my ideas, some have worked, some not so much - but you're not criticised for that, you're praised for giving it a go! It's that that makes this place special.

    Show More

    Cons

    Currently, we've got two buildings, and I'm often running between the two in Yorkshire weather. Great in summer - Terrible in winter.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being honest, I've found in many a stand-up the Leadership/People Teams have been as honest as they can and it really makes a difference for the morale around the office!

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-12-03
  10. "Great working environment, colleagues and technical challanges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky Betting & Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and work culture Interesting technical work using current technologies Great flexibility for people with families Great engagement and communication with senior management

    Cons

    Like all larger companies, there are more complex business processes when compared to say a startup company. This can be frustrating to people joining from smaller companies

    Advice to Management

    The level of engagement and communication has been the best I have ever experienced at an organisation. I really appreciate the effort that goes into this, and the various non-work related things like mental health, inclusivity

    Sky Betting & Gaming2019-12-03
Found 151 reviews